Depends on the fishes mood mate.But 20grm prikley petes are a good start i reckon let it sink as long as you dare and retrieve flat out. Ben
just wondering how do you guys reel back ya slugs and witch retreve is getting ya the most hits. and whats ya best slug 4 catching tailor, small trevs and queenfish. i havent done to much fishing with slugs so any help is super
figjam :wink:
Depends on the fishes mood mate.But 20grm prikley petes are a good start i reckon let it sink as long as you dare and retrieve flat out. Ben
thanks ben. do ya do the same thing with the smaller slugs like 5g to 1.5g
For me, Maniacs are number 1.
You can get them as small as 5gm. When they sink, they flutter down, dont sink like a stone. You can rip them in hard and fast, but I reckon they work best with a nice slow retrieve. They've got heaps of action.
Cheers Jeff,
The maniacs,snipers and raiders are all very good.....so are the river to sea slugs.
The sure catch copies are no where near as good...Tested them alot and if you look closely they are a slightly different profile and dont perform as well as the spanyids.
Not saying they dont catch fish but just not as good in my opinion.
Types of retrieves vary really on species.
I'm not sure what you guys mean by slugs? To me a slug is a baitfish profile with little or no action. Raiders ,spanyids and the like are slices, and maniacs are spoons. Ben
Gillies Pillies, They are a white colour with a reflective back. Awesome on tailor during winter in the seaway. I use the 20 gram ones, the pelagics in the bay love them too. Like Blooey said, let them sink and crank like a mad man.
sorry guys i ment both slugs and slices. thanks guys i cant wait to get my line singing
anything that matches the Baitfish of the day will do me, cast in front of the feeding school, then retrieved (usually fast) but can be productive to vary it a bit slower sometimes! I dont really think the brand or quality has much to do with it when they are "in the right mood" a simple sinker with a hook will catch fish that are "going off" but casting to smaller tricky schools of fish may be a different story though!
In the surf "Sliders" for all of your mentioned fish. Lindsy the bloke who makes them Ausfish name is as the brand "Slider" do a search for his chats and believe me you will learn a thing or two re throwing metal to the sea.
Take photos and memories leave only footprints, respect the enviroment when 4 wheel driving , never be too busy to help out someone in need.