Blew out the cobwebs

Thread: Blew out the cobwebs

Blew out the cobwebs

G'day Ausfishers

After a very long break, I blew the cobwebs out of "Steve" and the SP gear today.

Launched from Manly about 1030am and headed to Mud Island in near perfect conditions. A light north-easterly around 10 knots came up as I drifted around for a couple of hours working soft plastics.

Only caught 1 fish, a 42cm cod which was released into the esky for lunch tomorrow. Action was almost nil with only 2 small touches and no other fish caught. Either I'm way out of touch or it was a slow session. It sure was nice to be out there though.

Must catch up with me old mate Scalem to get me back in the groove. Last time I went fishing, he put me onto my PB snapper. It was so long ago, I forget what it measured in at.

Anyway, the boat ran well and I hope to get it wet a few more times over the coming weeks. Wish me luck!

Brad
    What would Steve do?

fortes fortuna adjuvat

Re: Blew out the cobwebs

more like karma

Gidday Brad!

So you are obviously still around after your very cluttered diary of late, but hey, check your voicemail!!! I was there a few weeks ago..... But it's my turn to plead being too busy to fish lately.

Sorry to hear you didn't get any reasonable fish today, I'll need to get you back in the groove then, and let you know what's happening around the traps. Soon.

I was on the bay yesterday with On-The-Chew we covered from the Port over to Curtain the Beacons and Mud weather was great it was like an oil slick at one stage at Curtain. We were looking for Longtails but didn't find any so we drifted some livies, tried plastics for zip. Did spot some Mackeral near the Beacons but they were too flighty. Spoke to two other people at the boat ramp who also lucked out aswell.

PlasticFantastic

For Steve,

Would have been a great day to be out there though and you did manage to catch something so thats a bonus.

Was hoping to get out there myself today and do the family trip with the youngster for her first trip but the steering cable had seized up - like you not much use in recent times.

Congrats on the Cod, maybe next time it will be a pb snapper!

NMT

Thanks for the replies.

Scalem: Yeah mate, I've had some trouble with the voicemail. Hence I now have a new phone. It even has a GPS built in so I don't get lost. I take it you left a message for me. Was it recently? Within the last month?

PlasticFantastic: Judging by the lack of reports from the bay, I guess a lot of people found it to be slow day on Saturday. Hope you get onto some of those fast ones real soon!

NMT: You know mate, you're spot on. I spent a few hours out on the water and brought home a fish for lunch. It's all good!! You'll have to get that cable sorted out so you can be ready to go next time.

What do you think. I love targeting snapper but am I better off fishing the Pin and Broadwater for flatties, and the Bay for macks until the water cools down again?

Brad
    What would Steve do?

fortes fortuna adjuvat

For Steve,

Yer will have the cable sorted out for the week beginning the 29th when I get back from a week away so looking forward to it.

I would always go for the bay at this time of year - that way you can chase the macks and if there isn't much surface action have a drift round the islands and flick plastics for squire, sweetlip, bream etc - I have also heard of a number of flathead being caught around mud at the moment as well.

At the worst, if the weathers ok you have a nice relaxing day with friends, kids, fam. etc in the sun enjoying this beautiful part of the world and good company.

Aagghh the joy of summer - hope we all get some good weather over the break (for those who get one over chrissy).

Enjoy

NMT