LPG question - Page 2
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Thread: LPG question

Re: LPG question

Phil. If you live on the westside. There is a camping store that does it cheap at wacol. Next to ultratune or coleman tyre company.

I use the freedom petrol station at inala. Thats cheap too. Corner of freeman road.

But wait, there's more.

I telephoned said store today to enquire if the re-fill truck had been.

I asked first operator about the gas bottles and she put me through to " Trade Desk ". I asked woman who answered phoned " Have the Gas Bottles been re-filled today ?". She yells at someone and they respond, " yes. some have come in ! ". I sense trouble......

She informs me that ' some have come in". I repeat my question " Has the truck comes in to re-fill the large gas bottles ? ". "OH ! " she replies//.... " I'll ask ".

Calls out to bloke and gets answers that I cannot hear. She says to me.. " The truck hasn't been in yet but one bottle is half full and if you come down straight away we can fill your bottle for you ".

Now I am getting real concerned.. Tuesday arvo the re-fill bottles are EMPTY, delivery of gas is Thursday I am told.. I speak to them Thursday midday..ish and they state truck has not made delivery, yet .... YET.... one gas bottle is half full.

I am aghast and cannot bother to ask how one bottle became half full overnight.

1 round trip to Oxley store, 2 round trips to Rocklea store and 6 minutes on mobile phone and still have not got my bottles filled.

Stay tuned, this could get ugly.

one of the most entertaining threads i've read for a bit, well done phil

IT DOES GET BETTER>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

telephoned store at 7.30 ish as I noted in the website they are open until midnight tonight ( usually 9pm ). Me thinks I'll go down a get them filled in the cool of the evening........yeah right.

Lisa answers phone.... cannot put me through to Trade Desk as no one is there. I get misdirected to Service Desk but no answer. Then I get transfered to Adam who says he will put me through to Will in Timber. Adam answers call .. mmm Adam says I will try again... mm no answer than Adam is back online. he puts me through to Russel in ' plumbing. Russel asks why I was put through to him.. I tell him " because Adam said you'd know if the gas bottles had been filled or you could fill mine for me ". No, I only started shift at 4pm, don't know about gas bottles.

Back to service desk and Jenna ' or Jemma ??? says that we do not fill gas bottles after 6pm as " it is too hard to find someone qualified to fill them ". So I say, ' you sell gas but not at all times when you are open for business ! ". So I ask her if the gas bottles have been re-filled. she says as far as she knows one has. " If you bring your bottle down tomorrow, we can fill it for you ". I tell her that I have been trying for 4 days to have my bottles filled without luck and she says, " then you'll know more about the gas bottles than I do. !!!!! "

I have been made a lot of promises from this store and am yet to have one delivered.

What are my chances of getting the bottles filled tomorrow ? I'm betting 50/1 against. Do I ring before going down or do I chance my arm ?

Stay tuned................ it could turn into a ' novel '.

You've got a lot more patience than me Phill, and personally if I was the Manager of the store I would be filling your gas bottles and refunding your money at the least. Thats bloody terrible service.
    Cheers Grant

Oh phil, you make me laugh...
    How bout you buy a swap and go lol..........
    Ta

This is getting very interesting Phill.
    At the very least they should fill your bottles and give your money back.
    Then again it sounds as though it would be easier for you to find a 2 ft deep puddle to drive through than to get a couple of gas bottles filled.

Cheers Dazza

Phil
    When you are down there get the email address for the store and the head office ,and send both this thread and an invoice for costs inccurred .
    That'll get their attention

Quote Originally Posted by TheRealAndy View Post
    How did you go Phil? Get it filled?

I just took a 9kg and a 4.5kg bottle down to BCF for a refill, cost 19.90 and 10.90 respectively. That works out at about 2.21/kg and 2.42/kg. They filled it on the spot, both were fully empty. They dont weigh them, so only good for filling bottles that are completely empty.
    yer 9kg 19.90 none of this stuffing around trying to connect hoses there fast and yeah you can go and get distracted and buy goodies lol its hard not to

How bout this Phill... i have to go there tomorrow (Rocklea) about lunch time anyway, so save you the effort of stuffing around on the phone, i'll check for you and give you a call?

mate that sounds like a typical bunnings story

I have been re-gassed

Today at 3.30pm, I chanced my arm and drove to the store. I found a red headed chap ( Will ) filling a gas bottle. I placed my bottles down at the base of the big cylinders / bottles and said that I will go inside and pay for the gas. he nodded in approval.

I returned waving a reciept as I passed by him on the return trip, he was filling my 3 kg bottle. He did not want to see my reciept...

Anyway, while I was at the Trade Desk paying, I mentioned that I had taken me 5 days to get these filled and then I mentioned that the gas service would be discontinued in February. Irish / Scotish chap commented that he had begun working at this store nearly 2 years ago and they had said the same thing, but the gas would finish last year in October... he said, he wouldn't worry about any discontinuing rumours.

So, I have my bottles filled and an experience that I will never forget and I hope some of you got a laugh out of.

I may yet still do a summary of the cost to me involved in this exercise. As for the BCF suggestion....... they are a long way from me...

Thanks guys

phill

Ausfish Premium Member

Well done Phil, it's been an entertaining read :-0

I hope you and your gas bottles enjoy a good break.

Good luck,

Go for the swap'n'go deal and they DO take bottles out of date and they test them and change the valves to standardise them. The worst that they will do is a small charge for out of date bottle and they basically NEVER check the date at the servos.

Read thier criteria for bottle acceptance.

http://www.swapngo.com.au/how-to-swapngo

I've taken dozens of out of date bottles in and never been checked for date so I assume the servos themselves either wear the cost or they just go through a new bottle routine prior to painting etc.

Just put a U and a N in front of your user name Phil. I am sure things will get better from there.
    Shane at Water tower Bait and Tackle Manly always fills mine.
    Merry Christmas Too.