Thread: Lunchtime Surprise-Jacksandwich

Lunchtime Surprise-Jacksandwich

Had a quick flick for lunch yesterday,scored a few mullet in the net and went to creek. Poddies were a bit bigger than what i normaly like to use but it was worth a try anyway,threw out the smaller one 1st and scored a catfish,let him go and put on a bigger poddie about 20cm. After about 5 min i had a few good taps,then she took off,set the hook and bang lost the lot. Rigged up again and same thing,some good taps but this one was different,felt like a crab had him untill the rod tip started to pull quiet hard,same thing bang lost the lot again,was getting pretty peeved off by this stage,thought it may have been a big flattie rolling the bait around in his mouth for a while. got to the 2nd last poddie and thought i would use stips off him this time which paid off,some very hard taps and the line takes off like a train,put up a good fight and i saw the 1st flash of red, i was stoked,landed him took a couple of pics and let him go,he went 44cm. Used another strip and same thing as the first couple of times,tap tap,lost the lot,then got a call from work and had to head off,still what a great time for luch hey.
    Was using 14lb fireline to a 40 lb leader,so what ever was biting me off thru the leader must have had a good set of chompers on him,maybe a bullie or big flathead maybe?
    Told my dad about it and thought a good size crab can bit thru the line,what do you think?
    Geoff
    If i could get paid the same to fish, sorry boss but i ......!

Re: Lunchtime Surprise-Jacksandwich

well done again Geoff,
    thats a few building up for ya this season..

Nice work, sounds like a productive spot you've got there. Just gonna need some whipper snipper cord for leader.

g'day Geoff,
    great goldy jack mate! There really firing on the goldy hey, went to go for a quick flick yesterday arvo down south but got chased by the rain/torrential downpour. I've heard of the big snapping line when they get wedged in their holes but never cutting, your guess is as good as mine. Great report though, love reading about jack sessions and the catches and bust-offs. keep em comin
    jack-on

Was using 14lb fireline to a 40 lb leader,so what ever was biting me off thru the leader must have had a good set of chompers on him,maybe a bullie or big flathead maybe?

nice jack there, wjhatever was biting through 40lb leader would have had a nice set of teeth, when we go camping thats exactly how the pick eel eat the livies too.just tap tap tap and it slowely starts to buckle the rod down.
    no way it woulda been a flattie

Hi Geoff,
    U haven't got a job like that for me down there have U? The rain hasn't turned them off then ha?

Hey Goeff,
    You are really mixing it up mate and what a way to mix it up
    Nice Bass and now this Well done mate

Ive had the same thing, I think its bullies. I have had crabs bite off, but obviously theres no run, its just a bit of a play with the bait and pop the line goes....most crabs wont let go of the bait until they see the boat, so reckon crabs bite off by mmistake if it happens early.

I dont think the jacks are biting thru 40lb, and I also reckon the bait size leans toward bullies.

I find its hard to get a hit on live mullet that big, and I wont use em live over 12-15cm. If they are bigger, then I fillet em.

Still the mystery must be solved, so ante up with wire trace, and let us all know.

Nice jack for lunch, good to hear theyre still biting. I fished the broadwater mon nite for trevally, moses and bream. No jack hits all nite.

ANdrew

Geoff,

I agree with Nathan, it is unlikely to be a Flattie - they don't bite thru but wear thru the line. When you lose them the leader comes back rough and frayed at the end. Shark is a good guess.

Another nice Jack for you - they seem to bite on livies long after they have shut down on the lures. Any fishing I do at lunch is virtual thru AF!

Marty

Heya Geoff, nice lunchtime session mate! Beauty of a Jack too! I reckon it's prolly a bullie also, never known a lizard to be able to bite thru a line like that, specially 40lb! Good to meet you last Sunday too. Gonna be there over this w/e sometime too.

Dorado
    ...in case of emergency, take me fishing

nice jack mate i need to get back into them have not been for them for around 2 months now,cheers