Thread: Tinaroo 118cm

Tinaroo 118cm

After weeks of endless work, and little chance to get out in the boat, I made the mad dash for Tinaroo on Sunday arvo after catching up on a bit of sleep. We headed up the Gillies, arriving at Tinaburra at about 4pm. Loading the boat in the water I was full of confidence, as the motor kicked into life, and throttle was held flat to the floor....
    We started fishing a patch of water where weeks earlier I had an enormous barra inhale my Stiffys Bony Bream only to exhale it within a heartbeat. Heartbeating, missing a few breaths and a few holy sh#%s later I realised the size of what I just saw. Having seen quite a few metre plus barra scoff my lure I knew it was bigger than previously experienced. So I was hoping to get another chance.

Throwing aroung an upgraded small B-52 (with OWNER hooks) in towards the lillies I had my success within the hour. It only felt like a little fish when it first hit, however, I was soon to learn it was nearly going to beat my P.B.

After a tremendous fight and an even better net job by my mate (thanks Quoc) we landed the 118cm fatso. I was ecstatic as I had not been out since the ABT tour (coming third and landing biggest barra at Tinaroo) so I was bloody glad to get a quick pic with the old girl and put her back where she came from. his was not the fish I had seen on a previous trip however was bloody pleased with myself and managed a couple of cheers

Having had a revitalised arvo, I decided to hit a shallow point the following morning for a couple of hours before taking my partner to work. I turned up with very little bait flicking to a spot I know produces consistently. I hooked up to a decent size barra on a Gold Bomber (16A upgraded OWNER hooks of course)only to drop it a short while later with hooks pulling free. Within two casts I was on again, but virtually scull dragged the little 60cm rat boatside. Size didn't matter as I was just glad to be on the water again.

Thoughts are now going through my head of my next trip and when that will be.Now that I have a bit more of an idea (as long as it works!!!) on how to add a pic I will try and add more reports in the very near future.

Tight Lines

Re: Tinaroo 118cm

good stuff! i'm relocating back home to kuranda april next year, can't wait to get out on the water up there to tangle with the big girls! last time i was at tinaroo it was for wakeboarding, not fishing....

last time i was at tinaroo it was for wakeboarding, not fishing....
    What the....
    The underlying spirit of angling,Is that the skill of the angler,Is pitted against the instinct and strength of the fish,And that the latter is entitled to an even chance for his life. Regards, Hardb8.Kickin tails and razin scales since 1979.

Thats a nice fish Matt! Well done!!!

I think I may have seen your car at the ramp a few Thursdays ago. Was just going for a drive but thought bugger his going fishing! Stable weather of late so definetely they are on the chew. Give it a little bit of rain and that will change things I feel.

Again well done. That spot will hold fish for some time to come! Watch out for those big patches of Lilly Pads

Theo
    TT

mate thats a ripper fish

and love the smile

cam
    Australian Native Fish Vids
    Specialize in Terapontida's, Perches, Cods, Gobies & Gudgeons

really nice fish congrats,, cheers bdowdy..brett

Great looking fish Matt,
    We made the pilgrimage to the dam on Saturday arvo, got on the water from Tinaburra around 3pm.We didn't manage a touch on this day and the previous weekend the touch came from a submerged tree and the alloy prop, needed another one anyway.
    Still finding our way around at the moment and haven't fished much past the little island near Tobacco Hill I think it's called. Will be getting up that way a bit over xmas and between there and Koombaloomba will hopefully get on the right side of a decent Barra.
    Thanks for the inspiration, we know they are there and will keep searching.

Regards Cameron.

Wheezer, I would have to agree with Hardb8 and say what the?? Maybe you could try fishing whilst u r on the board and make a new meaning of the word trolling It may be the next new fad!!!!
    Cameron, The fish are there, and even with the demoralising Barra Bash on recently at Tinaroo, numbers (of course at the secret spots which is anywhere there is water!!!) are still producing.
    I will be back up there again shortly, searching for new areas to try. Still have not landed one on a Slick Rig, so will give them another whirl as well.

haha what i meant by that was we used to frequent the dam alot when i was growing up, but for sailing/skiing/wakeboarding...last time i was there was about 10 years ago...its been a long time! we spent all our time at the dam wall end at places like platypus/fong on bays and red bank across from the ramp. the only fishing i did there was when i was a kid we used to paddle across to the bay of sticks next to the sailing club and catch sooties, sleepy cod and archer fish

having cut my impoundment barra teeth hard at monduran and awoonga which are 3/5hours away respectively i can't wait to have tinaroo an hour down the road!