PHP Warning: Use of undefined constant VBA_SCRIPT - assumed 'VBA_SCRIPT' (this will throw an Error in a future version of PHP) in ..../includes/functions_navigation.php(802) : eval()'d code on line 1 Monduran Barra Lures
If anyone could give me some advice on what lures they prefer for Monduran, I would really appreciate it. I will be up there for frday arvo and saturday (21st and 22nd). As my mates live as far away as Thailand, we only get together once a year so this trip is a one-off for us. It would be nice to have some idea of how to get onto some barra, so if you can help, post up or PM me if you can part with some secret squirrell info. Hopefully I will see some of you on the water up there ( along with every other man and his dog). My boat will be the one doing absolutely everything wrong, and will probably have a nice clean brag mat that hasn't been out of the wrapper.
Try Rob Gadens Barra Classics & F18s, Ridgeback Torpedos and Scuds (if you can get them), 15A Gold Bombers, Rapala SXR12 Xraps, Predatek Vipers and RMG Scorpions. All of these can be bought from BCF.
Best colours for us at Monduran were Gold, Silver, Red/white and Grey. Fluoro Green also worked well. Get a mix of shallow and deeper running lures. Xraps are suspending lures.
Fishing at Monduran changes from week to week so just chase up some recent reports.
Hope this helps.
If you give me your email I can send you a map of where we caught fish.
No worries. Maybe you can do a deal by buying heaps!
If you are only going for one lure type I reckon barra classics are the best. They come in different depth ranges & colours, they come off snags very well and (most importantly) they catch fish!
Good luck at Monduran. I will be back up there in January!
Baitwaster, are you staying at the camp ground, Im heading up thurs nite till sat morn for a quick flick, come have a beer if you see me, ausfish sticker on the back of the hornet, blue rodeo at the front, just me and me swag this trip.
Lures for Monduran, where do you start. Classics are my go to fav, 3+ or 10+ depending on depth Im fishing, gold and silver B52s work great, mate pulled a 105 on a silver predatek and a 100 on a arafura in bleeding mullet last trip.
Guns n roses f18 might ocassionally see a fish or two as well.
Most hard bods will work, upgrade your trebles and splits as very few production lures cut the mustard in the terminal department, have faith and keep casting, dont forget that pause between twitchs, Monduran can be a dam of 1000 casts, but when its on yeeha
brian
Pretty much the lures Brian and peter described. I stick to B52's. Xraps, Classic barras, reidy's judge (newy for me but a goody).
Drop in and see Foxie at Foxies tackle shop in Gin Gin on the way through. He will point you in the right direction and give you the best chance of catching fish. He has some great lures that work at Monduran too.
Some other advice, Make sure your braid and leader is good and your drags are serviced too. Spend money to upgrade trebbles and split rings to OWNER ST 66...nothing else.....dont listen to anyone who tells you VMC will be OK. they are not. they WILL straighten. Take this from someone who fishes the dam every week.
I may seem a bit melodramatic, but we here so many people complaining about being spooled, busted off, bricked in the trees, hooks straightening, leaders breaking so on and so on when most disapointments could be easily avoided with simple preparation and the right quality gear for the job.
You said you only get one chance to fish this year. Make the most of it and you will be back for more again!! be properly prepared or these fish WILL destroy your gear!!!!
Steves right, VMC 6x will straighten, trust me, Im useing the Owners now, so far so good, but my best on an Owner is only a 92, so still a ways to go for me, oh yeah, dont forget the splits.
thanks guys - much appreciated. I'll find you and have couple of beers with you brian. not sure if we are staying overnight or driving back to bundy and heading back in the morn
This is the tip especially for the guy from Thailand. HIRE THE FISHING GUIDE
I was up there in November for the first time and came back empty handed. It is a huge water way and my suggestion is to spend a few dollars and use the Fishing Guide. I think he can take two guys for about $44 per hour.
I will be returning in January/February and the fishing guide will be booked in advance.
Maney is right if your definatly unsure. Adrian K is a great guide and will give you the best chance to catch fish. He is very experienced and knows the dam and the secrets!!, its a good option especially if you dont have much time to sus things out.
See or call Rob and Kelly at the Kiosk, they have his number etc.
If you want to have a go yourself, fish points and weed beds where there is shallow water and deepwater nearby. Fish the shallower areas and dropoffs. Submerged timber is good too. Trollling is working extra well at the mopment, and its a good way to explore this little pond.
cheers steve
You could problably lighten up on the leader. 50, 60 or 80lb max would suffice. I use 50lb flourocarbon or 60lb black magic supple without any probs. you could up the braid to 40 or 50lb if you like, but a good quality 30lb is OK if you dont punish the drag too much or muscle up if the fish goes around trees.
Baitwaister see foxie in gin gin to he was good to us in november!! Hey Steve B i broke one of the reidys judge in half just behind the head i think they look great but you carnt have them breaking after one fish .PM me if you have any questions bout that lure !! Craig
Last edited by crab man; 13-12-2007 at 12:48 PM.
Reason: spelling
Well, I will definately be stopping at gin gin to see foxie. I might have a look at the guide idea for a day too - would be sad for old mate to go back to thailand with his head photoshopped onto other peoples pictures LOL.