Where to get petrol near Tangalooma

Thread: Where to get petrol near Tangalooma

Where to get petrol near Tangalooma

Hi guys.. I am invited to stay at Tangalooma for a week.. I'll be taking the boat but I need know were I can fill her up while I am over there...

Also I am in 2 minds whether to launch the boat on the Goldy, and then take my car and trailer back home (I live 500 from the Broadwater) and drive it up... or launch from a boat ramp in the bay and drive across and leave the car and trailer at a secure parking facility, if there is one..... So I also need to know if there is a secure parking at any off the boat ramps on the bay......

Thanks for your help

Re: Where to get petrol near Tangalooma

There's secure parking @ toondah harbour, where the barges leave from at cleveland...... but not sure if thats only for island residents.

There should be fuel at cowan cowan and bulwer, just take a coupla jerry cans and be prepared to walk a bit.

Best bet for you may be option 1, launch down at the broadwater and leave the car @ home.

How far away is cowan cowan and bulwer from Tangalooma resort

Only a few km's.... you wouldn't want to walk.

www.moreton-island.com.au i think is the site, will have a map there. Failing that, google moreton island and will give you an idea

Last edited by Blackened; 11-12-2007 at 08:39 PM.

bulwer petrol station will bring fuel to beach if its 100 litres or more, otherwise its a 200 meter walk, not fun if the sand is hot. tangas may sell you some fuel

Tangalooma to Bulwer is about 12km (as the crow flies), Cowan Cowan is about 5 from Tanga. Be prepared to lug fuel down from the town and be prepared to pay for it though.

I have attached a map off Google Earth (if it works) hope this helps.

At least if you go to Bulwar you can fish at Bulwar Ledge & Curtain Reef on the way back

Fez

Hi Jabba

I have driven to Scarborough left the car and trailer there and boated across to Tangalooma.

You could safely leave you car and trailer at the ferry departure yard for a daily fee.

Its only 40 min to an hr over to tanga and you may not even need extra fuel if you take a couple of jerry cans. My Lowrance global map / C card even showed the track across the bay. If you do need extra fuel its probably quicker and cheaper to duck back over and ferry some with your car instead of the high cost and hassles over there.

Last edited by Chimo; 11-12-2007 at 09:32 PM.
    What could go wrong.......................

i'd take fuel with you jabba, i didn't know that you could get it at cowan but definitely at bulwer and kooringal. where were you going to be leaving your boat whilst over there if you don't take a trailer. bear in mind that any form of a westerly will turn that side into hell for an anchored boat. we day trip there in the boat heaps but when we stay there we leave the boat at home so we don't have to worry about the thing.

Thanks for all your replies guys.. You have been a big help...

Taking fuel with me is not an option.. I have a 180ltr tank and if I launch from Labrador (Were I live) and drive to Tangalooma, do a few days trolling and fishing and a return home trip, I am going use more fuel then I care cary in jerry cans.. So It has to be fuel station of some sort....

I will moor the boat on the beach with the nose pointing to the water and my plough anchor out a fair way and a second anchor buried on the beach...
    Done it many times before and have not had a problem, Yet... But I can imagine it would get rough on Tangalooma with a stiff westerly blowing...

In that case, I'd be looking at running down to kooringal, the servo at least is practically on the beach.

There you go Jabba, you have 2 choices for fuel; one about 21km sth and the other about 24km to the west. Does anyone know the costs of fuel on the Island vs at Scarborough?

Should work ok.

I reckon i'd be laying in a fair bit of extra heavy chain and some good long, heavy warp to anchor up esp if we get any westerlies.

Have a great holiday.

What could go wrong.......................