Thread: i made the missus happy!!

Wink i made the missus happy!!

well after fishing the BRC friday and all saturday with sweet FA to show for it, the boss was getting a little annoyed at the lack of action. so without her knowing i went down and picked up one of those new Femm Fatalle pink rod/reel combos for her. keeping with the pink theme, i grabbed some 8lb fireline and went home and loaded it up.

headed out to wello early sunday morning, as i was very confident of some fishy activity, and anchored over my favourite patch of rubble. she was not overly impressed at first with the braid, as her old crapped out reel had mono on it, and she kept striking too early and pulling the hooks!!! a quik change to a 5/0 gomatsu circle and some halved pilly's as bait and the smile went from ear to ear....

plenty of just undersized squire were keeping her happy and then bang!! the 8lb line went screaming off the reel at a rate of knots. she fought it all the way to the boat when i netted a cracker 48cm model!!! she turned and said: we are replacing all of your hooks with circles!!! I got onto something that ran with my 30lb (overkill i know) and then jumped clear of the water before spitting hooks

2 mins later, a real solid run, and almost near the boat, almost certainly a snapp, then zzzzzzzz, it took a turn for moreton Is and tore line off my super tight drag like it wasn't on, before busting me off!! i have my suspitions that a shark made a meal out of what would have been a nice squire!! great day, threw back prob 25 u/size fish and kept squire, moses, sweetlip and bream!!! she was wrapped with the combo and it was actually the smaller of the 2 abvailable!!!

pete
    " Sea 'n' Things " 420 Quintrex-Suzuki 30

Re: i made the missus happy!!

Soon as i seen the title " i made the missus happy " i thought you were the only ever person that would have made that happen.
    I need to try and find a way to keep mine happy .... i bet if i sold my boat and stopped buying fishing gear would make her happy
    HAHAHA
    VHF CHANNEL 21
    CALL SIGN : JT OR SC552(social club member)

There is a fine line between fishing and just standing on the shore like an idiot

I wonder how much deeper the ocean would be without sponges

Up here we Use Hussar as baits for real RED FISHS (SHSIIFDER)

few hours fishin....
    Last edited by HIGH and DRY; 11-12-2007 at 08:49 PM. Reason: having trouble adding another pic??

I make my missus happy every day ,i get out of the house before she comes home.This causes her to be very happy.What can i say ?Im a generous man
    George
    At Heaven's gate a soldier stood,
    his story ready to tell,
    St Peter said, 'no need my son all is understood,
    Go right in cos you've already served your time in Hell'

I'm with you Manchild

As the saying goes... I live with danger every day.. but most days I am out of the house before she gets out of bed
    If men are from Mars, and women are from Venus, politicians must be from uranus ?

Quote Originally Posted by jtpython View Post
    i bet if i sold my boat and stopped buying fishing gear would make her happy
    HAHAHA
    LOL!!! My wife and i have an understanding - if it comes down to my fishing gear and boat, pack your bag sweetheart... And she knows i'm serious!

Nice work H&D! Bet you'll be getting looked after for a few days

Take Care T
    home is where the loan is...
    Helping people get the RIGHT Home Loan

Quote Originally Posted by jtpython View Post
    Soon as i seen the title " i made the missus happy " i thought you were the only ever person that would have made that happen.
    I need to try and find a way to keep mine happy .... i bet if i sold my boat and stopped buying fishing gear would make her happy
    HAHAHA
    Yeah but jtpython, how unhappy would you be??

Best to maintain the current equilibrium!!

Gday

Bit of topic but the comments reminded me of the following: -

Q. Why do most men die before their wife does?

A. Because they want to!!

What do they say...Happy wife. Happy life !!!
    How the hell do you make them happy??? Even when I'm certain I'm doing the right thing I'm apparently mistaken... Surely we can't be wrong all of the time.

Congrats on the trip, and thanks for the read! Pete the only down side is now she will expect to catch that many fish every time!!! jtpython, girls can keep themselves happy, they don't need us guys to do it for them. Peter4 and T1 your exactly right. Lay down the law guys...its the only way to get the balance right. We need time for our hobbies and having fun with our friends, just like they do.

SS

Your a lucky man there mate,I know if i brought the missus a rod and reel, I'd be up the hospital getting it surgically removed. Some nice fish there mate. I fished the BRC as well.Found a few squire but mainly found heaps of bream on plastics ,all around 25 to 30.Nothing to match old mates on day one of the comp1.2 kg. Stonker. River squire would not have a chance against those big threadies weighed in. One interesting encounter with what we believe was my first river tarpon . threw the hook while performing sommersaults.Good fun

is there a possibility of getting these 'tarpon' at wello??? this thing that cleared the water was very silvery/shiny and went like a rocket!!!! would have be around the 50cm mark roughly..

pete

Ha mine wanted to buy me a brand new motor . And she keeps asking me when are we going fishing next? . But now its turned a bit sour . She is sick of squire she wants some sweetlip and squid to eat. Now I have to find out where these little beasties hide out. I count myself very lucky

Quote Originally Posted by sharkymark2 View Post
    Ha mine wanted to buy me a brand new motor . And she keeps asking me when are we going fishing next? . But now its turned a bit sour . She is sick of squire she wants some sweetlip and squid to eat. Now I have to find out where these little beasties hide out. I count myself very lucky

sometimes i have to pinch myself... while i clean all the fish she catches, she takes her cast net up to the jetty and fills the bucket for the next trip!! i had to get her a 7ft net cause my 10ft'er gave her all sorts of touble casting over the hand rail as she is a bit shorter than me!!! but i could live with that

Quote Originally Posted by HIGH and DRY View Post
    is there a possibility of getting these 'tarpon' at wello??? this thing that cleared the water was very silvery/shiny and went like a rocket!!!! would have be around the 50cm mark roughly..

pete

I think you'll find it's a 'true' Long Tom! We had one put on a spectacular show over about 50m on the way back in a few weeks ago out there!

Take Care T
    home is where the loan is...
    Helping people get the RIGHT Home Loan