Thread: Trying to do the right thing

Trying to do the right thing

I took my 81 year old father–in-law and son out for run to chase a few whiting on Sunday and get him out for a run the boat. After 30 minutes and not one fish and with conditions so good I headed out into the bay to a patch of reef with the tide still flooding.

I wanted the old boy to catch me a live bait on his high tech 50 year old handline and whiting hook, he finished up catching all three of these on his rig. He had a ball.

What did I catch…nothing. Still I got absolutely smoking on my floating whole pilly until I got bitten off!!!

As I was cleaning the boat my wife did the right thing and gave the Mack away to the neighbours leaving me the mowongs, my response…that’s nice sugar.

Ps. It gets better the blood all over the fish is mine of course.

Re: Trying to do the right thing

All you can do is grit your teeth and think of the brownie points mate.
    It's a good feeling to see a smile on someone else's dial.
    Still better than your best day at work though hey ?

Baitwaister I can’t complain. Plenty of points gained. And its always good to get out and escape life.

Scott your father in law will remember that for a long time
    good work

You have to watch those gill plate things on the sides of the morwongs heads, as you now know
    Marty.

Go the old boy. Well done digger!!!

Hey Scotty, thought I heard you flushing the motor on Sunday arvo, commented to the missus youd been a bit quiet.
    Bet that mowie went allright on the handline, they can certainly pull, we used to get a heap in the pearl channel on squid strips on days to ruff for off shore work.
    Try and catch up over chrissy for a cold corona or two
    brian

Brian we will definitely share a cold one over Chrisy.
    Hell the misses just stocked the fridge for me.
    I have been waiting to see the blue truck around of a weekend but I think you work to hard young man.
    I recommend some pelagic therapy. We will have to get out and chase a few. Are you having any time off?

Well Done Scott - looks like an excellent day on the water - Sunday (early) definately had perfect conditions - I might even do the same oneday soon and take out my father in law too. Cheers mate - FISHBAIT!

All of January mate, plan on doing a trip or thirty, bit of Mackie fishing sounds all right, give us a yell if you need crew

brian

Brian.
    Will do.

When are you going to put up my mowwie scott? And those other things.

Dad