Thread: Kayak or not to Kayak

Kayak or not to Kayak

Was wondering if the cheaper Kayaks available on the market like the sit on top ones for around $200-$300 are worth getting for use as a fishing platform. Was looking at using it in the upper Coomera, Canal Estates and various backwaters for example. If anyone has one in the lower end of the price range any feedback would be appreciated.

PlasticFantastic

Re: Kayak or not to Kayak

Get too cheap a kayak and it will most likely have stability problems. Get a good one and you'll never look back. They are silent, heaps of fun and at night you get to crap yourself every hour or two as something massive splashes near you.

I've fished from Haines, Tinnies, and now kayak. And the kayak is a good a buzz as any of the others.

Mate I got a cheap one for my young bloke and all I can say is I'm bloody glad I dont have to paddle it.
    The wall thickness is also an issue if you want to put rod holders in.
    Have a look on www.akff.com.au in the for sale section. Theres a viking espri there at the moment for $700 which is pretty good buyng and a hell of a lot better quality than the $400 job. The site also has a secton on which kayak is best suited to your needs..some good info on there on this topic.

Cheers M

Have to agree with the 2 posts.

Cheap plastics are only toys. You're better off looking at a decent second hand one.

got mine from anaconda on interest free,best thing i have ever done,stealth fishing,you see so much more from the water,you even see the stikes,go the better ones,spend a bit more and you wont look back.
    Last edited by geoff72; 10-12-2007 at 09:04 PM.
    If i could get paid the same to fish, sorry boss but i ......!

Looks like I might have to save a little more than I expected, might have to cut back on the charter trips for a while.

PlasticFantastic

I built mine in fiber glass. It's 16 feet long and has a 30 inch beam. I have been to all sorts of places with it, from offshore to lakes to big and small estuaries. It's also a sit-in style. Very comfortable and dry. The best thing about the sit-in style is that nothing falls over the side and the fish cant jump out. Mine is very stable and can handle waves to .5m breaking and over 1m as swells with ease. Give a sit-in model lots of thought and definitely check out the AKF web site. There is a photo of mine in there somewhere.

Joe

i have a BASS kayak (brand name) which i find really good for around the estuarys, i bought it from down south nsw about ten years ago, pretty cheap around 500 very sturdy and durable and easy to paddle, not sure if they are still around but you could pick a second hand one up pretty cheap, ill send you a pick if you want.

...of all the liars among mankind, the fisherman is the most trustworthy. ~William Sherwood Fox.

Quote Originally Posted by PlasticFantastic View Post
    Looks like I might have to save a little more than I expected, might have to cut back on the charter trips for a while.

PlasticFantastic
    Thats ok, get yourself a decent yak and you won't have such an urge to go on those charters anyway. If you haven't checked out AKFF already you will see that over the last couple of months captures in Qld have included Cobia (22kg off goldy last weekend), snapper galore in the bay, sweetlip, tuna, mackeral plus all the estuary species you'd expect including jacks & trevors. Not to mention fresh water captures of Barra from Awoonga & teemburra plus Bass, Golden Perch & toga.

Boat? Charters? Get a yak and you don't need em

I've got a cheapie 400 dollar job.I'ts an extreme kayak and it's not fast but very stable.Caught heaps of fish out of it in the estuary and fresh.Only 3m long so offshore is probably asking a bit much of it but i have given it a flogging and it still goes great. Ben Actually got 2.

I've just been down the track. IMO get something half decent. Hire before you buy. Anaconda, GoodTime and just look in the Yellow pages. I bought a Perception Acadia 280 sit in. It's comfortable, paddles straight, and fit's inside the tray of my ute. Look around a lot. One thing I found out when hiring was that I needed a longer paddle so it saved me money.

I started out with an Extreme Kayak. They are big heavy beasts that don't glide through the water very well at all. It's kind of like paddling a bathtub. And not as stable as some of the other mid range kayaks.

Here's my original tale of woe.
    http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/sho...ght=ss+pullock
    Enjoy

FA
    Last edited by Flattie Assassin; 12-12-2007 at 08:16 PM. Reason: fix link

Nice tale there Flattie Asassin, I've used Kayaks previously as a kid and have certainly tipped, rolled, swamped and what ever other things you could do to fall outta the damn things. My main concern is that as a kid it's great fun getting wet etc but when your carrying around a grands worth of fishing gear it's a little more serious. So a more expensive stable Yak seems to be the way too go.

PlasticFantastic

LOL your damn right there.

I scored an old canoe from a mate and I love fishing in that, cost me $100 to repair and paint it, it is still a shitter, but I love it.. even bought a leccy for her.. thing is it is an indian canoe, so coming down cabbage tree creek people think I am actually invading as opposed to fishing
    If men are from Mars, and women are from Venus, politicians must be from uranus ?