-
Some fishing advice
G'day everyone, I mostly do offshore fishing but having recently purchasing a 375 tinny i have been gradually tryiing to get into the estuaries aswell. But, i have no idea of any spots, rigs or anything to be able to produce fish. I am taking a mate out on tuesday and i was wondering if anyone could give any tips on where to go, what to use (bait, tackle ect). We will be heading out from either, Dohles Rocks, Spinnaker sound or Donnybrooke, or wherever the spots you tell me are! So any advice would be appreciated. Just somewhere to have a bit of fun.
Crazy
-
Re: Some fishing advice
Mate I do same as you but the other day I did a personalised charter with myself and my daughter in the Tweed estuaries. Very educational and reenforced my previous knowledge thoroughly.
We scored 30fish and 6 species all on plastics and a small hardbody lure, same plastic and same lure for the day. We fished all parts of the tide using the same baits making it simple, sure some species may be ideal on worms or yabbies or something else but this does work and is great for a general workout of an area.
If I went to a new area now (realize I don't know your area up there or whats on offer at the moment) I'd be looking for the following. On a rising tide flick a small 2-3inch pumpkinseed small fish looking plastic on the sand banks for Whiting, if you're after bream or more timid fish just trim your plastic in length, pick banks where you see previous activity from say yabbies. if you don't get any hits in 5-10 mins move on. Top of the tide have a cuppa, falling tide look for water flowing off the banks between sand and seagrass, here you'll find flatties waiting on the fish getting flushed off the bank. They will ambush the baitfish so with your plastic follow the natural flow try to find wind and current in the same direction as you drift.
Trick is natural movement, small wiggles on your rod as you drift along say 10-20cm lifts on you rodtip is enough. too much is no good.
Bottom part of the tide is harder, find deeper holes and structure and jig the lure to attract attention or get your lure to roll from the shallower part into the hole, we got Moses Perch doing this over a buncch of rocks in a hole, they're related to Mangrove Jack so fight hard.
If you get tired of jigging plastics, a small lure trolled at say 1M in water the same depth will hit the bottom thus stirring the attention of fish.
We got flatties and Bream trollling between the weed and sand and some canals close to the pontoons and edges.
If you want Mangrove Jack its a bit tougher but fun to get busted up.
Troll rock walls and such but ensure its in deeper water as they like a bit of depth.
Spot an outlet or a drain and with a bit of an old tree or such as structure you'll find fish sitting there waiting to ambush baitfish coming out the drain. I got a flattie before the lure almost hit the water like that on Friday.
Good luck mate and hope I've been of assistance, if you get some local tips now you should do fine but the above principles still apply.
Good luck.
BB
-
Gear, fish light.
We used something like 10lb braid (easier in casting) with 60cm or so of 6-10lb Flourocarbon leader. Berkley 3" Powerminnow in Pumpkinseed with scales, sometimes trimmed down. I'm sure you could go heavier mainline no worries. Slow movements make sure your lure moves like a wounded fish!!
Trolling we used a small 1" 1M diving bibbed lure, pick a pretty colour!
-
Thanks guys, all that is stuff i didnt know. That will be a huge help. Does anyone know of some spots, for example which i can refer to in books, ect around my listed areas?
Crazy
-
Ausfish New Member
not to sure about books but try caboolture creek, at beachmere landing motor around the front of beachmere, there are some nice sandy drop off's out there that you can see at low tide. whiteing and flathead out there from time to time.
there are markers all the way to the mouth of the creek so you will have no probs with low water.
best of luck and have fun...