How long can I keep a Mudcrab alive?

Thread: How long can I keep a Mudcrab alive?

How long can I keep a Mudcrab alive?

Hi,

I have a great plan to give a live mudcrab as a Christmas present, but they are no readily available and I am not confident in my ability as a crabber to guarantee a catch when I need it.

I would like to get one early but don't know how long I can keep it alive or the best way to go about it.

I do have an old fish tank that is not in use 2 foot about 63 liters, is it possible to pop down the bay each day and get some fresh saltwater for the tank?

Any sugestions would be appreciated.

Adam

Re: How long can I keep a Mudcrab alive?

im not too sure cos u'd have to feed it to keep it full or you'll havenothin to eat when u open it up! i got a six foot tank with saltwater fish, and a sandy. he's pretty cool, but i feed him every 2nd day, dont know if i'd eat him tho in tank water, even tho i change a esky load every week or so, its still not the same as fresh salt water! see how u go tho! he'd definately survive tho i think.

morgans keep theres tied up in big glass tanks with filter to keep them alive the will live days out of the water not sure where you are at but if want live muddie for xmas try ringing morgans at scarborough to see if they are going to have livein thock xmas eve but be warned you will have to line up for hours

shane

Thanks Shane,

I am confident I have a supplier on the southside but they can't gaurantee stock right up to xmas, hence my delema with keeping it alive.

Adam

some people sink them in a pot with no exits and some food to fatten them up

I once gave my girlfriends sister one as a present for christmas. Caught it 2 days in advance and kept him in a big bucket full of mangrove leaves out of the sun. No worries.

Quote Originally Posted by killitfillit View Post
    some people sink them in a pot with no exits and some food to fatten them up
    friends of my father done this back in the early 70,s with sand crabs in pumicestone passage went to pick the pot up and only shells left the octopus in the area had sucked them dry

shane

just tie them up and leave them in the water in a cage that eels and cod cant get into...feed it a mullet every couple of days

or tie him up and put him under a wet heshen bag in the shade but after a while they start eating away themselves if they dont get food, so keep feeding them

forget the shops, they will charge ya 50 bucks a crab..i can go and catch 5 tonight

Thanks for your help.

It would be a bit difficult for me at the moment to have regular access to a sunk pot, I might have to try the fish tank.

Mad Max, mate I would be happy to donate money to fuel, inconvenience, maintanance or or any other way you want to describe it if you can get me on to a live one before Xmas!

Adam