just wondering what pound leader to put on my combo that has 35lb platypus braid i will use it mostly for landbased work for tuna and mackeral but might take it to the brissie river on my boat for some shark fishing.
regards,
keechie
20lb
30lb
40lb
50lb
60lb
70lb or more
just wondering what pound leader to put on my combo that has 35lb platypus braid i will use it mostly for landbased work for tuna and mackeral but might take it to the brissie river on my boat for some shark fishing.
regards,
keechie
G'day Keechie
I used to do a fair bit of landbased down NSW north coast chasing longtail. I found 10kg mainline and 40lb black magic trace worked well. Make sure the trace is about 2mtrs long to allow for tail wrapping and rock abrasion when in close to the gaff.
I found if you went to 15kg mainline, you would have trouble trying to keep a bait out wide becasue of the water pressure against the larger diameter line.
Talking mono lines here though.
yeah, i went with the forty, sounds about right in leader size.
hi mate im a lbg junkie from yamba i use 50lb braid wit a 80lb trace this allows ya to give the fish abit more especially when ya got sharkys to content wit nothing worse the watchin someone do battle wit a big fish for along period of time (only because hes using 30lb line) to finallly get the fish into sight to see it get devoured by a sharky thats been attracted by the 3/4 of an houir fight if the angler does happen to get the fish landed they are usually dead as a doorknob because of the prolonged fight and cant be released so will probabley go in the crab pots cause they taste like shit whereas if the angler was usin heavier line he could have got the fish in a lot quiker therfore increasing its chance of survival and not have to kill such a fantastic sportfish
how much 50lb braid should i have on my rod??? all help greatly appreciated.
regards,
keechie
Breaming is my LIFE!!!
Mate, where are you chasing them? I'm using 50lb leader but havent caught to many so experience will tell whetgher i increase or decrease.
In regards to how much 50lb line, with a locked up drag you could get away with 200m. If you want to let them run and realy feel the fight then about 400m-500m would be keeping on the safe side in case you hook an fabled yelowfin or get a tailwrapped tuna.
Mate, where are you chasing them? I'm using 50lb leader but havent caught to many so experience will tell whetgher i increase or decrease.
In regards to how much 50lb line, with a locked up drag you could get away with 200m. If you want to let them run and realy feel the fight then about 400m-500m would be keeping on the safe side in case you hook an fabled yelowfin or get a tailwrapped tuna.
there seems to be alot of people feeding the sharks ,40lb leader ???????some people just need to harden the @#*& up
Last edited by ryansrods; 15-03-2008 at 12:44 PM.
I have seen some good fish get lost over extended fights using 40lb.
I normally use 50-60lb to be on the safe side particularly when livebaiting as there is always the chance of a cobe.
Mates in coffs are getting longtails using wire as they are livebaiting for spaniards so I dont think the heavier leader puts them off.
that be correct pete heavier the better ya never know what s lurking in that warm water
We were out near Tanga chasing Tuna yesterday. Didnt get any fish on, but was curious what would happen if we did connect. There were some decent size Tuna out there.
Rig was 30lb braid and 50 lbs leader. Reel is a Daiwa Freams 4500J which has a max drag of 9kg. Is this going to cut it????
Yeah mate...you wont have any problems there.
That will stop any Mack tuna you encounter easily.
Longtails will give you a good run but boat based you can always chase them if needed.