Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: How many rods have you broken...and how??

Re: How many rods have you broken...and how??

Testing out the flexibility of the then new texalium rods at bcf.
    Just started whistleing and walk away slowly
    George
    At Heaven's gate a soldier stood,
    his story ready to tell,
    St Peter said, 'no need my son all is understood,
    Go right in cos you've already served your time in Hell'

I had a mate do over a G damage in about 15 secs. Started out by dropping my GL2 and calcutta 200 over the side, fell backwards and snapped a spin stick and then jumped in to find my loomie, came up empty handed and jumpped back in the boat and soaked my new digi cam. Wasnt too happy to say the least. He doesnt come fishing anymore.

Ive got a few other stories but thats the most hurtful. Ive probably snapped about 10 rods. Some silly, some unlucky and alot of mates not familiar with the brittleness of graphite.

Whytey
    If you wish to learn more about reading and getting the most from your Lowrance units or learning more about fishing with artificial baits I will come out in the comfort of your own boat for one on one coaching. Please call for more information.

broke a few but the fun one was a 24kg angler rod too much drag loss about 40cm and a big fish..... great fun

Is it me or is there a recurring theme here???
    Most rods are broken without a fish flappin' on the working end

Some good stories though...keep them up fellas
    I intend on living for-ever....so far so good

no, that would be a pretty fair observation, a rod used properly will be almost impossible to break, most get wrecked at home or in the car.

Quote Originally Posted by manchild View Post
    Testing out the flexibility of the then new texalium rods at bcf.
    Just started whistleing and walk away slowly
    George
    Mate I did exactly the same thing.

Stayed away from BCF for a couple of weeks until the security footage was too old for anyone to care!

Snapped 6in of a St.Croix rod in the door of a holden ute after a flattie sesion on the goldie one afternoon...matt
    A bad days fishing has got to be better than any day at work......

I broke a graphite travel rod by high-sticking ...but the dumbest one was when I was checking my drag setting "one last time" at home the night before a trip and the knot slipped... Funny how I had never realised before that I had low ceilings!

saddest one I saw was about 35 years ago on the breakwall on the Hastings river on Boxing day.

Kid with a lovely new outfit, tip wrapped, pulled the line down to get to the tip, could see what was going to happen, but too far away.

The only one I have broken travelled to Nth of Weipa in the back of a cruiser ute in a rod bag with other s in a pvc tube. Pulled the lure about 100mm to hook it onto the bottom runner and Crack, short rod. worked quite well with a new tip, and the shop was kind enough to replace it under warranty - a cheer for them and Shimano.

I fish with a mate who is an excellent fisher, unlike me, and is a minimalist, unlike me. That means his boat, unlike mine, has the bare minimum of rod holders, and each of those is in exactly the right place for his kind of fishing, which is either floating baits in burley (mostly), or trolling with riggers (rarely).

I did feel a little bit of stress when my fancy Daiwa rod, bought by my lovely wife, had a very very serious bend because I had put it in a holder without backing the drag off, and a cobia scoffed the gulp I had left dangling. Luckily the rod survived, but alas so did the fish. Skipper said he saw the tip in the water, but I hope he was exaggerating
    Last edited by artesian; 06-12-2007 at 10:38 PM. Reason: left a couple of words out

Broken 2 rods and should have known better both times.
    1st rod was my first baitcaster rod, a diawa heartland. Me and a mate were going fishing in his girlfriend's fathers boat. It was a rush trip and we had to pick up a new battery for the boat as well. So we put it in the back of his hilux along with the fishing rods, and it didn't take long before the battery had snapped three rods. My relatively cheap diawa and his 2 G loomis rods. We still went fishing but didn't really have our heart in it.
    2nd rod I snapped the top 6" off a backbone spin rod this year on a charter trip at the swains. We were having a friendly night fishing comp, and I was keen to get the spangled emperor in to keep my lead. I was hanging onto the tip of the rod as I bent over the side to wrap the line around my hand. I stood up with the fish and the top 6" of rod the rest on the floor. With a bit of superglue and a knife I shortened the rod back to the first runner, put the tip back on and it still works great.

Ally Jack

broken 2 rods, both noob errors. broke an et 6ft baitcaster rod trying to pull Australia from the water (what a tool). the other was left in a rod holder on the way home and got caught in a tree (not my fault) but that was only a cheepie. they werent much to replace though so it wasnt all bad.

To many,Have a nice collection of butts though.
    Reidy

I had a $16 cheap hollow baitcaster 2pce rod from ###### and I loved the feel of it, but trod on it and that was that.

The other is a 7'6" shimano snapper rod that came in combo form with a 4500 baitrunner. I was in Monduran trolling with it and didn't have the motor locked down because of stumps etc. I was backing up to a snagged lure very slowly and winding in at the same time, when a mate decided to help, in a split second and without a word, he leaned over, grabbed the throttle, and revved the guts out of it. Prop jumps out of the water, catches 30lb braid, pulls tip under, and viola - I now have a 3 piece.

BTW - I cut the bad bit off clean, put a new top runner on, and it has become a serious whale stopping pole with a 6500 on it now. Then went to tackle shop and purchased another because I loved the action of it, and put the 4500 on the new rod.

About 10 years ago i splurged and spent 2 weeks (apprentice) wage on a new live fibre. First session off the rock wall at mooloolaba rigging up just before sun up and my mate stood on it. POP CRUNCH. You would have heard me scream from brisbane i reckon. I felt like chopping him up and using him as burley.

Just recently a mate was fishing plastics and was trying to bounce a snagged plastic out of some rocks, under pressure it released and smacked into the rod. About 5 minutes later on the the next fish he caught it snapped. Nice fancy Ian miller custom gone. He loved that rod.

Gone through a few tips in car doors and careless mates.
    Snapped a graphite Penn High Sticking, thought I was on to a thumper Flattie turned out to be a stinking ray. Cracked the sh!ts and tried to muscle the ray in, the Ray won