-
Ausfish Addict
-
Ausfish Gold Member
Re: How many rods have you broken...and how??
3 rods all through stupidity. First was in 4x4 tailgate, slipped out as I was closing it. Second, trying to pull a lure free using the rod tip rather than pointing the tip at the lure, clamping the reel and then pulling using the line. Third one, in a rod bag, not paying attention at 3am, rolled the top over too far being half asleep and turned my one piece into a 2 piece. Needless to say I don't use rod bags anymore.
Thanks for bringing back some bad memories finga. Hopefully reading of others pain and suffering will make me feel better.
-
Had a rod sitting in the tinnie and was putting crab pots in the boat, left the pots sit on the edge then one fell onto the rod and snap in the tip, half the tip piece was lost.
-
Ausfish Addict
Was packing the tinny... had my good little live fibre sitting there. Put the esky right on top of it. It went bang.
Best thing is, it happened in a perfect spot and now its all fixed
-
1st was a cheapo JW light spin rod, casting metal slices from a rockwall the lure snagged on a crack in the rock behind me as I went to cast - crack went the top 1ft of the rod.
2nd was my first effort at building from scratch, Had just landed a third Queenfish around 6kg and the rod snapped on the cast. I was casting poppers and trying to reach out pretty far to a current eddy.
Have to be careful now - recently moved into a house with loads of ceiling fans
Clonoid
-
Ausfish Gold Member
1. Snapped a tip off a Berkley Dropshot when it got shut beneath one of the hatches.
2. 2 Graphite rods snapped when trying to get jig heads unsnagged in windy conditions, not enough hands. Don't bother anymore as would rather loose a jighead that muck around in windy conditions.
3. Busted another graphite rod in the Gulf earlier in the year when a larger than normal barracuda decided that a last run under the boat would be some fun. Reflexes weren't quick enough and was left holding the reel seat and about 20cm of rod.
-
My first graphite rod i snapped within 5 min of having it home. Noob mistake, I grabbed the tip and bent it.
-
Ausfish New Member
Haven't broke any but does loosing overboard count???
-
Ausfish Addict
broke my favourite Sabre jig rod, lifting a really large Kingfish and 'high sticked" it a tad too much, it was only 20 years old as well! and also a Graphite Bullwhip, was leaning over to grab a crab trap float, and slipped and kneed it big time, nearly cried because it is not made anymore!
-
1. Moving house with my 12ft butterworth one piece in the back of the ute going over the roof and up. Cut clean in half when i got into the new driveway and it hit a branch.
2. Too much beer showing a mate my new graphite flick stick............bang!!!
both acts of pure stupidity on my behalf.
-
Only broken one, well I actually didn't break it....not excactly sure what it was that broke it. But I could hazard a guess.
When I was in my early teen years out on the Condamine fishing with an old family friend at our favourite spot. I had an old fibreglass rod and an Alvey reel stuck in the roots of a tree which stood right beside a nice deep hole. Had it rigged up with the biggest black crayfish from my hessian bag and was attempting to relax while listening to old Jack sing really badly and play the banjo even worse, when the tip of the rod went straight down to the water and didn't stop....broke the rod and cracked the cork grip to pieces. All I got back was the reel and some pieces of old fishing rod.
At least it stopped Jack playing that flamin banjo for a while.
-
Ausfish Addict
I just remebered a really tragic incident, luckily not to me!! at our Local garage a guy I know was pulling in to get fuel, and he had all his rods in the Rocket launcher, (including a set of matching game rods) as he got near the awning I noticed the rods and gave him a yell, but it was too late, snapped off the lot, and broke the deck where the launcher was bolted on, now that was an expensive refueling excercise! I have been paranoid ever since and even lower the Radio Aerial now.
-
Ausfish Gold Member
-
Ausfish Gold Member
At the 4x4 and tackle show I was testing a shimano baitcaster out, bent the tip back a bit and snapped like a twig. I was pretty worried, but the guy then said it was faulty......phew.
-
Ausfish Gold Member
First was a good 2 piece surf rod when we went the kimberleys it was hanging of the back of the ute about half of foot, we backed into a carpark with a wall behind it and snap, forgot the rod was hanging off the back.
The second was a wilson livefiber rod, i was getting it out off the bedroom, when i accidently pushed it against the wall and snap, i was up for $200 but got a new one for free through warrenty.
cheers tassie JR