Thread: A good night out -pb jack

A good night out -pb jack

I got this jack last night on a live herring. Released him again somewhere up a canal, it was so dark I cant even remember where I was....Only the one fish for the night, this boy went 57cm. Thats my best jack yet, what a season its turning out to be after a slow start for me. Im very happy

My wife says I should give them a rest for a while.....

Last edited by the gecko; 04-12-2007 at 02:53 PM. Reason: text

Re: A good night out

Don’t listen to the wife Andrew, see was sent by the devil to twist your mind, when there on there on and you have a responsibility to play the game. That’s a horse of a fish mate, your beating my PB now. I’ll have to put some more time in, I’ve got a few ideas to get the ones I’ve been getting busted off by, so watch this space.

I said the same thing to my wife about the shops...that is she should give them a rest for a while...I rekon you should talk to my wife and compare answers to that suggestion

Seriously mate lovely fish I'm envious

You should be stoked with that fish mate.

nice size fish mate im keen to target them hard now since im back nice work

Re: A good night out -pb jack

Very Very nice Jack Andrew....

How can you give them a rest when you are pullng great fish like that....

Thats a bloody top jack again mate,you certainly are making up for that slow start with quality jacks.
    If i could get paid the same to fish, sorry boss but i ......!

ripper fish mate,
    keep em coming hey,

if u ever need a deckie yell out im keen to have a livie fish,

Awesome fish Andrew! How heavy were you fishing?

Keep playing the game until they take their bat & ball and go home!

Shane

Great jack Andrew and congrats on your new pb!

Dorado
    ...in case of emergency, take me fishing

Nice fat Jack Andrew. Youve now equaled my pb so ill have to get back out and sting a 60+ Are you giving the lures a rest Mate?

Well done mate top fish. Whytey
    If you wish to learn more about reading and getting the most from your Lowrance units or learning more about fishing with artificial baits I will come out in the comfort of your own boat for one on one coaching. Please call for more information.

Yella, I might take a deckie out, but I usually go on short notice. If your keen to do the jackshift hours, pm me. same goes for any other regular members, no promises but keep in touch.

Black, 6kg braid, 30lb leader.

Whitey, I gave lures a rest for 2 weeks just to work out where the fish were. Its too expensive losing prawnstars and HBs to ruboffs and snags. I also like a bit of daylight for lures, and Ive been doing nite runs. I fish a lot of natrual structure, I dont do much pontoons and boats like you do. Im going back to lures now anyway, just to find a new challenge. I think lures are 2-3 times harder than bait for jacks. Still havent got one on poppers yet, so I gotta put in some time there.

That's a ripper fish Andrew, well done. Are you fishing your livie on the bottom???

Cheers, Jeff.

Flippin flyin whatsis, thats a ripper fish.
    On 6kg sheeees. Congrats.

Now forgive the dopey stuff but hey I'm an offshore fisho ok. I fished jack with my offshore rig, 40lb trace and 30lb braid, is the 6kg braid better for the action of the smaller lures or just more fun in the fight? I've got 6kg or something on my Bream stick that I didn't bother using on the Jack and I must say that that would have been a bit of a challenge even on the little fella I just caught.

Herring ay, I've never even caught one of them (ok never tried ) I suppose a net in a canal would get me a few of them, I can rig a live Slimie for Macks but how do you rig a live herring? Would be interested in hook sizes, weights and such.
    Thanks for humouring me chaps.

id have a big grin like that to if i got one like that. top stuff gecko
    figjam :wink: