Nice fishin there guys, I don't think the jew would fit on a brag mat anyhow. I am very jealous, Jew is the one species I have always wanted to catch, and never have.
Saturday morning Nice and early(4am), Roydsy rolls up keen for a lash @ the tweed reefs after a last minute call up. we head out to our first stop, a reef half way between the bar and nine mile. This reef usually holds a big ball of bait but today it appears to be hold no bait at all......but on the leading edge is a good show of large single fish just off the bottom in 25m. first drift and while I'm still rigging up Roydsy is on to a good fish, pulling the wrinkles out of his 30lb braid and thumping away like a good snapper. after a few strong runs the leader parts from the jighead . Roydsy is kicking himself as the Loop knot has popped so he re-rigs without one for next drift, Meanwhile I'm wondering if my lighter outfit is going to cope...I've only got 20lb braid and 12lb leader on, We'll see how we go!
We reposition ahead of the reef for the next drift and right on cue Roydsy's 1oz TT & 7" nuke chook gets pounded again. more of the same with line being won and lost, eventually we get the better of a nice lumpy headed snapper of about 7kg. Woo Hoo! new PB for Roydsy.
Ok drift 3 and I'm waiting for my 7" lime colour jerk shad to sink to the reef, I've opted for only 1/2oz nitro jighead so I'm casting ahead of the drift, I thought a bit too far as when I felt a bump, I thought I'd hooked the bottom ....then the bottom gets a bit cranky and start to peel line of my reel. I'm using effectively bass and bay squire gear and questioning my thinking with this choice as the fish seems to be immovable from the bottom. no big thumping snapper like runs just a lot of weight and seems to take back any line i get at will. after a few minutes of solid pump and wind, wait for it to stop again, then pump and wind and Roydsy slips the net under a nice jewie. I help lift the net in and the we realise what we've got here. probably not that huge for a jewfish but considering the last jew i caught was smaller then the lure i was using here i can safely say it will make a new PB for me too In all the fun and games I didn't put it on the brag mat but safe to say it would be a around a 110 - 120cm and I'm having trouble holding it up with one hand. Roydsy's scales only go to 7kg and it pulls them down easily so I'll go out on a limb and estimate about 10-11kg. The fish was beat after the struggle it put up and not having tasted the delights of fresh jew, i decided a few kilos of fillets in my freezer would be a good thing. We had to cut her up to fit it in the ice box. I have to say the new combo performed great, the rod is an Egrell S4 (4-6kg), really light but has lots of power and the reel, a certate 2500R, the drag was super slick, just how the leader didn't pop is a wonder to me but after a few miracles I'll say the Kokoda flurocarbon leader has been a great leader material for me on few occasions where I thought I'd be done.
We made a few more passes over the reef for nil result, the fish that were holding on the leading edge had moved on and few scattered fish sitting on top of the peak were not chewing so we made a move to Nine mile......no more hits out there either so since the water and weather weren't super comfortable in the little polycraft we called it quits and headed for home. back on the ramp by 9am.
Cheers Roo.
Roydsy's Little squire
Roo Jew (bad hair day)
Roo Jew again (where's me hat)
Last edited by Roo; 03-12-2007 at 12:03 PM. Reason: Added Harmonic tide/bite peak predictor graph
Nice fishin there guys, I don't think the jew would fit on a brag mat anyhow. I am very jealous, Jew is the one species I have always wanted to catch, and never have.
Thanks Roo, was a top call up, glad the missus couldn't make it (sorry Kim) but it was a cracker and one of the most memorable.
I have put the snapper in the freezer ready for a xmas season lunch with friends and family. All the best.
edit: oh and the snapper on the brag mat was at 80cm so pretty descent going and a new PB.
roydsy
Last edited by roydsy; 03-12-2007 at 11:10 AM.
Not enough time in the day, to many spots to fish!
Top work Roo, I'll bet your glad of the quality outfit now, it can make all the difference.
good going guys, 2 nice fish there
Great report Roo,
Nice to get a couple of PB's...that jew is a good size, certainly test out your gear. The egrell punches well above its weight when it comes to controlling a running fish, nice sensitivity and heaps of grunt where it counts.
Good to see a nice snapp for Roydsy too. Another victim for the nuke chook I see...
I think I've lost my deckie spot
Luck I let you use MY Egrell babe. Well done guys!!
Cheers Kim.
Live your life in such a way that when your feet hit the floor in the morning, Satan shudders and says...
'Oh Shit.....she's awake'
I've added an attachment to the main post. its a fishing predictor that adds up all the variables and makes a prediction for Peak bite period using the tides, moon phase and god know what else. Based largley on a Maori fishing calendar.Its a free download off the net, but you can give the guy who wrote it a donation if you like it! i think i'll test it out a few times to see how i go.
Cheers Roo.
P.s. The missus, technically I christened it, so its mine, you can get another one if you like
Top fishies there on the placcies orby & roysdy,
well done on the lightish gear, that's real tough country around there too.
I always wondered why you guys bothered driving all the way up to fish the bay when you are close to these spots.
Mick.
Ps - did you lose many jigheads to the reef?
Hi Roo,
Top Snapper, Top Jew, Top Rod.
Frank OO
Yeeeehaaa !!! Good fishn there boy's. Looks like it was a nice morning out on the briney deep. Way to go
Last edited by Little grey men; 03-12-2007 at 02:34 PM.
Great report guys, I've never fished down that way before ,its worth going by the looks
regards sam.......
And Roo looks like he has been getting hair do lessons from Basskid!!!!!
Good one Roo Grates mate
VHF CHANNEL 21
CALL SIGN : JT OR SC552(social club member)
There is a fine line between fishing and just standing on the shore like an idiot
I wonder how much deeper the ocean would be without sponges
Up here we Use Hussar as baits for real RED FISHS (SHSIIFDER)