Good to get a report off you Jeremy from down that way. The sweeties sound like there playing the game. Might try and get a arvo trip in down that way for a couple myself
sloppy conditions early on flattened out during the morning. Bit of a shortage of bait having not been offshore for around 2-3 months, so started off using some poddy mullet and yellowtail pike with the pillies. Slow going early on with lots of pickers. No takers on the lures and the livie was happily swimming away unmolested . There were definitely mackerel there as I had two bait jigs cut in half on the way back up, just couldn't get them to bite. Two mackerel pros came by, spent about 10 mins trolling and left, so I reckon I am in good company.
Tried a different cut bait and got two lovely sweeties in consecutive casts. They went 3.6 and 3.4 kg. That was the end of that bait and only got one more smaller sweetie later on. Don't ask 'cos i'm not telling . I will be doing further research with that bait shortly!
Pulled the pick to go try something else. Found a few mack tuna working and nailed a few to restock on bait. I was using small slugs but the tuna were not taking them very well. Tried some placcies but no interest, so back to the metals. My deckie got his first mack tuna. Went and pulled a few big eye trevally out of a wash (all released) and got smoked by a bigger fish
Started heading back in and couldn't resist and few more casts at the tuna. Deckie managed to pull his biggest snapper out of a school on a lure (that I lent him!). Snap was 3.1 kg.
Back thru the bar about midday. Esky was full with some dinners to come, plenty of bait, and deckie was very happy with his lot too.
Pics to be posted tomorrow.
"The underlying spirit of angling is that the skill of the angler is pitted against the instinct and strength of the fish and the latter is entitled to an even chance for it's life."
(Quotation from the rules of the Tuna Club Avalon, Santa Catalina, U.S.A.)
Apathy is the enemy
Good to get a report off you Jeremy from down that way. The sweeties sound like there playing the game. Might try and get a arvo trip in down that way for a couple myself
planning the next onslaught 6.5m Profish
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Photos attached
"The underlying spirit of angling is that the skill of the angler is pitted against the instinct and strength of the fish and the latter is entitled to an even chance for it's life."
Apathy is the enemy
Yeah Jeremy that was me. You had a better day than we did, should've come with you instead of going up to mooloolaba we got smashed for about the first 2km out. So we turned around and trolled the inner gneerings and old womens island to no avail but i think we're all living in hope for the macks at the moment. Good to see you got on to some fish at least! Next time you go off caloundra PM me if you like, i would'nt mind havin a look at that bar before christmas, before i take my big girl across it (hopefully rebuilt before then) and check out some ground.
Thanks Troy.
Some Nice Fish Mate , We Did Ok Off Mooloolaba Aswell,conditions Were Ok For Us.
Regards Josh
Very nice fish there, did you have to go far off caloundra ?
regards chris
Last edited by yakka; 03-12-2007 at 10:48 AM. Reason: speling
Jeremy,
You just never know what you're going to pull out of a school of mack tuna but a 3kg snapper is a bit different. And on the CT slug. Nice size grassies too. Well done.
Jeff.
Quality is still delivering long after you have forgotten the price.
Apathy is the enemy
The sweetie look like they would of gave you a work out and the snaps aren't to shabby either, well done.
Ken