what are the best lures for catchings mangrove jacks going to hit some of the creeks near townsville tomorrow for a session of catching some jacks,any input would be great
Gold Bomber, but i've never caught one so meh. Take that as a grain of salt. It's just what i've read.
I'm pretty well convinced that Jacks are aggressive enough that they will hit just about any lure .... specially in hot conditions.
I like lures in the 10cm range & preferably with a snag free design ( Flatz rats & C Lures)..... Nagg
PS .... Poppers would have to be worth having!
i totoally agree with NAGG
he is 100 % correct
they will hit any lures basicly, but the 1 lure i have had trouble with is the bomber range, although good on barra are hard to get the jacks, sorry flattieassasian
surface lures work a treat early morning or late arvo
although i had 1 of my hottest bites ever on surface in the middle of the day
cheers mick
I've caught more jacks than I can remember on poppers through the middle of the day in the creeks north of Townsville.
Hi guys 2 of my favourites are the Nilsmaster Spearhead and the Tilsan Barra.. Cheers PBass
I've caught a decent jack on a live yabbie.... that says something...
Mick ... I'm with you on the bombers & I include B52s as well! .... Not that they wont take Jacks , because around open water ( rockbars) they will!
I just don't find them a user friendly lure to throw into snags (they snag up too easily , dive too slowly... so you need to cast well beyond the snag ,, if possible .... & finally the profile is not the best for accurate casting in the mangroves..... Anyhow , that's what I've found ... Cheers ,,, Nagg
flattie assasian, i dont know what you are talking about but my name isnt stuie, its mick
where did u get that idea anyhow
totoally agree their way to slow but sometimes thats a good thing and a bad thing
its really personal preference,
i strongly agree on fishing with confidence if u fish with confidence with one lure and stick with it u wil hit pay dirt
mick
Mick .... As you said confidence is everything! & for me that really is valid when it comes to lure casting at snags. There is nothing better than throwing a lure into the guts of a juicy snag & watching your lure bounce over the branches & then getting smashed as it starts to dive down ........... GETS MY BLOOD GOING!! .... Nagg
boys down this way have all been using nuc chooks in the 7inch and braining them.
yeah true
love the thrill of sight fishing, i was up the gold coast last year, casting poppers at the banks and brining them back, i saw this jack follow me for about 5 metres just trailing the lure, then i paused it 1 little twitch, BANG absoutly hammered it, was 1 of the best jack i have ever caught and measured 56 and was released, was strange cause jacks dont usually tail the lure, they usually just crunch it
ive had good luck on the red tilson barra. and the power bait 4 shrimp in new penny.
but i think jack will eat almost anything when they are hungry