Thread: Yamba help anyone?

Question Yamba help anyone?

New to this whole thing.

We are heading down to Yamba early part of next week with the boat. Anyone have any advice for fishing spots in the river or outside? The closer the better I guess, depending on conditions. GPS marks or anything will do if your happy to share, it will be kept in confidence. Any fish species will do.

Any advice on where to set the crab pots? More than happy with one or two sandies or muddies.

Cheers for any advice ,

Weber244

Re: Yamba help anyone?

Hi Weber244

I was down there a few months ago and fished in my boat in the river, near the bar crossing and outside and was successful with a few snapper (and bloody heaps of sargent bakers :-( Basically the locals say fishing the northern rock wall in the seaway produces good snapper... and I can say that's true cause I saw an old man catch and weigh a 6.5kg snapper off the rocks there. Outside, if you go south for about 15 - 20 minutes and fish about 2-3k off the rocks you should see some action. But the best thing I can recommend is speak to the man in the fishing tackle shop (which is also a servo) which is beside the Blue Dolphin Resort. He gave us some great advice.

Good luck :-)

Jamesy

Re: Yamba help anyone?

Hey mate, dont know if you're down already or not. Ill be wetting a line tuesday-saturday (days off) so if you want to either share petrol costs or catch up send me a pm.