Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Thread: Does a place like this exist? Your help pls

Re: Does a place like this exist? Your help pls

YES, YES, YES !!!!!

CHECK YOUR PM'S

THERE IS MORE TO THIS SPOT THAN I HAVE TOLD YOU, BE AMAZED

Thanks for sharing noboat.

Hey Webby did you go out to the 8 mile reef, out from Burrum Heads?
    That place can turn it on occasionally.

Quote Originally Posted by SeaHunt View Post
    Thanks for sharing noboat.

Hey Webby did you go out to the 8 mile reef, out from Burrum Heads?
    That place can turn it on occasionally.
    I did and all i could catch was about a dozen sharks. I should ahve went out at night but braved the crowds during the day. well anyway it doesn't take long to get to the eight mile, well worth the run.

good luck
    Not enough time in the day, to many spots to fish!

Thumbs up Re: Does a place like this exist? Your help pls

Quote Originally Posted by Scalem View Post
    My wife and I are debating where to head for our Christmas break, and it really is a difficult choice given our list of "likes" and "dislikes"

To ask for help choosing is a tall ask, but maybe somewhere will suit us acording to what we are planning.

• We will leave the camper trailer this time and take the boat instead, which means we have been looking at the $299.00 specials about the place for a reasonable tent
    • I hate overcrowding in camping areas, and prepared to drive either north or south of Brisbane for 3 hours. Curragee on the broadwater is nice, but crowds would be a killer!
    • Wife likes hot showers, but not at the expense of 5star accomodation
    • We'll have a fish, and it would be a bonus to get a feed occasionally.
    • Tow vehicle is a 4x4 so off track is an option.
    Are we too fussy, or do you think it will be impossible to find tranquility this close to Brisbane away from the crowds?

Any suggestions?

Mate

I feel that you may be disappointed in obtaining a quite camping area.
    Might I suggest that you try Rainbow Waters Caravan Park.
    1. Good Boat Ramp
    2. Jetty and pontoon
    3. Large area for camping able to locate oneself at the outer edge
    4. Hot showers and toilets avail
    5. Courtesy bus avail to local sports club

Ken

ballina is pretty damn good but it'll be as busy as anywhere at christmas time. i know it's pretty close to home but what about bongaree caravan park over on bribie. top bit of sheltered water for the boat if it blows up and easy access into the bay for those glassy mornings. if you've got a 4x4 then buy a permit and hit the surf beach for a swim. it's even close enough to logan for you to run up with the camper and set it all up and then scoot home down the gateway to get the boat so you've got both there.

Scalem , If Only I Saw This Thread About A Month Ago. I Have A Unit In Hervey Bay At Torquay That Was Availible. Its Directly Across From The Caravan Park On The Esplanade. If It Wasnt Booked I Cound Have Offered It To You.
    Best Off Luck With Your Xmas Holiday

Scalem,

I agree with Rodman Rainbow waters caravan park is good. Have stayed there over a couple of easters and it was excellent.

I will be staying at Ranbow Shores Resor, my missus got her way otherwise we Probably would have been staying at the caravan park.

I wont be towing the boat down now as i have my brother in laws to utilise.

Cheers Rod....

Decisions...Decisions

I think I'll head north for barra and jacks, and the wife and kids will go south to Balina where they can do some window shopping, grab a movie or two

Guys, there's so many great suggestions we really are that divided on making a decision, we still can't committ to one or the other. There's 3 very clear winners.

Thanks for your PM noboat, but it appears your secret spot is a little less secret than you thought but I appreciate the effort you went to to tell me more details

Last edited by Scalem; 29-11-2007 at 09:41 PM.

Hi Brian,
    bec and i just got back from the a trip of some coastal towns of NSW, and stayed in quite a few of them, my pick and hope this helps, Evans Head magic, Hat Head, Crescent Heads, Yamba and Camden Haven, all are family friendly and have a bit of fishing possiblities Seal Rocks is also great but a bit far. Port Macquarie is a great and quite central to quite a few spots if you can travel that far, but closest id pick Evans Head

mike
    Tangles KFC

Myora

Just north of Bundy on the Agnes road.
    It's out of the way but has everything you'll need.
    The bush camping area allows you to get away from the crowds.
    Not sure what it gets like at christmas though.
    Good fishing for small boats.
    Owen

The whole world's mad save thee & me (but I'm not too sure about thee)

Evans Head is out.... There's 350 on a waiting list, and they have extended into an area not normally part of the main park.

Has anyone tried Ballina Seabreeze? Looks nice but on rain and bore water apparently. The bore water is a worry as it can smell of sulfer in some places I have stayed, I wonder what it's like. It has a pool and a boat ramp opposite the park...

If you are not taking the camper mate - let me know. I have a tent you can use - 3 rooms with a "sunroom" heaps of room for the girls, you and the Mrs and all the gear.

Just tell me if you need it mate - think we won't be needing it with another bub due around when you are away. Its one of those Oztrail - the Hilton of tents. Have a gander here to see what it's like.
    http://www.oztrail.com.au/tents/dome..._homestead.php

Sommerset Dam is a good spot good fishing quiet camping
    Tight lines <*)(((((((((><

Mate, I've ceased looking. I've had one holiday there, and all future ones will be to the same place. It's clean, quiet, not *too* expensive, and you can get a pitch right on the water. Last time I went, I didn't even put the tinny in as we enjoyed the shore fishing that much. You can also tour the fishing hotspots locally, using this as your base. It has it's own ramp, and you can leave your tinny in the water in the sheltered "harbour" if you don't want to pull it out each trip. The perfect place to launch a "tweed offensive"

It's that crap a place, it's often booked up 12 months ahead

If it's booked up, there's another site next door that also looks good

http://www.haciendacv.com.au/

Even the deckie catches fish there

Last edited by kingtin; 07-12-2007 at 03:17 PM.

See my breeder fish photography here: https://kevindickinsonfineartphot.sm...opical-Fish-2/
    Quality digital copies free to Ausfishers............use as wallpaper or can be printed......size up to 20 x16. PM for details.

go to Eurimbula, as Tunaticer suggested, if for no other reason than DPI&Fs current discussion paper has it scheduled for a total fishing ban.

So you probably won't bother to go there again, if that proposal gets up