Thread: Monduran 20-24

Monduran 20-24

5am Hits first time driving to monduran by myself as my usual barra partner has just moved to burnett heads, bad traffic as usual see's a 6.5 hr trip to burnett crack a stubbie and grab one for the road time for geoff to drive arive 2pm tuesday set up camp then hit the water.No fish the first avo just went for a look as the water is half the % then last time we fished here!get back to camp and two old fellas camped next to us, aus fish member the sav, they invite us for a over for A beer,2am stumble back to tent for sleep !!8am wed hti the water 8HRS fishing for 0 fish 0 hits 0 signs of fish talk around the camp is all quiet, wed night we hide from savv these old buggers currupted us!!thursday after a chat to tropical trout we head right up the dam lost a few fish boat a couple of 70/ 80cm fish!!!yay beers all rond Friday our last day sees us bash up the back again lost 3 lures to fish !! nothing in the boat but who cares as it was great fun looseing lures to these tree hugging horses!! we head back to another area where we cought a lot of fish the year befor , a quick troll and geoff hooks a good fish 95cm on a gold viper!! gave it a rest for 15 mins the hit the troll again for another fish 95cm then once again but the hooks were netted and ripped the lure out of its mouth !! so over all not a heap of fish 5 boated heaps lost a few lures down , meet some great aus fish members a few good hang overs and a hell of a trip !!! Carn't wait to next time !!!
    Sorry about the New PM Savv my mate will be happy !!
    Cheers Craig

Re: Monduran 20-24

sounds like a good time was had. glad you got a few, nothing worse than the doughnut day but came good in the end eh.
    well done.

cheers Roo

Well done craig. Hangover is the best way to fish!! you have an excuse if you dont get them, and it seems to miraculously go away when you catch fish!

Good to hear you getting amongst them.

cheers steve

Thanks guys yeah steve we blaimed the first day of catching no fish to the hangover , its funny you read alot of reports of monduran and sounds well almost easy and its just not that easy as im sure you know!! trolling the basin is as easy as it gets but heading up there blind in the sticks will surley return nothing!! i only say this as a friend of mine has just gone there and im getting a call a day asking where to go .... funny because befor he left i offered him a beer and a mud map but he didn't think impoundment fishing was hard "like catching barra in a barth tub" i think it was well hahaha to him !!!

Sounds lke a good trip crab man. I am headed up there towards the end of next month for my first ever crack at impoundment barra. If you have any mud-maps or tips you would like to share, I'd be more than grateful.

* note to self - stay away from drunk old buggers.

Did you get any pics?

Good report Crabby, 5 fish is nuthin to sneeze at.
    Hafta laugh at "like catchin barra in a bath tub", if only it was that easy/convenient/cheap.
    Did we cross paths up the back on Fri??, I was fishing with a mate in a 4 mt hornet, 40 yammy on the back and kota on the front.
    Tell your cobber to persevere with the sticks mate, awesome fishin when he finds em, beats trolling the basin hands down I reckon.

brian

good stuff crab man, stick with the sticks for sure its a true blue feat just to get em clear of the snags. Heres for the next trip to all.

Nath

Quote Originally Posted by Tropicaltrout View Post
    good stuff crab man, stick with the sticks for sure its a true blue feat just to get em clear of the snags. Heres for the next trip to all.

Nath
    yep i agree cant wait for the next rip that is for sure worth the drive i lready gto my cabin for feb

br65 Hows it going yeah mate that was us near that steep bank two of us in the "MINNI TINNI" m8ee hot tip would be if you do a fish on a snag dont count it out !! on the last two trips , we have lost fish / lures to fish on a snag gone back hooked up again and again even just 1hr later next day for sure. My mate geoff last year lost a fish aganst a snag that took his lure aswell came back an hour later to find his lure flooting picked it up put it back on first cast another fish!!! these fish dont spook as easy as we all think this trip the first fish i got up the back came off a snag that we were resting aganst then banged aganst pushed off and started the old merc to pull us 15 ft out about 15 cast at it later my little f18 was flying high! the other advice would be dont give up its normaly when you have just about given up thinking they forgot to stock the dam this year when you hook up!!!
    Cheers Craig

Hey Crabman, hows it going. Didnt relise you guys went out again on the Friday. When you packed up and left I thought that was it. 5 on board is a good result. 5 better than us.
    Enjoyed the few beers and couldn't have asked for better neighbours. Hopefully cath you up there sometime. And we didn't corrupt you - we're not in you league, we don't drink heavy.
    Sav

Hey Sav yeah mate thats why we packed up early thank god other wise it would of been a bad trip (fish wise only) it was by far the best days fishing , we fished friday untill dark!!then made it to the blue water club burnett heads for beers by 7.30 pm Couldn't agree more best neighbours we have ever had on any trip any where!! and your not even a kiwi !!!!Haha yeah john and bruce next time we head up there ill drop you a pm it would be great if you guys could make it up there !! Good times Craig

Quote Originally Posted by m8eeee View Post
    Sounds lke a good trip crab man. I am headed up there towards the end of next month for my first ever crack at impoundment barra. If you have any mud-maps or tips you would like to share, I'd be more than grateful.

* note to self - stay away from drunk old buggers.

Did you get any pics?

We are not that Old and we were not that Drunk. The young guys (Crabman and Princess) wanted to play. Last seen heading for the Dam Wall for last drinks.

Good Luck! We are also returning next month.
    Last edited by Mayney; 30-11-2007 at 06:52 PM. Reason: Spelling

Haha true mate i was waiting for you to say your not that old !! exprence is what i would say you guys hit the sack we thought that it was a good idea to check the dam wall with a couple of six packs and we seen who pulled up better the next day !! princess is still trying to recover!!! Looking forward to hearing the report next month give me a pm if you want to know where we got fish last trip on the last day mate even though John was thinking of just hiring the guied which is a good idea !!
    Cheers Craig