Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst 12345

Thread: Election Fallout ~ Have Your Say

Re: Election Fallout ~ Have Your Say

on a side note, it was mentioned in a closed thread that " Labour got the majority of the votes and won the election".

Truth in facts.

There are about 13,000,000 eligible voters in Australia.

11,354,548 turned up at the polls and voted on Saturday.

Labour collected 4,778,391 of those votes, thus leaving the majority 6,576,157 votes.

Therefore I believe labour did not get the ' majority ' of votes to win the election. It just semantics and that's the way the 2 party prefered system works.

Further, the informal vote came in at 436,214.

If one wants to do the Coalition Vs Labour count, there was about 200,000 votes more for Labour. The election, in this instance and using these figures was close, very close.

I have been monitoring this thread, waiting for input from TFP as Derek has suggested, but so far NOTHING, the silence is totally deafening!

Whilst noone especially Mod5 wants to see this thread degenerate into a bun fight and closed, it would still be beneficial if TFP or even Shane could present their side of the story.

I would like to see KC's "factual" account answered, it doesnt have to be in big red letters, small black ones will do .

Does Shane and Co. have a copy of KC's Washup doc? I requested one and with Kc's permission I will post a copy so that Shane and Co do not have to have beg Kc for a copy.

So, so far I have one side of the story, it seems pretty damning, but not as much as the silence from the "other side". I was very dissapointed at the election result and am trying to keep this nice so that the thread doesnt get shut down. But I must ask, what was it all for? Was the fishing vote sold out just to help some lame duck politician? (who if I read very carefully between the lines was the sole beneficiary and therefore the puppetmaster?)

It begs the ole redhead question: Please explain?

Hunta

Well, what an interesting read. I always thought there was a conspiracy theory behind it.

Can't wait to hear the reply.

In the meantime, better get onto Lucky phil for a copy of the next "Battle plan"

Just a quick point to corroberate KC's mention of the 6% at manned booths , this is consistent with booths in our local area which range from 2% unmanned to 13% when you have enegetic and known booth workers, but the average is probably 8%, by energetic I don't mean pushy cos thats a turnoff but informative and friendly with a few smart cracks here and there.
    For anyone hesitating at booth work don't, because if you approach it in the right way you will have a ball and make heaps of new contacts.
    For those who think the Fishing/lifestyle vote and hopeful representation is a positive thing it is far more productive to man a booth than sit on here talking about it and for those who did man a booth, great stuff.

Been flat with other stuff for a couple of days, Thanks for keeping this topic open.

Quote Originally Posted by Hunta View Post
    I have been monitoring this thread, waiting for input from TFP as Derek has suggested, but so far NOTHING, the silence is totally deafening!

Several months ago before the QLD breakaway was finalised, Bob Smith used to post here.

That was until he was given too many public questions regarding his constitution, executive make up, previous minutes of meetings etc, etc, that he was unable/unwilling to answer.

After he continued to ignore these requests I jumped on the phone & rung him. After giving him info on who I was, both as a TFPQ member, my real name & my user name on here we then had a very uninspiring conversation about the direction of TFP.

This was when I formulated the personal opinion that kc was on the right track & the "Bob Smith, friends and family fishing party" were going down a path to no where.

When I reminded him about leaving so many unanswered questions here on ausfish and that he is looking like he is lacking credibility, his reply was along the lines of, yes he'd seen them but it is probably better that he leave QLD for the QLD'ers. In a way I respected that.

I have not noticed him posting back on here since. Though I have no doubt he wanders in for a look around, as he mentioned in our phone conversation.

I think the ultimate irony was after Bobs comments about leaving QLD for the Qld'ers, he then started the complaining campaign to the AEC.

Then we saw Bob and his daughter standing as the QLD Senate candidates for TFP.

The contact details are not secret, they're on his contact page.

http://www.thefishingparty.info/wst_page3.html

I've emailed a link to them just in case they missed this thread.

So come on Bob, Shane, clear the air.
    Last edited by Dicko; 30-11-2007 at 03:32 PM.

Hmmm..... very quiet in here!!

Is this TFP's version of "laying low" until it all dies down?? You'd swear they just robbed a bank and went into hiding.

C'mon Shane (or Bob) get out the red texta, we want to know where you sit in all this or do we have to wait until the court transcripts come out?

Like KC said, now that the puppetmaster has had his way, I dont know if this thing has the legs to get into a court room, I sure hope it does because we need some closure on the whole debacle and we need to know whether IF AFLP or any other lifestyle type party rises from the ashes, whether TFP are going to play the spoiler role again.

Until we know that, I'm afraid that there may not be any future for any lifestyle based party because Bob can always derail any progress.

Adam

Quote Originally Posted by Dicko View Post
    "Bob Smith, friends and family fishing party"

Dicko that's a crackup

Quote Originally Posted by Adamy View Post
    Hmmm..... very quiet in here!!

Is this TFP's version of "laying low" until it all dies down?? You'd swear they just robbed a bank and went into hiding.

C'mon Shane (or Bob) get out the red texta, we want to know where you sit in all this or do we have to wait until the court transcripts come out?

Like KC said, now that the puppetmaster has had his way, I dont know if this thing has the legs to get into a court room, I sure hope it does because we need some closure on the whole debacle and we need to know whether IF AFLP or any other lifestyle type party rises from the ashes, whether TFP are going to play the spoiler role again.

Until we know that, I'm afraid that there may not be any future for any lifestyle based party because Bob can always derail any progress.

Adam
    who really cares where they are Adam...the rock will move sometime and all might be revealed.
    I wonder if TFP has 500 members any more.

Read your doc. Everyone knows Shane isn't the sharpest tool in the shed. However KC I think you underestimate how malignant Bob is.

More to follow as it is back for a directions hearing on 13th. Chance to start returning fire.

I will keep active on this thread only in the news section.

KC

I am totally puzzled!!!!
    Maybe some one can tell me why there is so much namecalling and so many people playing the blame game.
    Get over it.
    The election was over 2 weeks ago.
    Why can't all these people with all the big ideas, stop sitting on their hands, and pool all the ideas, and do something about what is going on, so maybe we all may have a place still to fish.
    Lets all work together to combat this closure idea.
    TEAMWORK CAN MAKE THE DREAM WORK!!!!!
    Regardless of which party you support.
    This is just the way I see it.

Graham.

Problem is whynott there are certain people that dont want the dream to work.. You dont hear Bob spruking on here anymore for one thing.

Re: Mod5 ??

Quote Originally Posted by revs57 View Post
    I hate to say this and appear niave' but why all this talk about public blood letting?

I'd reckon a much better way is to get all the stake holders together, away from a public internet forum where people type stuff but there is no way to get the inflections or real intent and hammer things out behind closed doors toward a resolution. Even get the services of an experienced mediator/chair person for the event.

I've gotta agree with the mods and don't mean to appear a brown nose, but blokes...fair dinkum...we are crazy engaging emotively charged discussion in a public forum like this where anyone can see how much disarray there is. It serves no good at all.

Is it any wonder no one took the fishing lobby seriously enough as a lobby/advocacy group to elect a senator from either the AFLP ot TFP when our public face is so smeared among each other!

There is a better way

Looking forward to your answer to our probs Rhys????????