Thread: Monduran 22nd > 24th November

Monduran 22nd > 24th November

Got on the road at 4pm in Kingaroy and off we went, stopped in for petrol and a feed getting ready for the night troll ahead of us. When we were filling the boat fuel we decideed to top up the ute tank too only to find that my mates old boys ute keys he grabbed didn't have the fuel cap key , ahh oh!

Oh well not wanting to wreck the nights fishing we headed up anyway and got on the water at about 8pm, trolled the main basin up to the start of the trees backwards and forwards, then at about 10:15pm Nate was on, after a short while of just thinking it was a catfish the monster showed its face, it finally jumped and showed us just how big it was, after a few laps around the boat following the big old girl nate finally had her worn out, so after borrowing a mates landing net that was trolling beside us we landed her, a beautiful 124cm of glistening barra, with a brown and white predetek viper hanging out its mouth! After a quick measure and pleanty of photo's we lowered her back in the water and afetr a little swim she bit down hard on Nate's hand and she was off. This was by far the largest barra that any of us had landed and Nate was over the moon.

We ended up getting of the water by about 2am friday morning, and after a little feed and a quick hour and half of shut eye we were back on it and we travelled up to B arm, had a few follow ups on gold reidy's B52. Saw a few other barra landed around us but didn't have any luck ourselves. We made it back to the main basin for a arvo feed before starting the troll again, hooked one barra in the shallows on the right of the main basin before the point on your way up the dam, but the hooks didn't stay imbedded and flew free.

Got off the water by 1am and hit the swag, got a little wet during the night from the edge of a passing storm. Then we hit the road at 7am in the moring for the trip home to Kinga's for a mates 21st that night.

Ended up removing the whole fuel hose from the tanjk and puuting the fuel in that way! wasn't too much of a hassle.

All up had a brilliant time even though we didn't catch many, As i saw on a sticker one day "The WORST day fishing is better then the BEST day working!" and i couldn't agree more!

Here's some of the photo's....

Re: Monduran 22nd > 24th November

Photo's...........

the smile says it all, mate great fish. I'm heading up that way from Sydney just after the new year. All these reports are killing me, i can't wait to get up there!

holy s...t guys were exactly is this place as with all these great fish getting caught i might have to do a january trip, cheers bdowdy...EXCELLENT FISH CONGRATS. CHEERS BDOWDY...brett

Well done top fish there are some real horses in there for sure.

Nath

Great work Herby13,

I hope they're still on when I head up there in January!!

124cm
    thats a fair bit of fish eh!
    well done. the viper on the troll eh! I've got a gold one of those and can't seem to get it to work!!!! it just sort of hops rather that shimmy?Have to try it out again next trip.
    Cheers Roo.

Herby,

what a fish!!! Great work mate.

steve