Thread: Fishing Monduran with Eric

Re: Fishing Monduran with Eric

Good morning Paul (Big Ren)

It was good to see you up there on Saturday, especially after you delivered that pack of Nuclear Chicken.

I Just love my plastics. There is no reason why you can't catch Barramundi on Soft Plastics but I just wanted to prove to myself that you could do it on an unweighted 7 inch plastic.

Not only once but I caught two great Barra and lots and lots of catfish thanks to you.

Frank OO

Frank,
    I'm heading up to awoonga for four days then a couple of days at monduran just after the new year just trying to sort out the gear, where you using bait casting gear on the unweighted plastics or where you using spinning gear

Frank,

Just got back from an exausting 4 days of ABT comp at awwonga to read all these posts about the fish being hammered at Monduran!!

good fish mate. Good to meet you too. Glad to see you got some good fish. Very encouraging to hear about getting them on plastics. You reckoned you would get them and you did!!! I have always thought plastic would work at monduran, its just a matter of time before someone cracks the pattern with them, especially now there is abundant weed. I think the ABT Barra tour fellas will use alot of plastics with success.

good to catch up with Yourself, Eric, Deb and the birthday girl Sky. Pity she couldn't get a barra for her birthday...good excuse for next years birthday.

cheers steve.
    Last edited by Steve B; 28-11-2007 at 11:36 AM.

Steve B,

I'm new to this Ausfish thing. I remember meeting you at Awoonga earlier this year (may have been late last year). You were staying in the bunk house next door to us. You were there with a mate from Toowoomba. You were waiting for your new boat.

Anyway, just curious as to how you went at Awoonga on the week end in the ABT. Heard it was a hard slog. Haven't been up there for a little while so I was wondering how it was fishing. Has the water temp up there dropped like Monduran???

Might catch up with you one of these days at Monduran. I was up there on Monday (just gone) for the day but couldn't raise a fish. Managed a 102 the Friday before on a quick couple of hour trip up from Bundy.

Bundy Bob

Hey Bob,

Yeah I remember!! I still see your big mate Paul on too many occassions around the place!! He keeps me informed what your up to. He did it tough at the ABT. no fish for 4 days. Ask him about last night. he has a good/bads story which I cant say here!!

I had a shocker at the all night event. had electric motor problems and an anchor which wouldnt hold until the wind died down. All this with NO prefish for 6 months made it tough.

The second comp we nutted out a bite pattern and got 2 fish in the first session and dropped another 4 on plastics. Once we worked out how to keep them hooked it was OK.

Second session we got 5 fish on plastics and dropped 2 in the same areaas the previous day. We worked submerged weed beds with plastics up the guts of of the dam. The fish were holding around a bit of a weed ledge which rose up from 14ft to 8 ft deep. There was one other boat doing the same thing, he came top 5 or so and his partner won the comp. We came 8th in the team event and I got 12th overall.

The Awoonga locals did well. Jas Wilhelm (matix) came 2nd or third I think. He whacked a fair few fish, as did Trevor (awoonga) and Scott (Vet) I think they were in the top 15.

It was amazing. If you took the 40 odd ABT boats off the water, there would have been about 10 other boats at awoonga on the weekend and less on Monday and tuesday. There was a fair amount of fish caught.....people say awoonga is shut down....I disagree. You just need to change your tactics and try new things...or get advice from the locals as we did. Changing tactics to suit the conditions. My plan on the first comp failed dismally because I stuck to methods and areas where I caught fish last year and the year before socially.

This is also applicable to social fishing too. I think thats where people (myself included) come unstuck when it comes to this game!!

All in all we had a good weekend and I was happy with my result considering I hadnt fished there for ages. looking forward to Monduran now.

Sorry for hijacking the thread. just a little info on awoonga for anyone thinking of going there........mabey to give poor old monduran a break!!!

cheers steve.
    Last edited by Steve B; 28-11-2007 at 09:38 PM.

Hi Wilco,

I was using a Saltiga 4500 Spin outfit.

Frank OO

####ing hell nice fish

Hi Steve B,

Although you may not have done real well at the ABT you did catch a lot of fish. It was good to meet you and learn some of your secrets and I look forward to catching up with you againg soon.

Thank you also for sorting out our accommodation

Frank OO

I think I know the tinny in the background. I reckon Herby13 would have been aboard! Just a guess!

Great fishing mate! onya!
    cheers barra

yer ripper fish there mate, cant wait till i go up there some day!

cam
    Australian Native Fish Vids
    Specialize in Terapontida's, Perches, Cods, Gobies & Gudgeons

Good report/ pics .... & really nice to hear of your invite by Eric .... Its always good to have someone in the know show you the ropes , specially in a place like Monduran! ...... Nagg

Great post and nice fish. I have an Egrell 6-8kg casting rod and love it ,caught a 35lb GT on it in sep and have a lot of respect for it. Are they still available ?
    wamjam