Great to see you back T
I was wondering if you had given the site the flick altogether..
Keep up the fishing mate and the reports.
NICE snaps too....
Hi All
Well, it’s been a while since I’ve posted due to a number of factors – in saying that though, I haven’t had much to report! Unfortunately, the past 12 months has required attending the office by 7.30am every morning, which meant that the flexibility of fishing in my ‘prime times’ was nearly non-existent . Yes, I know, a real tragedy having to actually work, or appear at work anyway! Hence, when I have been able to get out over the past 6 months, it’s been to get a ‘fix’ , not a fish, as the timing of the trips has been less than ideal (moons not aligned, too bright, not enough, blah blah blah). The most recent couple of trips have also been cut short to a number of factors including but not limited to, equipment/weather/deckie failure (I didn’t know ‘GREAT WHITE’ sharks regurgitated pikelets?! ). I did manage one pretty good short session where 3 drifts produced 3 pinkies between 45 & 60cm and a deadest ‘smoker’!
Nonetheless, when I have been able to sneak out, I’ve used the time wisely to iron out problems, try different things, research new ground and work out in general what needed acquiring/changing to improve! This has been a costly exercise I might add as the past month has seen me spend over $7000 on the boat trying to improve! In addition to the hand held GPS, I’ve added a new Digital Colour Sounder and a new 40hp Merc. The funny thing is I spent 3 times the amount of time researching a new sounder than I did a new motor but the motor cost more than 6 times the cost of the sounder! I figured the motor was just to get me there but the sounder, well that’s another story! Damn, I even upgraded the tow vehicle from an 82 Hilux Ute to a 04 model (ahhh, love that power steering, power windows, air con, a radio that works… – this is heaven!!)!
The other important element was drawing on the knowledge of some very experienced fisho’s! One in particular has been awesome and has assisted me with hints, knowledge & tips to no end – and this is a man who knows his sh%t (and is an all round good guy)! Now, I don’t want to open a can of worms but this person was a bloke I met through AF (let’s call him Mr Pinkie)! The thing that has struck me over the past 6 months is the lack of ‘experience’ that has gone missing from the ‘Reports’ section, and this is a real tragedy! I still talk to a few however others are not as fortunate and have lost the ability to draw on some of this valuable experience and knowledge because of the ‘huggers’ & ‘knockers’! Enough said!
So, with a changing in business commitments (again), I’m now free to re-flex my working hours and start fishing ‘prime time’ again ! With new sounder and motor in tow, and a renewed enthusiasm to get back out there, the original plan was that TINN and I would head out this morning in search of a few fins! TINN however pulled a heartlidge early in the week and his spot was belatedly filled by ‘Mr Pinkie’! We met at Ramp X on the eastern coastline of Brissie this morning at 3.30am and were greeted with awesome conditions. The plan was to fish a few known water columns in the bay with a variety of FAD’s (Fish Attraction Devices). The 1st column yielded very little but can I tell how impressed I am with my new digi sounder? Couldn’t believe my eyes as all I was used to seeing was a thick black line at the bottom of the screen and a number on my old sounder! Gee, the colour was enough to give me an orgasm (I’m easily pleased!)!
The call was made to move to the 2nd of our known water columns. The 1st few drifts looked promising when finally ZZZZZZZ as my line peels off and the fish heads out towards the front of the boat before ‘ping’, spat hook! Simultaneously, ‘Mr Pinkie’ gives a huge WHOA as he curses while retrieving only to find he’d been cleanly sliced off! Action! Reset and minutes into it, ‘Mr Pinkie’ emits another WHOAAAAAAAAAAA as his line ZZZZZZZZZZings off around the boat! After a mini battle, a beaut fat little pinkie hits the deck at a smidgen over 71cm! It was all in the netting I might add…
That was about the end of the bragging action for this column of water before ‘Mr Pinkie’ suggested we head to a secret column of water located somewhere near Spot X (& X & X & X…). We arrived and started working the digi to adjust the gain etc… did I mention how wrapped I am with this? Anyway, more FAD’s were deployed and the action slowish when ‘Mr Pinkie’ screamed another WHOAAAAAAAAAAA as this one really ZZZZZZZZZZZed away from us! Gee ‘T Bone’ he says ‘we’ll have to follow this one!’ as I began casually getting lines in to allow a chase (well, he was outfishing the Skip in a big way – why would I rush?). ZZZZZZZZ ‘Gee T, I really need ya know!’! Yeah yeah yeah I’m getting there as I kicked the plonk and we gave chase. Not long and ‘Mr Pinkie’ starts making headway before finally dragging it to the top of the water column before another fine netting performance from yours truly sees another little pinkie slapping on the deck at just over 74cm! Gee these pinkies were BIG FAT FISH too!
A few hits & misses and we moved around a bit more looking for bait schools to no avail! We did manage to add a few pre-schoolers to the high school seniors but that was about it in the WHOAAAA stakes! The morning was absolutely magic but the one thing that stuck out this morning was the lack of pelagic action on the surface! The only exciting piece of action was a Long Tom approx 3 foot in length hightailing across the water on the way back in – what a spectacular sight as he skimmed, sailed and tailed above the water for a good 50 metres – magic to watch!
Home and showered by 12.30pm and headed off to the office for a few hours rather content with the mornings effort! The only thing that would have made it better would have been the Skip getting on to one of those little fat pinkies but it really was awesome just to be in the company of someone as elite as ‘Mr Pinkie’ – thanks mate and thoroughly enjoyed having you onboard ! Motor and sounder performed superbly and now I have the means to explore far & wide and hopefully keep improving as a fisherman with confidence in my equipment…
Take Care T
Great to see you back T
I was wondering if you had given the site the flick altogether..
Keep up the fishing mate and the reports.
NICE snaps too....
HAHAHA nice report there T!!!!! Some nice fish caught there too !!!
P.S. i think i can recognise some of those spots you were at by the pink background!!!!
Last edited by ALB78; 23-11-2007 at 08:12 PM.
Hey T1 & ALB78 nice to meet you there...
They're top bay snappers and must be worth investment to upgrade your boat...
Nice background...
Good to see the big fellas still around and a great pair at that. Well done.
good work T1. But wheres the new sounder shots. Couple of nice fish there mate.
Foggy
Awesome stuff mate. Thanks for the call the other day, definately catch up soon!!
Peace out.
hi t
was begin to wonder if you had given up fishin
and found something better to fill your time
pete
Thanks for your post T, which is reminiscent of many posts that have not graced AF lately
I'm glad Silent knew who you were referring to, and named Mr Pinky, or many a member would have been thinking it was them Glad we got that sorted!!
Nice fish, and well done!!
Sounds like it was a great session with great weather and some nice snaps to boot. Also sounds like the new sounder is working well for you.
Cheers Chris
Mr T is back
Look forward to more reports now that you have everything sorted
nice snapps T well done.
Great report Charleville, i mean t1. Some big guys there thats for sure, when you have spent the money you have recently its sure nice to be rewarded!!
Mickstar
well done guys...
great report... thanks for sharing
Dont Blame me....... I voted for Johnny!GO THE BORG!