Bay King

Thread: Bay King

Bay King

Chris (Bayfisher) and myself left the Boat Passage at around 5.30am this morning after a quick M&G with Chief. We headed out into the central Bay in search of pelagics armed with a back up plan of livebaiting for a Cobe.

The Bay was flat and the weather just kept getting better but no sign of Tuna or Macs . On the way out we found my GPS had died and we had to resort to a handheld with no points in it

Plan B was looking shakey as we could not find livies on our usual haunts but we persevered and scratched together a few baits including a 25cm Bream . We burleyed for a while but the tide picked up so we decided to chuck the Bream on the downrigger and take it for a swim along the dropoff. First run and Chris sees the rod buckle down and spring up again then all hell breaks loose as a good fish runs sideways under the boat. I grab the rod to clear the line while Chris secures the DR then refuses to take the rod back even though it's his(thanks mate). I get stuck into what I am pretty sure is a nice Cobia . Much to our suprise up pops a very reasonable Yellow Tail Kingfish. Chris does a professional job gaffing and a good fish hits the deck

We move south again in search of livies. We find a few and I turn one into a couple of KG's of Cod and pick up a Squire .

A great day out and a nice feed as well. Chris has already cooked a bit of his half of the Kingy and it came up a treat .

Chris will add some pics of the fish

Re: Bay King

He winds my fish in for me and he still thanks me??

Attachment 16299

Attachment 16300

Good on ya mate, come on Chris where's the pics or is he still chowing down on that kingie

Great work guys! What a top fish! Certainly was a cracker of a day on the bay wasn't it!

Take Care T
    home is where the loan is...
    Helping people get the RIGHT Home Loan

That's nice Kingie well done!

Ausfish Platinum Member plaztix's Avatar

Nice fish boys. Gotta be happy with that.

Conditions look great..

Nice fish Neil or Chris, whoever is going to claim it. Maybe 50/50 is the go

Foggy

That is a nice king..
    Well done.

Ausfish Platinum Member dogsbody's Avatar

Gday Neil, Those DR's seem to be a good investment hey. Do you troll with or against the current?

Avast ye matey!

Ausfish Platinum Member Aquarius's Avatar

Nice yellowtail king guys.
    Bet it stretched those arms Neil.
    Do they taste better than the black king?
    Cheers Brent

You guys are confirming what I have suspected for a while. I felt sure I got smoked a couple of times by much bigger quarry than I was prepared for on a recent trip, more than likely kingies I was told by my friendly tacklestore advisor. I definitely need to upgrade from 15lb to land one of these me thinks Good work!!

After you get use to using them neil, you'll find it's one of best pieces of fishing equipment you ever brought.
    Use to get Kingies like that many moons ago, before they disappeared for quiet some years, hopefully your evidence might mean there coming back to some of their favourite haunts.
    Must be one of the softefts flesh on any fish, cannot get use to the taste.

Quote Originally Posted by dogsbody View Post
    Gday Neil, Those DR's seem to be a good investment hey. Do you troll with or against the current?

We were running against the current but only very very slowly. The current was running quiet hard as it does along moreton so we would have been trolling far too quickly the other way.

Cheers Chris

Quote Originally Posted by Aquarius View Post
    Nice yellowtail king guys.
    Bet it stretched those arms Neil.
    Do they taste better than the black king?
    Cheers Brent
    Its been a while since i have eaten kings or cobes for that matter but some kings can have mushy flesh. So i quickly tossed a little bit on the pan with a little olive oil to see what it was like and it came up a treat, definitely not mushy in fact fairly firm and tasty.

Cheers Chris
    Last edited by bayfisher; 24-11-2007 at 04:03 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by webby View Post
    After you get use to using them neil, you'll find it's one of best pieces of fishing equipment you ever brought.
    Use to get Kingies like that many moons ago, before they disappeared for quiet some years, hopefully your evidence might mean there coming back to some of their favourite haunts.
    Must be one of the softefts flesh on any fish, cannot get use to the taste.
    I reckon the DR will be worth its weight in gold. It opens up a lot of options when the tide is running hard.

I remember good YT Kings around the beacons at times decades ago. Quick smash and grab then back to the beacon

I hear they can have a parasite that releases an enzyme when heated that breaks down the flesh. Some have it and others don't. I will try some tonight (got the Mother in law over for tea). I will test it on her butI will have a nice bit of Cod ready for the rest of us
    Last edited by Horse; 24-11-2007 at 05:32 PM.