Thread: glenlyon cod and yellas

glenlyon cod and yellas

well went to glenlyon for 4 hours today since theres been some reports by PIEGUTS n SWFISHER saying the cod are on,went straight up to the caves as its known and started casting spinnerbaits to the trees, second tree i counted down to 5 and started retrieving when bang i was on and up came a nice little cod ( first in new tinny) was stoked. then on next cast to bank i got atouch and then im on again this time a nice yella. tryed a troll for the next few hours for nothing so came home BUT HAPPY. CHEERS BDOWDY..BRETT[ATTACH]sum[/ATTACH]

Attachment 16210

Attachment 16211

Attachment 16212

Re: glenlyon cod and yellas

Good fishing mate, beautiful healthy fish, but I had to turn my monitor upside down to see them...next time I'll just stand on my head

yeh sorry i was trying to get the sun in the right spot to take photos,thanks lgm.lol.lol.lol cheers bdowdy

good session Brett,

Cod / Yellas are my two favourite fish,
    beautiful colours in glenlyon fish by your pics mate.

keep em coming

thanks yellahunter some of the yellas in glenlyon are really dark compared to this fish, but your right they are great fish the cod and yellowbelly.cheers bdowdy..brett

About time you christened the boat Brett, they don't come easy when you really want to catch one, nice fish.

rossco

yer nice fish there buddy.especially that cod they r such cool fish!.

cam
    Australian Native Fish Vids
    Specialize in Terapontida's, Perches, Cods, Gobies & Gudgeons

Yep good stuff mate.Would have been heaps of fun.Nice cod and yella there. Ben

Well done,looks and sounds like you had a great time. I am a Cod virgin. Any hints on targeting them? I notice you got the yellow on the spinnerbait. Was this your lure of choice for the Cod also?

hey rossco its been a long time coming to get one in the boat and still undersize ,the cod was also caught on the same spinnerbait as shown in the yella photo, probably around 20 feet away from each other. RC@HINZE with cod fishing its a matter of if there hungry they will eat anything, look for snags like logs or trees even rocks or rock faces and retrieve nice and slow there a lazy fish and like abig wobble in a lure or in the spinnerbait situation flash and vibration. theres so much info its just trial and error,hope this helps. i dont know but the tree i caught the cod under had at least 4 shag nests in it and they had eggs in them,from what ive heard and seen cod have taken eggs and young birds even ducks so maybe he was waiting for a easy feed. they reckon the sooty grunter do this in dams. LOOK FOR THE BIRDS AND YOU FIND FISH both in fresh and salt i say. cheers bdowdy...brett

Yeah nice fish,
    I think there is definately some truth in your bird theory. When I was there last week we went all the way up the back to where the water runs in and it is impossible to go any further in the boat and there would have been 10 pelicans and 30 other birds, we actually got out and walk passed the cascading water to throw some lures. We didn't land anything but got 3-4 good hits. There was a lot of half eaten spangles up there as well.

probably be a good spot late evening into the night now the full moon is coming PIEGUTS sounds like aeasy feeding spot for the fish,i havnt been right up the back of the dam for years. thinking of heading back downwhen the moon reaches full for a night fish. when the big boys come out to play. cheers bdowdy..brett

Nice fish Brett. A great way to christen the new tinnie!

Well done.

thanks pete but wanted something in a bigger model ( codzilla) would be nice there been getting some in the 30 to 50 pound range lately.had atough time getting a fish into the new tinny for a while but now there starting to come. cheers bdowdy..brett

Great fish Brett, I wish I could just go for 4 hours, just a bit far for that. I thought I'd whack up a photo of my maiden cod from the weekend. Thanks Kevin