Thread: Repainting a Fibreglass Cheapie

Repainting a Fibreglass Cheapie

G-Day blokes.... After patching and filling all chips,scatch's n things on the 12 footer fibreglass cheapie I scored in the trading post, im now ready to paint it up. The boat is no beauty and will only ever hit the water maybe once or twice a month at best and will only be used for river / estuary work, the budget is stretched to the limit(never really had a budget to begin with,,,,in fact never even told the mrs I was gonna buy it) so if there is any CHEAP alternative to a Quick brush/roller paint job one would gladly listen to any advice on hand....Please...looking to spend about $100 on the whole paint job if poss,,,, Boat cost $500,,, motor service $200, bits so far,glass,resin etc,,$100.
    the boat came with rego on the trailer + boat so im rapt so far,,,,, but need help with the paint bit as in brands and type???

Bretty

Re: Repainting a Fibreglass Cheapie

I'd look at a cheaper end industrial paint, preferrably epoxy and would prefer to beg/borrow/steal spray gear rather than roll. Just remember to give the whole gelcoat a good rough up(360-400 grit on a 1/3 sheet sander ) before applying anything and to use a good wax/grease remover.

hehe, welcome to B. O. A. T. club

I think international stuff is good if brushing but probably more than the budget.

there are some cheaper alternatives at the chandelry, cant remember brand.

Yeah blokes the $100 budget is really only a guide...if I have to i'll go more its just that the boat isnt worth enough to spend $200-$300 on a really good paint, besides the paint wont catch more fish...right??? but Gar..where is the chandelry???

Thanks guys for the speedy replie's..you blokes are great!!! and yeah ive already given th original gel cot a rub up.

Bretty

oh, local boat shop. Whitworths, that type of thing.

You haven't got access to spray gear have you?? As a coat of spray enamel will last awhile.
    I got a litre the other day for the ride-on for waaaay less then $20
    I intend on living for-ever....so far so good

Yeah finga your on the money so far....I can get a mates compressor that he got from super cheap auto...its one of those 2.5hp models... I seen in the latest junk mail of thiers that the gravity fed spray gun is about $60, would the 2.5hp be enough...remembering it dosnt have to be a world class job , just dress it up so the rego # on the side looks good from a distance really!! will still have to undercoat though aye???

Bretty

mate - why not hire the gun from bunnings?
    i did it for my fence, and if you have your own compressor then you're laughing, as it will cost you f'all.

Quote Originally Posted by Blaster Bretty View Post
    Yeah finga your on the money so far....I can get a mates compressor that he got from super cheap auto...its one of those 2.5hp models... I seen in the latest junk mail of thiers that the gravity fed spray gun is about $60, would the 2.5hp be enough...remembering it dosnt have to be a world class job , just dress it up so the rego # on the side looks good from a distance really!! will still have to undercoat though aye???

Bretty
    It's more to do with the tank size of the compressor. Spray painting uses a lot of air fast. Those small compressors wont be able to supply the continuous air flow needed for spray painting. I mean, they will do the job, but you wont be able to be squeezing the trigegr continuously all the way through. More like short bursts, then wait for the compressor to catch up.

What about one of those electric spray guns. They would probably work ok for a quick paint job??

I used one of those 2-3hp jobies from a mate up the road. If you get the right gun to match - i.e. low pressure - there is no problem. My boat is a 18' half cab and I epoxy undercoated and 2-pack top coat for three layers. Came up a beaut and the paint is hard as. I used pricey paint though - Altex - bought from their store in the Coomera Marine precinct.

Yeah chris.... what was the name of the store in the marine precinct..its just down the road that area and I may just check them out... time is not an issue so if the compressor runs low i'd hang on a tick... after all its only a 3.7mtr hull,, also do you use 2 coats of undercote or is 1 enough.

Bretty

Altex coatings is the mob, ask for Nick Fletcher and tell him Chris Ryan sent you. They are opposite quintrex

I used 2 coats mate - better to have a hard base.

The guru here in Townsville (at the yacht club) used Jotun Penguard HP undercoat and Jotun Imperite 300 topcoat on my 5m glass boat and it came up fantastic. Didn't cost much. Helps when the painter has many years experience to get a good result.

Bretty,

Go to a normal paint supplier and get some 2K. If you paint it white it will cost you under $150 for a 7ltr kit (4ltrs paint, 2ltrs hardener and 1ltr thinner). You can avoid undercoat if you want to go cheap. Just buy a spray can of primer and prime any areas where you went through gelcoat to the bare fibreglass.

A spray finish with 2K will come up great and last for years looking great. Need a good mask though for 2K although if you were painting outdoors you could get away without one. Better to wear one though.

Ok bloke's...ive decided to settle on 2pac,,,,, mainly because of its hardness,strength and in the end the finish comes up great, after many head scratches I thought to try and go too cheap may see me fishing in the river and then seeing paint peeling off and floating away, After all the hoo haa and driving around I managed to pick up all my supplies for a tad under $200,,, hope all goes well.... now all I need is the rain to go away????? hang on we need the rain!!! oh you get that.
    Wish me luck!!

Bretty