Thread: 2 threadies in 2 sessions!!!

2 threadies in 2 sessions!!!

gday all,
    session 1
    well the mid reaches of the river are finally starting to fire up again and about time too. went for a fish down at our spot on saturday and we netted heaps of live bait and 3 bream about 28 cm. We tossed a bream out on a shark rig hoping for a run but we were pesimistic. not long after it got in the water something was fiddling with it, we let the baitrunner slowly tick over and after a minute or so it stopped and it didnt hook-up. we found the bream in and it was missing its head and half its body!! 2 hooks and it couldnt get caught in one!!

later on a live prawn gets hammered and after a short fight on 50lb mono (sharking) and in comes a lively 60cm salmon (2kg)!!! we were stoked as it was our first.

Session 2
    after the hype from the last session we were keen for another thready but we had no cast net. we managed a few prawns in a bait trap but we used mullet and woolies prawns mainly. after 5minutes we land a mega cattie about 2.5 kg +. our biggest so far. its was a salmon catfish, not the usual fork-tailed which are alot skinnier. he put up a great fight on 20lb gear. soon after we got a legal bream from the shallows and also a pike eel on 6 lb leader. the live prawn got smashed once again and another salmon surfaces after a much better fight . he went 70cm+ and about 3kg. throughout the afternoon we pulled 8 big muddies on the lines 4 of which were bucks and we kept the two biggest. who needs pots we you can catch them on lines we've mastered the art.

overall a great couple of days from the brisbane river

pics to come

connor

Re: 2 threadies in 2 sessions!!!

Awesome stuff mate. Persistence pays off. Gotta love it!!

great effort and ripper fish there mate, those muddies would have been goooood!

cam
    Australian Native Fish Vids
    Specialize in Terapontida's, Perches, Cods, Gobies & Gudgeons

Great stuff good on ya fellas

nice threadies there roughly how far up the river are you fishing???

Top stuff there guys, can't wait to have another go with ya.

Owen

gday timor
    from the pictures you can see the background easily and ill say that they came from the middle reaches of the river a few k's from the indro bridge without giving away the spot too easily (although a fair few people will know the spot by the pictures) but threadies are being caught from the mouth all the way to kookaburra park at karana downs. they seem to be hangin around every where you just gotta persist to find the fish.
    bballfisho

hope the woolies prawns were the aussie variety illegal to use the others!!! nice fish, bet they were good to catch!! am still to cross paths with one!!!

yer buddy i know where that is well done good too see u go well there unlike indro bridge. I put my boat in at goodna the other day and went all the way to kookaburra park in hope for salmon and sharks but all i manages was a 30cm bream and catfish galore. To much freshwater in the river after the rain i think was the problem but yer well done.

Ps the skiers are a pest at the moment id love to land a 6ft bullie right in front of them.

Quote Originally Posted by Jpart11 View Post
    yer buddy i know where that is well done good too see u go well there unlike indro bridge. I put my boat in at goodna the other day and went all the way to kookaburra park in hope for salmon and sharks but all i manages was a 30cm bream and catfish galore. To much freshwater in the river after the rain i think was the problem but yer well done.

Ps the skiers are a pest at the moment id love to land a 6ft bullie right in front of them.
    hahaha thats that would the way to do it

ive always hoped that i would catch a shark just as the school rowers were plowing through all our lines. they would probably give us a wide berth the next time they saw us.

yeh its been hard on the shark scene. we had one bream (28cm) bitten in half but other that they have been scarce for about 6-8 months or so.

connor

Sweet catches mate! I fish the middle brissy alot. That first thready looks very silvery white! most ive seen from around here have been goldy yellow. Ive only got the one small thready this season 43cm, and loads of 60ishcm catfish. Go a bullshark a week ago landbased neer the jindalee section of the river caught on a small live cattie went 77cm. Good work mate ps. Try using under 10lb on the threadys its great fun they usually fight pretty clean so you can go light.

HI

I have never caught a threadie but would like to give it a try one day. What do they taste like and what is the best way to cook them.

Trev

Quote Originally Posted by Biteback View Post
    HI

I have never caught a threadie but would like to give it a try one day. What do they taste like and what is the best way to cook them.

Trev
    my mate kept 1 so im not sure how they go on the plate, apparently they taste pretty decent though.

I think you`ll find they taste good, real good. but different strokes for different folks . well done on the threadies fellas keep at `em .

great stuff mate good to se them still firing down da river
    regards jason