Bribie Sunday

Thread: Bribie Sunday

Bribie Sunday

Well it's about bloody time! After a gruelling six months of uni I have been able to get out for a fish. With the weather outlook looking a bit ordinary, we decided to head for Bribie for a fish and a crab. We hit the water at a very late 1100 am and got the dillies in the water, then tried flicking plastics at a few of the sandbars in the passage. The wind was still blowing which made fishing on light gear pretty hard so we ducked into one of the many protected little bays that the passage has ot offer to get out of the wind. I should mention that the deckie and I are fairly new to the plastic scene, so we are still refining our technique. I was taking in some of the lovely views that are presented in that part of the world, leisurely flicking my plastic when a cry from the deckie's side of the boat startled me to attention. "OH... HELP!!!". I turned around to see the deckies rod bent over with the drag screaming. After a brief tussel we had the culprit aboard. A nice flattie that went 48cm. Being new to the plastic scene, we were both stoked that these funny rubber things actually catch fish, and I can tell you we are hooked! After a few quick pics we released the monster.... straight into the esky . Anyway, the washup for the day was one fish (I caught squat), and half a dozen crabs.
    I am off to the tackle shop tomorrow to stock up on a variety of plastics now I know the bloody things work!
    Happy fishing!

Lunatic

P.S The plastc that did the damage was a Gulp Pumkinseed Grub

Re: Bribie Sunday

Well done, I was also at bribie sunday. Was there about 1030, went home at about 1800.

Launched coast guard ramp and crabbed whitepatch and banksia beach.

Good to see you on the darkside

Good on ya Lunatic,

Keep at it using plastics in that area, you are in for a lot of surprises Look for drop off areas around Belara where there's rock walls. You never know how many legal snapper are around

Look forward to seeing you posting more results on rubbers.

Thanks Scalem!
    I am actually off to Curtin this arvo with a mate of mine, so I am fairly excited about what I will catch on the plastics there.
    Thanks for the tips about the passage too!
    Cheers Blackened! - How did you go with the crabs? If you see us out there next time stop and say g'day. I have a 3.95 Bluefin with the mandatory Ausfish stickers on the side.

Lunatic

Lunatic,

Hopefully we have something to post after this afternoons adventure,
    now get back to work, or get to my place to load the boat

Fez

nice flatty, i still gotta go out and try some plastics my self, but always end up bait fishing.
    hmm this post might make me go out and try em!

cam
    Australian Native Fish Vids
    Specialize in Terapontida's, Perches, Cods, Gobies & Gudgeons

I got some of them pumpkin seed thingys in my tackle box, maybe I should give them a burl on the weekend - I do believe I have earned enough points for a leave pass (maybe )

Yum that flatty looks good, it sure has been a good season for them, good on ya !
    If men are from Mars, and women are from Venus, politicians must be from uranus ?

Only got one nice legal sandie, not a muddie to be seen.

Plenty of undersize and jennies, found that late in the day as the tide topped out, they came on better. between 3.5 and 4.5M was preferable.