Newbie, fishing jimpinpin

Thread: Newbie, fishing jimpinpin

Newbie, fishing jimpinpin

Im new to Qld, ive been here about 4 weeks and just bought myself a 4m haines hunter with a 35hp merc which go's alright, ive gone to cabbage tree point a few times (and the logan) then headed out towards jumpinpin (never gone right to the bar,want to get used to my boat first) but i have fished cobby bank, kalinga bank and a few other places around there. Ive tried soft plastics,live bait and mullet fillet ,prawns etc but i havent had ANY luck at all, so if anyone has any ideas for me that would be great,, thank you very much

Re: Newbie, fishing jimpinpin

Hey Homer28,

I find Kalinga+Timbers tend to fish better on the turn of the tide(1/2 -> 1 hour before to 1/2 -> 1 hour after)....tides really rip through the Pin, so outside of these times you have to use some serious lead.

Ive been getting some nice whitting out the pin,just pump some yabbies and fish with light line( 4Lb) a tiny sinker and a long shank hook and you cant go wrong.The banks were tiger mullet channel runs out towards the pin seem to produce the most for me.

thanx guys, yeah i havent fishing tiger mullet as yet but i might head out there tomorrow.

Mate, try drifting along kalinga on a small or slack tide as it can rip through there. No more than 20 metres from the bank and try and keep a straight line right up to the corner. Have a placcy over the back and let it work itself if you're feeling lazy and try a live poddy or herring as well and you should pull a few lizards. Don't give up on it if you don't score on the first drift. I've fished it at anchor and I've fished it on the slow drift and I've always scored drifting when I've often blanked at anchor. Be prepared for the odd snag the closer you are to the bank though.

Try the same tactic on the opposite (southern) side of the sand bank that runs nearly the length of Kalinga, but make sure that you cross it more than 2 hrs before or after low or be prepared to wade and push. There is a way through it but you need to familiarise yourself with it at low to see just where it is

At the seaward side of Kalinga as you go round the corner (North) there is a deep hole where the tide rips through........if you pass over the deep hole to where the bottom rises suddenly to a little more than a few metres, you should see a break in the mangroves where the tide goes through to never never creek behind, and a pole with a white sign on the bank just a little further up. You can anchor up here or run your rig (slowly) ashore, and fish from the bank. Some stonker bream and tarwhine here, and at times, in the little shallow lagoon behind, some nice whiting but you have to keep a low profile as the water there can be very clear. You can get through the mangoves to never never creek behind if you keep someone up the bow watching for snags. If you want to fish the hole for jew, be prepared to use big weights.

Good luck

See my breeder fish photography here: https://kevindickinsonfineartphot.sm...opical-Fish-2/
    Quality digital copies free to Ausfishers............use as wallpaper or can be printed......size up to 20 x16. PM for details.

Cheers kev, ill be drifting along Kalinga tomorrow..

Homer

G'day Homer,

Welcome to Queensland!

Yep the Pin has a wealth of places to get a feed.

On the North East end of Curuso Island (on the south side of the Kalinga Banks) there is a lovely wall that rises up around 10 mts from the bank, anchor up and fish the top of the ledge for Flatties and Bream.

Due south is tiger mullet the bank yields some lovely lizards

As Kev (Kingtin) said, drift the Kalinga Bank and Pig Sties, 10-20 mts from the bank, you can pump yabbies on the bank at the northern bedroom, Flatties love them on the drift - if you've got a leccy, you can hold yourself against the tide and work plastics along the bank...there are some very fishy dropoffs and ledges along there.

Back along the northern entrance to Tipplers passage, on the northern side of the entrance, there are some lovely shallow banks there to work on a dropping tide with a plastic for flatties.

Good luck

Hey Rhys,

Thanx alot for all that info and for the welcome to Qld, funny you should say "the pin is a good place to get a feed" im allergic
    to ALL seafood including fish,prawns,crabs,cray i cant even use prawns when i go fishing (even tho prawns are shyt) because my hands will swell up, but i just love fishing.

Anyway thanx alot for all that info mate thats helped me out heaps!!

I went to go out for a fish this morning (i work nights) and my motor was playing up so ill see how i go with that this arvo...

Cheers Homer

Ausfish New Member

Quote Originally Posted by Homer28 View Post
    Im new to Qld, ive been here about 4 weeks and just bought myself a 4m haines hunter with a 35hp merc which go's alright, ive gone to cabbage tree point a few times (and the logan) then headed out towards jumpinpin (never gone right to the bar,want to get used to my boat first) but i have fished cobby bank, kalinga bank and a few other places around there. Ive tried soft plastics,live bait and mullet fillet ,prawns etc but i havent had ANY luck at all, so if anyone has any ideas for me that would be great,, thank you very much
    Hi Homer also check out www.Nuggetfishing.com.au
    cheers Andrew

Quote Originally Posted by bastard View Post
    Ive been getting some nice whitting out the pin,just pump some yabbies and fish with light line( 4Lb) a tiny sinker and a long shank hook and you cant go wrong.The banks were tiger mullet channel runs out towards the pin seem to produce the most for me.

yep....i'd do exactly this....gotta be some elbow slappers round this tiome of year.

try banks on northern end of tulleen island.....and whalleys gutter banks also fire.

i've found fishin on the drift is the go....keeps the bait movin....only way to do it as far as im concerned.

dont be shy to do the odd drift over the drop off at the edge of the banks....this is the point where i hope a whiting doesnt hit it before it rolls over the edge in the hope, and its not unlikely, that a good flatty will hit it. usually good school sized flatty.... perfect for a chewin.

Thanks,
    nipper

nipper