Thread: GC Jacks

GC Jacks

I fished Spot X (Northern Gold Coast) last night from 9.30pm to 2am. About 5 minutes after arrival I got smashed by an unstoppable, it took about 3 metres of line on a tight drag on the Stradic then dropped the bait, done, bugger, I’m still shaking. It set the mood for a good night.
    In all I boated 2 Jacks, busted off on 2 and the unstoppable, plus 1 cod, and 1- 35cm Bream. My mate got 1 jack. All 3 jacks boated were smallish, around 35-40cm, but that big fella will have me coming back real soon. Water temp 27C at the start and 25C at the end, but it was a very cool night, lucky we took coats and tracky dacks. The jacks were only taking dead fillets, not the livies. My theory is we need some hot weather to get them aggressive.

Re: GC Jacks

That must have been me talking to you at the boat ramp then.......Id say we were the only ones up at 2am, in fact I was a bit sleepy by hometime...I spose we should have ausfish stickers on our boats, then wed know who we are! Mine are on order.

All I got was catfish last night, but he was big at 3.5kg and 80cm. Sounds like I should have been down your spot. What sort of fillets did you use?

Right U are Andrew, I was the good lookin one, cleaning the bream. We just used the cast net to get some poddy mullet and used fillets off them. Had 2 rods with livies and 2 with fillets and they were only hitting the dead bait, Interesting

As u say a little tired or we would have been more social. Next time ha! That is a killer spot for the jacks.

Well done mate,keep going after those unstopables and show us the pic,its my goal to make the 50,s club the season,sounds like you may have found some.
    If i could get paid the same to fish, sorry boss but i ......!

Yes, they seem to like only fresh fillets of mullet some nights. They dont like the frozen mullet from the servo, but they like it dead from the cast net. They even take it if I freeze my leftover live mullet, but still not frozen servo flesh. I also buy whole mullet from the fishshop as a backup, just in case I cant find livies.

Some nights I work lures, other nights I do flesh and livies. Theres so many good spots and structure in that area.

yeah they were goin allright last night ,had 2 big poddys attacked and heads and shoulders ripped offff, but managed to pull a 45cm, bit of fun on a 1-3 kg strudwick pro, cheers.

Nice work didley 3 jacks in a sesh is top stuff. I should give them a crack again i think. I've found i just get hounded by bream when using cut baits. Ben

Quote Originally Posted by smallunit View Post
    What boat ramp do you guys put in at, ill keep a eye out i got the ausfish stickers on

G'day Unit,
    I fish all over the place for my Jacks, Noosa last weekend, Pumicestone Passage a lot, Coomera River, Narang River, Tweed River, I'll keep my eye out for the Ausfish sticker.

Copulater

PS. Maybe I can sell u my bragmat
    Last edited by Didley; 22-11-2007 at 08:36 AM.