Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Thread: Awoonga Boat ramp-Anglers beware of scumbag thieves

Re: Awoonga Boat ramp-Anglers beware of scumbag thieves

Quote Originally Posted by eotbmg View Post
    It dumbfounds me how anyone can do anything secretive at Awoonga boat ramp when there are normally heaps of boats, cars and people around.
    Ben, some of the busiest boatramps in nsw are also the worst to get stuff knocked off and cars broken into.
    They hide in the bush, wait til its quiet and hit and run.

Why the hell would you want to put a security guard at Awoonga????........why let these pr$cks ruin it for everyone else.
    24 hour access for everyone is fine, but you just need to keep in mind that the ramp is like any other place where these dogs rip stuff off.
    A 24 hour camera would be ideal, but that aint going to happen.

Dont get lax and dont leave anything in ya ute....thongs included!!!
    Jas

Ben, Jas makes a good point mate...remember some of those late night efforts we came in and were the only ones left at the ramp and we had parked way up the top and round the corner....easy pickings for souvenir hunters really......

Not sure what the solution is.....I'm still shaking my head

You lost ya thongs Jas? Serious?

Guys, Looked up lake scum and pond scum, could not find a size or bag limit so it seems like open season. Perhaps I should look up noxious pests. Makes me really angry if they are reported and nothing is done......... Cheers, catch_n_cod.
    Last edited by catch_n_cod; 21-11-2007 at 02:05 AM.

Paul,
    Nah, but a bloke I spoke to a few days ago had his throngs ripped off from his trayback.
    Unreal eh?
    Jas

Firstly, the only surprise is that it hasn’t been a problem earlier. Invite scum by tempting them and they will come. As most have said, prevention is better than cure and don’t tempt them by leaving gear exposed.

In saying that, there’s not a lot you can do when they start taking your trailer parts - &^$#ers.

Jason’s idea is the best solution with the 24/7 camera which as he said, won’t happen. If they think they being watched, it will scare most of them off. I have access to a broken one. Should send it to you Jas to have it mounted – may stop a few of them (even though it doesn’t work). They not the brightest mob

Seriosly though - thanks for the warning Jas and I agree with 'catch n cod' - Open slather - definitely no catch and release!

Ben, I’d hate to be the scum that gets caught by you – one bitch slap with those oven mitts and they’ll be crying for mercy

Not good to hear... you'd think the thousands of people that visit a place like Awoonga would be a little bit better behaved then that. Good heads-up Jas, especially now that the ABT events are being held now which will see hundreds of people at the Ramp at any one time. Lock up and Load up if you ask me!

Theo

(Watched 'The Show' on Saturday Jas... think you might need to take the safety lanyard off the console and tie the Reel seat to your arm!!! Loved it.)
    TT

It's a sad thing that this sort of thing happens.
    I would love to be there to hold them down when they are caught. Public flogging and humiliation is in order, may-be the mid-east justice system, cut off a finger everytime they are caught.

I fished for years from ramps all around SEQ, Morteon Bay, The Pin, Tewantin, Boreen Pt, TinCan Bay and can't ever recall an incident of theft anywhere in 15 years. Sad days are upon us.

Quote Originally Posted by TinarooTriumph View Post
    (Watched 'The Show' on Saturday Jas... think you might need to take the safety lanyard off the console and tie the Reel seat to your arm!!! Loved it.)
    Theo,
    A good tip when using S-Factor attractant.............wipe the sh$t off your hands!

Gee whiz it has happened before to us down south and with the amount of stuff people transit to and from the ramp to the ground these scum are on to it, all the hard earned dollars us blokes earn for these scum to profit from just ticks me off.

I don't know maybe a camera on the car park like they have at Arthurs lake in tassie may help, but really if anyone catches one what do you do and more to the point how do you attach treble hooks to troll the bugger.

With the amount of people at the car park cctv camera would have to work even if they say charged anyone with a boat that goes on the dam a couple of bucks for operation costs through the old registration scheem at least you will have a little peace of mind?

TT
    Last edited by Tropicaltrout; 27-11-2007 at 09:26 PM.

Are there any figures on which ramps are the worst?
    Onto some other areas, what's the security like at places like Bribie where you just leave the car and go off fishing the beach. It used to be very secluded years ago but there'd be more people around these days which I guess would bring more problems through sheer numbers.

This sounds a little red-neck but I reckon it'd work.....set-up a vigilante group posing as said second bunch of lowlifes and troll the ramps until you spot a group of these tossers.....catch them, keep them tied up for a few days at a fishing hut then just let them go after a missing persons report is filed...they are hardly going to tell anyone they were held because they were caught theiving

Make a crab pot big enough to take a human as bait and take them out and give them a real scare
    Last edited by 4x4frog; 28-11-2007 at 07:53 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by Big_Ren View Post
    Never thought I'd see the day where we would have to bring our gaff and fish priest to Awoonga Ben.......which one do you want mate?.......you're handy with both aren't you?

Seriously, what a contemptable act (the thefts that is). I thought fishing was meant to be a stress-free pastime, where we do our research, stalk our quarry and hook a metre plus prize.....looks like our sport now extends to the car park...say what's the minimum legal length for lake scum?

thanks for the heads up guys..

what's the minimum legal length for lake scum? mmm i think if it can take your gear then there is no legal length or bag limit lol..

it's only getting worse all over the place you only have to look here in the lost/stolen to see what is going on it is a dam shame that this sort of thing go's on....

A couple dropped into Lenthalls today on their way home from Awoonga, they told me they had gear stolen from their campsite - a small esky, a couple of rods & a Plano box full of lures. The worst bit is they were only about 50m away at another campsite having a yarn when it went missing and no one saw anything.

Yeah we got done over big time last trip to Awoonga. I lost my electric, others lost all their lures and rods, even swags and Engels fridges went.

Only laugh was that the reason they got my electric was I burnt it out that afternoon and tossed it under the hut in disgust before going out for the evening session! I hope they sold it to some big hairy bikie called knuckles!

makes you wonder when is it going to end..

and the wost part is if you give em a bif they have more rights than you and you end up in court, and they get away with a slap on the hand....

Could there be more to this.........is this a couple of low lifes that reside near by trying to give the place a bad name.

Any way if it is consistent and ongoing it would have to be locals.

I hope all thefts are being reported to police.

Oh BTW, what line & leader would you need for low life pond scum.... any decent long casting lure would be OK.....I recon a barra rig would be all right.
    What drag setting would you use.
    Do you recon they would make a run for it in the open or would they head for structure.