Nice work mate, makes the effort worthwhile
Went out for a quick fish landbased this morning at shorecliffe, around the area of the pier.
from about 5am, the fish were on the bite. Picked up 3 flattie, 1 around 45, and two just over 30. Kept the 45 and let the others go.
Fishing went dead for a few hours, but started picking up again at about 7:30. Picked up another 45ish flattie, and a larger model (i reccon around 60-70) busted me off. All fish were caught from the rock wall parallel to the jetty.
Using 3" minnow powerbaits in pumpkinseed, and 3" minnor gulp in nuke chicken, on jig heads ranging from 1/6 ounce to 1/20. Wasnt much wind around this morning so there was a good option of jighead sizes.
Unfortunately, I got a serious case of line twist (any solutions) and was worried about getting burnt so i packed it in. around 8:30am.
No piccies of the fish as i didnt have the camera with me at the time, and i filleted, gutted ect at the jetty, but here is the result
Always nice for brekkie
Last edited by theclick; 19-11-2007 at 10:57 AM.
Perception Swing Flatty and bream angler
Landbased Too.
Subaru Lover
Nice work mate, makes the effort worthwhile
Yeah nice feed Click. What sort of reel are you using?. I've been spoilt i guess with twistbuster etc. What you can do is just loosen your drag, go to an oval. Pull all the line out. Then rewind on, while pinching the line and straightening it.
Last edited by Flattie Assassin; 19-11-2007 at 12:28 PM.
Looks like a nice meal there.
Louis
Thanks flattieassassin, shall try.
Currently using a shimano Symetre 1500. Alright little reel, looking at upgrading or adding though. Spooled with 8 pound fireline.
Didnt have any trouble with the twist until i put a bibbed HB on the other week. Since then it's been off the hook.
Had to actually cut the main line at a point a decent way into the spool and retie it because a knot had formed. Quite annoying really
Landbased Too.
Subaru Lover
hmmm now Im hungry
Great report, it's funny we don't get many reports from the shorncliffe area and it's goood to hear, i went there a while back exactly where you were fishing and couldnt get a touch? although the water was really clear that day how about todays clarity?
Hey chris. The water was quite muddy today. Could only just see the nuke chook say 30cm under the surface, and they are quite colourful.
I actually live on the southside of the brissie river, so i ventured up there because I had had some success for bream off the jetty before, and there had been some good reports of flattie from the rock wall.
Quite frankly, i can't get a touch at the moment anywhere around brissie land based, so I was quite surprised. Spose ya have good days sometimes.
Landbased Too.
Subaru Lover
yer the njetty has its days, i used to fish there alot but it has gotton crap, over the last month,for bait fishing anyway, the only fun are rays and sharks.
top catch with the flats i might try that rock wall next time i go there.
cam
Australian Native Fish VidsSpecialize in Terapontida's, Perches, Cods, Gobies & Gudgeons