Whats your Tackle Setting up System

Thread: Whats your Tackle Setting up System

Whats your Tackle Setting up System

Okay with the weather not playing the game here for such a long time i have spent countless time in my shed doing rigs , polishing the boat sitting in the boat sliding my fingers across the GPS checking everything over and over again .
    Packing all my rigs seperatly into snap clip bags so they are easy to get too and out of any salt air that may occur.
    Seeing if anyone else is in the same senerio
    So when the weather won't play the game what do we do
    I know the creeks are an option and will do a run this week during the night to throw some pots in at Cooraman Creek .
    Have gotten sick of making rigs and rechecking everything over and over again
    Okay now does everyone do rigs for their next trip and how many is too many lol
    I have done over 20 rigs for the bottom bashing gear and 15 mackeral rigs ......... Too many lol seeing don't lose too many
    Cheers JT
    VHF CHANNEL 21
    CALL SIGN : JT OR SC552(social club member)

There is a fine line between fishing and just standing on the shore like an idiot

I wonder how much deeper the ocean would be without sponges

Up here we Use Hussar as baits for real RED FISHS (SHSIIFDER)

Re: Whats your Tackle Setting up System

I used to try and learn a new knot or read up on other new techniques. The rigs as well, especially the ones with complex knots. I'll also rearrange my tackle boxes so I can take everything in the smallest bag possible (land based fisho). I completely rearrange how I store my tackle at least 4 times a year dependng upon what methods I'm using most often at the time.
    Joel
    Fishing for the thrill, not for the kill

im not the only one spent all day in the shed tending to the boat and gear

i generally practice knots,
    wash and lanox all my jigheads, lure trebles and reels
    rearrange lures and plastics over and over,

love playing around with tackle,

JT...you've got it bad!!! I just go into denial.

rhys

Keep goin with them mate. Sell them on ebay. I tend to resort to a bit of landbased plastics when the wheather is miserable. You can tie knots for a few weeks but there comes a time where you just have to wet a line i reckon.
    En el amor y la guerra, todo hueco es trinchera.

before i go whitting fishing i usually sit down and watch creek to coast or escape with et and do up a heap of red tube rigs and put them on a bit of foam.as for the sitting in the boat thing,i often find myself doing a tour on the gps from double island pt to coolongatta!...........by the way,where do you get that shrink wrap stuff you have on the bottom basher rigs?and how does it help?......................jez

Bunnings mate
    I use it for the reason of when you are catching a heap of undersized reds mostly they tend to ware the mono leader at the eye of the hook , and if you are not checking for this you may not see the fray starting to appear at the eye piont and then booshka you end up losing the biggest fish of the day because it lets go at that piont.
    But this is an experiment , so much like you do with the tubing for 3whiting i want to see if this does any good.
    Fingers crossed
    VHF CHANNEL 21

There is a fine line between fishing and just standing on the shore like an idiot

they look good....i was going to get some to do up some jigs but couldnt find them at tackle shop...........thanks for that.

Jeez JT, your shed's a bit up market isn't it? A tablecloth in the shed??

Mate, I generally do up some gang hooks, then revamp other gear, fiddle around putting different reels on different rods, then get sick of it all and put it all away again.

Ausfish Platinum Member ffejsmada's Avatar

Way to go JT, looks like you're on top of things mate!

What I want to know is, does your missus know you've got one of her tablecloths out in the shed??????? LOL

Cheers Jeff.

Yeah well i have her pool table out in the shed ya want to see where i had it before i put my fishing gear on it
    Let me tell you she was not impressed
    this is before i put the table in shed
    VHF CHANNEL 21

Ausfish Platinum Member ffejsmada's Avatar

Bahahhaha at the pool table.

If the weathers off I usually just sit quietly in a small dusty upstairs room with a diamond file slowly sharpening the trebles on my lures with an intense look on my face, watching the raindrops falling down the window like sweat on a fat mans brow.
    I stop occasionally and wipe my mouth with the back of my hand. A hungry dog will bark in the distance and a lone fly will make a noise and land on a wall behind me....in the blink of an eye I'll have it pinned to the wall after throwing my fishing knife across the room. Then I'll slowly turn to face the window again and continue to stare off into space while slowly sharpening my hooks. Watching.........Waiting.........I really don't like inclement weather.