Fish species not where their supposed to be - Page 4
Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Thread: Fish species not where their supposed to be

Re: Fish species not where their supposed to be

Basskid,

i have had a similar experience to Brandon but with a small Azure Kingfisher. Didn't have the camera out so missed the opportunity. It landed on my spare rod while i was bass fishing in a small creek out of a kayak. when i went to get the camera out he flew off. But the experience has stayed with me since, next time if it happens again i will be more prepared.

Have also witnessed a very bold Sea Eagle that will almost take a fish out of your hand if you wave it about above your head. I reckoned that if we had a bag of pillies we could have got some great shots of her swooping in for one.
    Reminder to self, Take small bag of WA pillies to that spot next time!!

Last edited by Covertfly; 22-11-2007 at 08:18 AM.

Ausfish Platinum Member BrandonH's Avatar

Craig, your right mate butcher bird lol.. been a bloody long week

I have also had a White breasted sea eagle swoop down about 3 meters away from me!! He decided the Dart i had caught and just thrown back was too good to let swim away! I love how close you get to nature when fishing

Brandon...

Thats why we do what we do

Covert,
    Don't know if your sea eagle was at JB, where we saw a sea eagle do the same to its own fish, not one of ours. I liked my mate's comment - 'did you see that? He didn't even get his ankles wet!'
    Another time one of the Steamer's seals put on a show, that lasted about two minutes, of sidestroke, backstroke, tail waving etc. just behind the boat, before pinching the undersize snapper I caught. He also swam up and waved it around in front of us before buzzing off.
    Last edited by littlejim; 22-11-2007 at 03:19 PM.

Ausfish Platinum Member mattooty's Avatar

Accidnetally posted this same thing in the "strangest fish" thread but was meant to come in here.
    250kg queensland groper found floating dead down the clarence a few days ago (northern nsw). There have been hundreds caught around the bridges between 200-400kg but fishing for them has been non existant for 30 years so its a real eye opener looking at a fish that has a mouth you could sit in. they reckon that it either died of old age or from being hooked on a shark setline. It had its stomach coming out its mouth, so i dunno if that means its eaten something is shouldnt have or what. Ive got the paper but no scanner so ill try and get it up here when i get home from schoolies.
    cya guys

that marlin that was apparently caught off baxters jetty at shorncliffe wasnt caught.
    talking to my father last night, a boat had gone out and caught it and it had died on them so they didnt know what to do with, came it couldnt put it anywhere so let it off in the creek, that guy saw it, ran home got a rod and grabbed it, put a hook thru it and sent it back out again, wait for it drift out then made a comotion about hooking something big when all he was doing was pulling in a dead weight, then up comes this dead marlin and claims he caught it

definitely true about the marlin - common knowledge around the area - havent heard that version ben, but it wouldn't surpirse me!

cuzza
    Last edited by cuzzamundi; 30-11-2007 at 06:21 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by jman2016 View Post
    Corio bay Central Queensland - chasing bait schools
    ild believe that ,,that gets incredibly deep there near the point left to fishinmans creek

How ya living?

Ausfish Platinum Member breamnut's Avatar

i caught a pearl perch on plastic in tweed river in 2ft of water

Ausfish Silver Member jackson4300's Avatar

i was just thinking, with the marlin caught off jetties, i know from experience that marlin have just a little pulling power right?
    if i was fishing off a jetty the heaviest rig i would use would be to target jew when i am feeling extremly lucky.
    I can believe the part about a marlin being that close inside but not about them catching it, hooking it maybe but not bringing it in.

Last year got a smallish marlin just behind the waves breaking just outside the seaway.

Another is, a friend purchased a new lure while at the pin and decided to test it out, went just outside the bar, meaning just behind it (on the outside) and caught a black around 80kg within 20 minutes of trolling and its taken me how many years to get one...
    Last edited by jackson4300; 03-12-2007 at 11:22 PM.

Ausfish Silver Member jackson4300's Avatar

I was just having a think about this when i realised, i had caught a certain species out of their comfort zone

i have caught catfish that werent in the brissy river

Good day all,
    Heard of a 50lb Yellowfin in the mouth of the Brid River (Bridport Bass Straight Tassie)about 15 years ago. Around the same time several strippy tuna were netted at Port Sorrell river mouth around 70k further west.
    Warm current must have swung into the strait from the east coast bringing these dudes with it.
    Reidy

Didn't actually catch this fish, but it was definitlely not where it was supposed to be........

One early morning many years ago I walked down to the Skateboard bowl from my unit which used to be just above scotts point at Redcliffe. It was a twin concrete bowl setup sunk into the ground, a small bowl about twelve ft wide and three ft deep and a large bowl about twenty ft wide and about eight ft deep conected by a narrow keyway....anyway, I positioned the tail of my skateboard over the lip of the small bowl and dropped in, through the keyway I went, picking up a lot of speed to go flying into the larger bowl to execute some groovy bone jarring trick.
    As I reached the entrance of the large bowl going very rapidly I started down the steep side of the huge concrete hole in the ground, laying in the bottom of the heavily graffitied bowl was a very large shark ( most likely placed there by some bored commercial fishermen with a sense of humour )
    It had the desired effect, in the nanosecond it took me to reach the bottom of the bowl containing this big evil killing machine from the deep, I felt my hair stand on end and my world just stopped. I can't possibly describe the noise I made, but I'm sure that it would have scared the devil himself.
    As I was travelling toward the beast I tried to jump from my board but as I was already heading down a very steep downhill slope and going very fast, gravity was not my friend. I remember landing on top of the toothy monster with my knees pads, and just as quickly I was jumping through the air out of the eight ft deep bowl fueled by pure adrenalin.
    I'm sure the fright I got could only be equalled by me being confronted by a werewolf or some other nightmarish creature.
    That fish was really not supposed to be there.
    Last edited by Little grey men; 16-01-2008 at 02:18 PM.

LGM, that s funny!!! I bet you turned around in a flash to see if anyone saw you!

Hairtail caught off beach just south of Townsville at night. Couldnt believe it when daughter walked up off the beach and dropped it onto the veranda. Cheers Shane
    Fishing! Its the way of life.
    Southwind 6.70