Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Thread: Fish species not where their supposed to be

Fish species not where their supposed to be

An article I recently read jogged a memory. a bloke in Cairns has caught hairtail! Now that is unusual.

I remember as a kid my dad catching an australian salmon off CQ. He knew what it was because he used to work (and fish) in Sydney.

I've caught a mackeral in a tidal causeway and have seen a marlin in an estuary.

I'm wondering what everyone else has caught that was not supposed to be there at the time!

Re: Fish species not where their supposed to be

marlin in a esturay

wow where was that ?

i havent caught anything like that before but have heard about barra being caught at bribie passage and in logan.

marlin aye hmmm

cam
    Australian Native Fish Vids
    Specialize in Terapontida's, Perches, Cods, Gobies & Gudgeons

marlin lanbased in a estuary wow

wouldnt it be nice

When i was younger i seen a massive knobby caught off the Woody Point Jetty. Thats' uncommon.

It wasn't uncommon to catch black marlin inside Sydney heads in the 40s and 50s. I have some photos of huge marlin and sharks being landed where the SHB is.
    There have been Blacks hooked and landed inside the southport seaway.

yer mate i caught a 73cm broad bar mackeral in a very small estuary system on a plastic man it was great

There is an excellent read in the latest fishing world mag, about an old local who caught a metre long wild barra in the Noosa river.

Goes something like this.

I launched Life's Good at dawn and headed upstream. The morning was still and overcast, so I selected my one and only tilsan barra lure and was casting at the snags by 5.15am on a rising tide. With no breeze i had a perfect drift, and my casting was "on song" as i fired cast after cast into the zone.

My first reward came at about 6am when a solid Jack slammed my lure and headed for the timber. The jack found refuge on a downstream snag and locked me up. I kept the pressure on and engaged the electric, motored over the snag, and the jack swam free and was soon in the net. At 420mm, Not a bad start.

Inspired, i continued casting. The forecast southeast change began to blow upstream as the tide approached it's peak. I guessed I had another 15 min of run in and decided to call it quits at 7.30am. When the winds would be against the tide and the winds unfavourable. A perfect cast put my lure into a likely looking pocket in the snags, a few cranks on the handle of my calcutta and all hell broke loose, the water erupted and the 20 pd braid screamed off the reel.

I caught a glimpse of a silver flank as the fish flashed towards open water. "it's a barra and it's a big bastard". I leaned back and manouvered to the middle of the river. The barra broke the surface again, head shaking and gills flared. I loosened the drag a little, I knew I needed to tire the fish. Momentarily the line went slack and i thought it was all over. But she was swimming towards me. I quickly took up the slack and after a few more short runs she was at the side of the boat.

Somehow i had managed to juggle her into my landing net. I was absolutely stunned by her sheer size. 1m of gleaming silver. As i lifted her from the net the lure had separated , no doubt t\due th the crushed barbs. After admiring the fish and getting a photo taken by a passing boat owner, I swam her for several minutes using the electric outboard until she bit down on my thumb and swam away. I hope her future Noosa River mornings are a little less traumatic.

Now that is an fish of a lifetime.

FA

I have caught and have seen a few Spangled Emperor at Shellharbour and a 'wait for it" a Coral Trout at Port Kembla positively identified, about 20 years ago, now that fish was lost.

cool assassin you rock
    figjam :wink:

This is second hand info however a friend told me he hooked a small black near the 4 beacons one year although it was dropped apparently he had 3 witnesses to this ?

dolphin fish, south east tasmania and I believe sighted by our member Bugman

stalk eyed swimmers in bribie passage,,,, barra in both the passage and maroochy rivers,,,, barra caught and confirmed in the logan,,,,

and the list goes on,,,, this year especially in pumicestone has seen an unusual amount of blue swimmers that have hung around ALL year,,,, heaps of pelagics about and albeit this is not uncommon,, the amount of them certainly is,,,

water temp is certainly a factor in this as well,,,,,,,,, for those of you who subscribe to sunfish,,,, marlin have been spotted and confirmed from BEGA in nsw southern regions in both off shore and bay areas,,,

can it get any better??????????????,,,,,,,,,,,,,,http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hgG_TxEPaQE

Marlin spotted in Tallebudgera Creek in the 80s by my missus. She pointed and told her friends who were with her at the time, and nobody believed her. 10 mins later, some guys in a tinnie hook onto it, and it jumps up doing aerials for all to see!! It towed the tinnie around for 10-15 mins before it broke free. Andrew

White Pointer in Tallebudgera Creek as well back in '80's or so.