portable hot water systems - coleman vs primus

Thread: portable hot water systems - coleman vs primus

portable hot water systems - coleman vs primus

Tossing up between coleman and primus portable instant hot water systems. The major difference appears to be that the coleman uses a rechargeable 6v battery to power the pump whereas the primus needs to be connected to a 12v power source eg the car battery.

Firstly, is there a way to run the primus off a 240 volt socket? Is there a suitable converter available from dick smith or jaycar?

I'm not a massive fan of the rechargable battery idea, seems like it would die eventually. Can the coleman be run while plugged into 240v power, or do you have to wait till the battery is charged first?

What's the pressure like on both units. Good enough for a decent shower? Also, how's the gas usage?

Any other feedback/opinions on either unit?

thanks a lot.

matt
    Last edited by the lobster; 15-11-2007 at 08:47 PM.

Re: portable hot water systems - coleman vs primus

Ah ha. Found this:

http://www.dse.com.au/cgi-bin/dse.st...uct/View/M9671

Any reason that wouldn't run the primus system?

thanks again.

matt

I made my own mate, its a doozy!
    The thing that turned me off these little things was they apparently only heat water 10 or 20 degs above ambient.

Quote Originally Posted by Simmo2 View Post
    I made my own mate, its a doozy!
    The thing that turned me off these little things was they apparently only heat water 10 or 20 degs above ambient.

Can anyone confirm if this is the case?

Can you give me a quick run down of how you made yours, Simmo?

matt

Check out Glind http://www.glind.com.au/htm/default.asp

Local business and owner is an Ausfish member.

Derek

Thanks Derek,
    I did check them out but from what I can see, and correct me if I'm wrong, they have to be used in conjunction with your car heater. I really want a stand alone unit with a 240 volt power option.

thanks

matt

I bought a gas hws (intantaneous) for just over $100 on ebay.
    Then a pressure pump for about $80 (ebay again!)
    You dont have to go pressure pump, but it is so much easier for the kids and friends.
    I then made up the shower bit with some hard copper pipe and an inline tap and shower rose.
    I welded up a frame out of light angle, mounted the hws to that. (it folds flat for transporting)
    All the water fittings I converted to the 'click-on' hose type.
    I use my 75amp/hr Deep cycle battery and a 2 kilo gas bottle.
    There's 2 ways of using it.
    One, just put a short hose in a 20 litre bucket of water (~5 min shower)
    Two, take the battery and pump to the creek, put the short hose in the creek and a long hose back to the shower! (infinate hot water!)
    The settings need to be determined first, ie temp and flow, I do that an then no one touches it.
    All one does is goes into the shower tent, gets nekked and turns on the tap. The pump auto starts, so does the gas therefore the heat. When finished, turn tap off and everything shuts down ready for the next person.
    There is no pilot light, its piezo ignition.
    If it runs out of water the gas shuts off.

During the design period, I found that you really need a good pump, I started off with a 3 litre per minute, but now use a 17ltr/m.
    I bought a shower tent, coz with nice hot water, the breeze feels colder with a tarp around ya!
    I also put a small flouro in the shower tent so you can have a shower after dark if you wish!!
    Last edited by Simmo2; 16-11-2007 at 07:18 AM.

I have a coleman I bought it when we redid our kitchen great piece of small equiptment that has plenty of heat water nealy boiling can be a bit fiddle when having a shower and I think you can buy seperate batteries but I dont think it runs off 240 pretty good on gas although canasters are not cheap but can be run off bigger bottles hope this helps

The colman comes with a 240v charger, would assume this can just run the system should the battery die. Canisters are $7 each, last about 150 litres. And it gets bloody hot

Thanks heaps for the info guys. Anyone got any feedback on the primus model?

thanks

matt

Matt,
    I have the coleman set up and i am wrapped in it.The reasons i did not go the primus were the pump set up on them is a cheap chinese pump arrangement and the second reason is if you wait for The mart that starts with a k to have a 20 percent off camping you can pick it up with the shower attachment for under $300 bucks.I have had mine for 2 years and it has not missed a beat.Still on the same 6 volt battery not sure how many years you should get out of it.I find i can get about 5-7 days use off 1 to 2 charges using it daily for shower and dishes 2 adults 2 kids.about 3-5 minute showers each i used 2 cannisters for the week.The other good thing i find is the unit sits ontop of a 20 litre bucket and is at a good height for dispensing water as it has a swing out neck on it.
    Cougarman

G'day Matt,
    We used a coleman up the territory for 3 weeks every night on a recent fishing trip,thought it was great,the last couple of nights we had to put it on charge and only used 1 gas canister.

yeah I got a primus heater and it runs off a 12 volt battery and any size gas bottle with aprimus fitting. Had no problems with it and the water temp is adjustable. Its an older model had it for around 3 years. Still working

Bob

Hi I have the coleman unit... 3 Years Use

Reason for purchase - baby bottles , I hate cold showers

Heat - not hot enought for a cup a tea but close to it
    Nice hot shower, good water supply

Can you use the unit while recharging - No
    6Volt Battery $21 replacemnt
    I suggest that you buy a second battery

Gas Buy the gas bottle fitting so you don
    't need to use the gass cannisters

Cleaning - Flush with clean water every 6 months

Bruce

i have the coleman , had it for 3 years now! perfect unit! battery still in top nick , i use it for 2weeks camping twice a year for showers 2 adults and 2 kids, and dishes etc. charged it up twice once a week! also can plug into a 12volt car cig charger! i dont run the canisters i use a 4.5kg bottle, they sell an adaptor for it at bcf where i bought mine from! so i bring a 9kg and a 4.5kg bottle that runs everything i need. the pump in it pumps 6ft easily and adjusting the temp is easy! i also bing a 70ltr rectangle bucket for the kids to bath in! nice. they come with a collapsable 5ltr container, i have bought a 20ltr drum i drop the pump into!
    Last edited by shano; 19-11-2007 at 08:07 PM.