Thread: Is camping getting too expensive??

Is camping getting too expensive??

G'day folks,
    I was going to organise a small camping trip to Woody head in Iluka. But due to the rising fees I pulled the pin and went to the Sunny Coast instead...
    For one camp site it was $14 per person (4 people going) Per night...
    $22 per car (2 car's) for the week...
    For five nights it worked out to be alot... we ended up staying at a resort at Marochy for 50 bucks more....

The rain helped us make the decision but after thinking about it.... Is it getting too much???

Any thoughts CHeers BD

Re: Is camping getting too expensive??

mate it is getting that way, was going camping with the family the other day and when i heard how much the price had rose i couldnt believe it, uesd to be 20 bucks for the family now its gone to 40 bucks a night and thats anon powered site????????, just thought camping was supose to be a cheap way for the family to holiday but its getting that way its nearly cheaper to stay in a cabin or motel/hotel. cheers bdowdy...brett

ITs what you make of it. EPA sites cost $4.50 a night for an adult. Some of these sites come with hot showers (typically cost about $2-3 a hit) and most come with basic facilities. I am staying at central station on fraser for 7 days, total cost is $180 for the wife and I. There is no way I can find a hotel that cheap. In fact, this is the cheapest holiday I have ever been on!

I think you'll find if you go to a lesser known/used park/area the fees would be cheaper. with the park managers more accommodating

neil

national parks campgrounds are the go, like has been said before, if you choose carefully there's showers and dunnies too. i could never afford anything other than camping in my younger years and now i can afford to pretty much stay at most places i'd still rather go camping. even mr grumpy's up at teerwah beach is reasonably priced and there's dunnies and $1 hot showers, very civilised indeed.

In n.s .w national park fees have increased 100% thanks to the LABOUR party and their mates the GREENIES if LABOUR win the federal election be warned that this is a preview of what is in store for all AUS.

do we have to put up with election stuff in every room????

Mate I believe that you are right it is getting to expensive especially when you purchase all the latest kit.
    I have found that it is cheaper to rent a on site van or cabin with others and thi becomes more affordable

Ken

The simple answer is ....no.

I camp in Nat Parks ( Qld ) and caravan parks etc. I find the fees are fair.

To my way of thinking, pitching a tent on the beach at Waddy Point on Fraser Island , and walking to the rocks, spinning a tailor up for breakfast is ' priceless '.

Qld caravan parks offer sites both powered and non-powered for up to $23 / night for 2 adults and usually charge about 2-3 bucks for extra persons. Most park have great amenities, are clean, have pools and internet / games rooms and also provide community facilites ( large bbq areas etc ). To me, paying this fee in major tourists areas / towns in Qld, is cheap.

But, one of the main attractions of this, is that you get to meet people " in the same boat " so to speak. Looking for an affordable holiday, with the family and have all the creature comforts of a highrise unit/ resort, but at a price that will allow the budget to go out of an evening and partake of the local cuisine.

Let's take into account the cost of setting up then... all gear ( tent, tarps, stove, esky, lighting, chairs, tables, washing up gear, ground sheets, poles and pegs etc )... once bought is yours, for the next trip. There is the other option of a camper trailer... $'s is an issue, but that can be offset by convenience.

The again, some of us getting long in the tooth and spending 1/2 day setting up a site ( Hilton Hotel ) has it's drawbacks and the "resort/ unit/ holiday house " becomes very appealing.

Camping is a personal thing. I love it, but also love the idea of just taking a bag of clothes, fishing gear and Liquid refreshments to a house/ resort etc.

At the end of the day, having a holiday is always up to the budget. If the budget allows, do the resort thing, but always remember, as I do, a holiday is just THAT..... I hate to worry about the budget while on holidays... enough stress during work time.

To that end, I will pass on an experience from this year. I usually visit Fraser Island on a very regular basis and have always camped at either Waddy Point of Ocean Lake. It really doesn't get any better than that. So this year I actually booked into a Resort at Happy Valley ( didn't take the boat, just family ). I will say that this was right up there. Just walking to restaurant for dinner, pool at the front door, undercover vehicle parking, carwash, views, TV, hot showers etc made it a viable option for next time.

OK, cost wise...... $200 / night for a fully self contained 2 bed unit ( all people included ) as opposed to $4.50per night per person, for camping.

i know what ya mean phill, we pretty much beach camp all the time but earlier on this year the wifey got a deal to go to the rainbow shores resort and it was pretty good. there's something about having a hot shower and sitting down to watch the footy after a full day of fishing and surfing up at the point that kind of spoils you.

come to NSW if you think camping is cheap

I love my beach camping with only toilet facilities at Pebbly Beach in Southern Yuraygir N P NSW, its 4WD only and is very similar to Ocean lake at Fraser Is

a little over 12 months ago the fees for the National Park at my back door was $5/adult and $3/child plus car fees $6/day or a $20/year one park pass. It then went to $8/adult $4 child and $7/day car, as of Oct 07 its now$10/adult $5/child and $7/car

so for a two week camp which I used to do a couple of times a year it used to cost $224
    now $420

that's an increase of nearly $200 in twelve months

I am on a pension with two young kids that I wish to participate in the beach camping/fishing and boating but at that rate its cheaper for us to rent a holiday house at Minnie Waters with an other couple overlooking the ocean

we will not be back camping there in any hurry rather just do day trips (only 20mins run)

been looking at setting up camp in the state forest right outside the NP for the grand total of $000000 and can have the dog and go 4WDing just not the beach view

in the other positive direction I have now broadened my horizons and am looking and finding some great free camps on the local freshwater rivers close by, just hard to launch the boat for deep sea fishing but the kids still love it

look out QLD I might just move up there if not I will take advantage of your cheap NP camping

cheers Murf
    Last edited by murf; 22-11-2007 at 09:14 PM.

This time last year my wife and I (we're from Townsville) went on a driving/camping holiday with the Camper Trailer. We headed south and went as far as Tassie. We were astounded at how expensive the National Park camp fees were. I remember Woody well. It was a great spot but was something like $25 a night plus shower fees. Now, caravan parks with far more facilities were cheaper. Compared to resorts then camping is cheap but it seems as if more and more land (our land) is being locked up and then we are being charged an exorbitant fee to enjoy it. In NSW there are fees just to drive into a national park. What a rip off. Maybe local knowledge is the key. I know of a few great free camps on the beach within an hour of Townsville.

If you are going to do a bit of travelling and camping, this is just one of the many books that lists a huge number of free camping areas. Click on the pic to see their website.

Derek

My wife & I have been taking the kids camping since they were born, (and prior when she was pregnant)...last w'end at Glenbawn camping beside the water, fire, jam session and being twenty two years later still camping..the magic is still there, priceless as mentioned. Given the option of tent v sophistication, give me the tent. Had the bass been co-operating, it would rate as the perfect w'end. With the kids and their mates in tow, fees were $144, still pretty cheap when weighed against alternatives.

Red face Re: Is camping getting too expensive??

'central station on fraser for 7 days, total cost is $180 for the wife and I.'

The trouble is mate the Barge and permit fees on top of that. It is no longer a short stay destination when it costs a couple of hundred just to drive onto the island.

Hey I need to know about Grumpys at Teewah? Whats the go with that?