Quality Jack By-Catch

Thread: Quality Jack By-Catch

Quality Jack By-Catch

Have been chasing some jacks lately for some good results, but havent landed one over fifty for a while. Theres been some big bust ups and plenty of pulled hooks, but thats jack fishing for ya. Have also been getting a bit of by-catch with the odd flatty, bream and even some tarpon showing up but todays session produced the best so far. This grunter took a 4 inch powerbait in about 2 feet of water next to big tree. The prick of a thing hit like a jack and pulled like a jack but didn't throw the towel in like a jack! Pretty impressive. Wish there a few more it's size gettin around brissie. Cheers... Keith

Re: Quality Jack By-Catch

Nice grunter mate, they sure do go hard...and they are dam good on the dinner plate too.
    Marty.

Ausfish Platinum Member richieboy's Avatar

Mixing it up with some great bycatches mate. Whtey and I were chatting about you on the drive up this arvo.

Richie

Ausfish Platinum Member ffejsmada's Avatar

Nice fish Keith, there's been a few tarpon kickin around.
    There seems to be plenty in all estuary systems at the moment.

Cheers Jeff.

nice bycatch there mate,
    just about as good as a big jack

Awesome bycatch..

I would be happy with a bycatch like that each time i wet a line.
    Very nice grunter.

Cheers Dazza

i like your efforts to conceal fishing spot

Nice fish Keith they have started to turn up down here to but not that big. YOUNGY

nice fish and good catch from that system

congratulations i am just wondering has anybody pulled any jacks from pine river lately or around brisbane.

regards,
    keechie

Love that Grunter, never seen one that big before. That looks like the same spot U got the big jack, but late in the day, I see the night is closing in. Where was it again, not up the passage , but...........?

Ausfish Platinum Member nuggstar's Avatar

awsome vermin, ya lucky bugga hehe
    figjam :wink:

Nice by catch....

I have only ever caught small grunter in the Noosa River.....Never seen one that big here..

nice fish mate all the big grunter i have caught seem to go hard but they run away from the snag instead of them trying to brick ya.