colour preserver ???

Thread: colour preserver ???

colour preserver ???

After running out of Erskins thrad sealer / colour preserver half way through a rod i went to get some more only to find i could only get Speed thread sealer / filler .

My question is will the Speed bring out the same colour as the Erskins as i dont relly want to use it and then have to re-do the whole rod ??????

Any help with this seemingly simple question greatly appreciated .

Do or do not ,
    there is no try.

- Yoda

Re: colour preserver ???

The Erskines is still available from the rodworks.
    He's a sponsor also
    http://www.therodworks.com.au/index....pshop&Itemid=1
    I intend on living for-ever....so far so good

Thanks finga
    i was pretty sure it was still avalible but didnt have the time to chase it up this arvo so i grabbed the speed just in case.
    the only thing is the speed dosnt say anything about colour preservation on the bottle only sealing and filling ????
    Do or do not ,
    there is no try.

- Yoda

I dunno if I'd use one over top of the other.
    The erskines is a more tradional CP in that it smells like thinned down PVA wood glue.
    The Speed stuff seems more like nail varnish (not that I'm an expert )
    As with all these questions it's really a suck it and see matter.
    Do a dummy wrap on an old scrap blank and see how it comes out.
    I've seen so many respected rod builders say they like so many opposite products to lead me to think that the builder must adapt to the requirements of the product.

BTW,
    Unless you're using nylon thread (or madeira) you don't need CP.

Owen
    Last edited by Owen; 12-11-2007 at 09:10 PM.
    Owen

The whole world's mad save thee & me (but I'm not too sure about thee)

I hate them all thats why I make my own.

Stu

Quote Originally Posted by Stuart View Post
    I hate them all thats why I make my own.

Stu
    Is the recipe a trade secret like Flo's pumpkin scones or is it freely available like CWA scones??

Trade secret mate. It took me a long time to get it just right. The hard part was tring to get the blend right so it dosent wash the colour out and end up blotchey. If anything it enhances the colour.

Stu

Quote Originally Posted by Stuart View Post
    Trade secret mate. It took me a long time to get it just right. The hard part was tring to get the blend right so it dosent wash the colour out and end up blotchey. If anything it enhances the colour.

Stu
    Very understandable

so stuart, do you sell your stuff?

I dont normally mate but if a few people want some I could part with a bit. I have to mix some more up so hang ten if you want some.

Stu

Looks, smells n tastes like PVA, is it just PVA?

Quote Originally Posted by BenatCoffs View Post
    Looks, smells n tastes like PVA, is it just PVA?
    Mate, if your that hungry let me know and I'll send a jar of vegemite and a pack of SAO's down

Benatcoffs

If your asking me if it looks and smells and tasts like PVA, is it just PVA then you couldnt be further from the truth. Its clear and smells like.....well something I suppose. I have been building rods full time for 20 years and I can tell you now its nothing like that crap mate, give me a bit more credit than that. My rods are sold all around the world so it wouldnt be in my best interest to use Erskin or PVA on any of my rods. In fact I stoped using both around 15 years ago because both fade after time which makes the whole rod look.....well very cheap and nasty.

Stu

Anyone use thread with colour preserver already in it? and how does it compare?

Settle Stu!

Was just a loose comment that the Erskine stuff looks n smells like pva....

I have some of that speed stuff, smells so nasty I don't touch it. The Erskine stuff is heaps better in that regard.

If you (Stuart) were to package up little bottles of 'juice' then I would happily fork over appropriate $$$ for some also - especially if it is better than anything else on the market, and doesn't require an aspirator to use!

Together with your flash as CP, do you have any thoughts or preparations you use for epoxying? I am in the market for some more and whilst flexcoat is purdy, the 6 hours on a dryer isn't fun... something that goes off in 30 minutes would be sensational!