Thread: Charter Report 2 Nov

Charter Report 2 Nov

Had a great day with only one customer on board. Steve Osmond on holidays from Echuca in Victoria but originally a Qld boy. The charter ended up being pretty much a full day of soft plastics which was great and not very many casts between each hookup. A good variety of fish and a quick clean up at the end of the day.

69cm Snapper from 42m.

Mid 50s Grassy from 27m.

Thumping Trevally from 58m.

Last edited by Smithy; 10-11-2007 at 11:17 AM.

Re: Charter Report 2 Nov

great photos sure looks like they engulphed those plastics

Nice fish Smithy. Weather looks better than you been getting lately too.

Awesome smithy, some very nice fish. Can only hope our trip on the 2nd Dec. produces similar results.

Are they nuc chooks hanging out those fishes mouths?????

Thats a very solid looking trev, bet he went hard.

Dam you must buy them chooks by the box Smithy
    Nice catch mate
    VHF CHANNEL 21
    CALL SIGN : JT OR SC552(social club member)

There is a fine line between fishing and just standing on the shore like an idiot

I wonder how much deeper the ocean would be without sponges

Up here we Use Hussar as baits for real RED FISHS (SHSIIFDER)

Not a big fan of the Gulps. They can be one bite, one tail down the gurgler. I have done a magicacal mystery tour of every tackle store bargain bin from Bundy to Caloundra in recent weeks handing out my brochures. Along the way I have picked up Snapbacks, Kokodas and Squidy Flick Baits for reasonable prices. I have also used Assasins and Berkley Powerbaits. The Nuclear Chicken curl tail grubs were given to me to try by Lucas at Bass to Barra Marine. They have proven deadly on the Trevally in recent weeks. I am mostly using 5" tails over 7". That is a Lime Tiger 5" Gulp hanging out of the Sweetie. I had to try them in 5" and 7" in Lime Tiger and Nuclear Chicken to see what the hype was about. I am mostly using natural colours in whatever packet jumps out at me from the tackle box.

Stuie,

that was during that run of northerlies. It still got up to 20knots or so in the arvo. In them I have been fishing off Noosa or straight out and in southerlies I have mostly been down Caloundra or Hutchies way. I always like a following sea ride home! Do the hard yards punching into them in the morning.

Hay Smithy,
    Nice work mate! What size jighheads were working best with the plastics on the day?
    Benny.

I carry a range of jigheads from 1/4-2oz. As you know, it all depends on depth, current, wind strength and if you are drifting or anchored. In close we are mostly using 1/4 and 3/8oz. That day he was probably on 5/8 and 3/4oz.

Ben,

I heard you and Anyweather on the radio that day you got the Cobes and he got the Snapper. I am yet to get up where I think you were but it is on the agenda soon for a look. We were at the Hards that day as well looking around on a mates trip all day. We were doing it a bit tough and scratched up a feed of Squire but we got on one spot we could have caught as many AJs as we wanted. I got a few on the light SP outfit got smashed up on it once as well but on my heavy jig outfit of a souped up Spheros I hardly gave them a metre of line. The two others with me landed a few but also got smashed up heaps.

hi smithy have you been cobe fishen recently? and are they still at the shallow spot? i havent been out for a couple of weeks but as soon as this weather breaks ill be there, ill keep an eye out for you, thanks jim

Yeh Jim tried there and another Cobe spot Mon. Run-out tide. I know I have caught them at the second, hopefully less flogged spot on a run-in, so that might have been the difference. Easy won livies on both spots. That is not a good sign. When the bait is hard to get the fish seem to come easier. When the Cobes are around maybe the bait is too scared to feed itself.

And this just in from the following days customers. Robin with a nice Cobia caught on the 15lb Stren braid, 4000 size Shimano, Wilson Lightning rod outfit in the background that has been slaying them recently.
    Last edited by Smithy; 11-11-2007 at 07:09 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Smithy View Post
    I carry a range of jigheads from 1/4-2oz. As you know, it all depends on depth, current, wind strength and if you are drifting or anchored. In close we are mostly using 1/4 and 3/8oz. That day he was probably on 5/8 and 3/4oz.

Ben,

I heard you and Anyweather on the radio that day you got the Cobes and he got the Snapper. I am yet to get up where I think you were but it is on the agenda soon for a look. We were at the Hards that day as well looking around on a mates trip all day. We were doing it a bit tough and scratched up a feed of Squire but we got on one spot we could have caught as many AJs as we wanted. I got a few on the light SP outfit got smashed up on it once as well but on my heavy jig outfit of a souped up Spheros I hardly gave them a metre of line. The two others with me landed a few but also got smashed up heaps.
    Hay Smithy,
    Thanks for the reply on the jigheads mate!
    There are plenty of AJ's out that way. I have a beefed up Spheros but it doesnt stop the big AJ's. So "Pistol Pete" bought a Daiwa Saltiga to stop the big fellas getting away! Cant wait for the weather to ease to get out and into some more AJ's. Seems like everyone has been getting into them of late out wide!
    Benny.

Some nice fish there ...... I am cringing for a serious wrestle with an AJ.....

IF THIS WIND EVER STOPS......

Good fishing Smithy!

How's Thursday looking from your side of the island???

Geoff

good cobe smithy dont we love them on light gear? i bet your over the crappy weather too? so you can return to work ill be in touch thanks jim

Geoff we depart tommorrow. Weather on our side we are going to fish around the top of Fraser and then back down. So far the weather is looking better than last year. Maybe looking not so good for you trailerboat guys.

Jim always stuff to do. Tackle rigging ready for the the next couple of tournaments, engine service, wheel bearings and other little jobs, GPS mark management, you know, it never stops!