Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Raider Rods.....never again (rubbish)

Re: Raider Rods.....never again (rubbish)

any chance a mod can close the thread

Quote Originally Posted by yellahunter View Post
    ok Rod let it go now mate,
    lets get back to the fishing ey,

Ive got the support i needed now lets move on
    pull ya head in Ben. if you put it out there on a public forum you gotta expect to get it clipped here and there.

Quote Originally Posted by yellahunter View Post
    any chance a mod can close the thread

Build a bridge and get over it....

in all the time youv been whingin you could have just glued it back yourself and been catchin dozens of fish.

yellahunter, in post#1 you were offered by the shop owner to leave it there for the Shimano rep and you chose not too, then say you will buy Loomis [3X the price] as they honour their warranty. Think before you speak [or wright]
    Last edited by GPB; 14-11-2007 at 09:52 PM.

Question Re: Raider Rods.....never again (rubbish)

Quote Originally Posted by revs57 View Post
    Hmmm, makes a good case to go Penn...They are bringing out a new range of rods specifically designed for jigging, in fact if they haven't been released, they are not far away

revs57 how is that a "good case to go to Penn" when the rods haven't even been released and you haven't tried them , 99% of Raider owners are happy Raider owners

will someone close this thread

im over it
    Last edited by yellahunter; 14-11-2007 at 10:04 PM.

hahaha what a surprise

Hi GPB,

I've seen the prototypes mate. They look the goods but like anything, time will tell, just like yella's thread. There is obviously a problem with the twist winch fitting on that particular rod, and I don't reckon it matters if he uses it three times a week or three times a year. And sure he could glue it and do all the rest of what has been said.

But...

I don't know what you fellas are so defensive about.

A bloke has bought a brand name fishing rod in good faith. These are rods that are put through their paces and passed stringent examination. I've been aware of the new Penn range for 4mths now. They have been through the development hoops and are just about to be released.

If any product isn't right, the company that makes it needs to know so it can go back to the drawing board and work the problem out. It could be as simple as a bad batch of glue to a design problem.

Most fishing product with the exception of the custom made local product are made with cheap labour in Asia where people work for pittance, under a thorough quality control regime and sold here for exorbitant profit.

And it doesn't matter if we are talking about fishing rods or bread toasters!

Yella has parted company with his hard earned dollars, he's had a problem, and is looking for product support what's wrong with that? Don't we all? And he writes up about it here to check his thinking and to look for some support from us his fishing community and to get some ideas from others who may have had similar issues with this product. Isn't that one fo the functions that ausfish is here for? C'mon blokes, I just don't reckon he should be jumped on.

hope it works out for ya Yella

thanks Rhys,

Appreciate the support mate, i didnt think it was too harder concept for people to grasp when i wrote the thread. Oh well

I guess it comes down to the fact that would any of us "just accept" (say) a Boat that has a small leak and the Dealer say, "its OK, just take a bucket and bail now and then" or a new Motor that does not start as it should, "no worries, take a spare battery and it has a pull rope as well" I realise that it is a small fault that can be easily "home repaired" and indeed, if it goes back then in all probability it will be glued anyway, BUT it does have a warranty, there has been others that have failed, and it should be put right, now we do not REALLY know what has gone on between the tackle Store and the owner, the Tackle Store and the supplier, only what we have been told here! but it SHOULD be put right!! end of story (I reckon anyway)

Anybody know what Jarvis Walker rods are like??
    I intend on living for-ever....so far so good

Ahhh you're a stirrer Scott

Got a little rack raider a day before this thread was started. FREAKIN ME OUT MAN !!!!
    I'm rough as guts with my gear so I'll have to keep in mind to twist the black collar and not the cork....remember...remember...remember.

Good luck with it all Yellahunter

I have got a two piece Shimano rod that I have had for years and years and it has the same sort of twist cork reel seat thing, and it has not broken yet and it gets used all the time for all sorts of reels, so I guess it must be possible to make a good one!

Quote Originally Posted by revs57 View Post
    I don't know what you fellas are so defensive about.......

Yella has parted company with his hard earned dollars, he's had a problem, and is looking for product support what's wrong with that? Don't we all? And he writes up about it here to check his thinking and to look for some support from us his fishing community and to get some ideas from others who may have had similar issues with this product. Isn't that one fo the functions that ausfish is here for? C'mon blokes, I just don't reckon he should be jumped on.
    Rhys,
    Re read the first post again. What he wrote had little to do with looking for support. What he wrote told me he'd made up his mind and was telling the world what he thought of a product that, in his eyes, had failed to live up to expectations. the same product that potentially thousands of others have had no problems with and are quite happy with their outcomes from their purchase and use of it. He's had 2 problems with it and both times it been Likely that they are of his own doing and not a warranty issue. The offer to let the Appropriate Authorised person to confirm it was refused. How on earth does that warrant the comments of the product being Rubbish and the service from the agent Poor?
    As for jumping on him....a bit of advice is hardly jumping, the tradgedy is when it goes in one ear and out the other. People should be taking ownership of their problems rather than playing the "woe is me" card. Thinking about how it happened and anything you may have done to cause or exacerbate it may be the key to learning a valuable lesson that may prevent him having the same event happen again and again.
    Its terribly frustrating watching it happen, that may be why i get a bit defensive. I realise this but lets not stifle free and open discussion because someone believes they've got what they need (blinkers on).

Rod.