BRIBIE ISLAND<<<mission point m&g,,, march 2008 - Page 7
Page 7 of 9 FirstFirst 123456789 LastLast

Thread: BRIBIE ISLAND<<<mission point m&g,,, march 2008

Re: BRIBIE ISLAND<<<mission point m&g,,, march 2008

Chops,

Funny you should mention the cricket gear mate... that ad's been up there for ages, and I'd had no bites on it. I put an ad in the weekend shopper and it was gone in a day. Must just be the right time.

I'm hoping to knock off at lunch time, but either way it'll be 3pm and I'll have the hour long fight with traffic. As you say, time to drop some pots on the way over and have the first beer by at least 5pm.

I can't wait... I haven't fished Bribie in AGES.... infact Wednesday is looking like an option for a pre-fish.

Ausfish Gold Member

Quote Originally Posted by reel scream View Post
    G'day all,

Scotty (nofrills) and i went for a prawn up that way thismorning. Exellent size. Bring your cast nets.

Cheers Scott.
    Hey Scotty........ if nofrills got into the prawns there must be heaps up there !!

whare is the safest place to leave car and trailer up that way..I may drop in.

Bloody work!!

I've got a trade show to go to now on Thursday and Friday of that week. I was hoping to not have to go, but it looks like I'll have to go up with the boss and one of the managers from Melbourne.

Might be a late start on Friday night for me by the sounds of it.

Quote Originally Posted by PinHead View Post
    whare is the safest place to leave car and trailer up that way..I may drop in.
    greg,,, you've got a choice of ramps,,, spinnaker sound (just before the bridge is okay and fairly safe,,, the caravan park opposite keeps most idiots away,,and the ""dog""),, VMR ramp is the IMMEDIATE turn to the left at the end of the bridge,,,well lit but its also opposite one of the ""night spots"" (bribie isl hotel),, and albeit not too many reports of vandalism or theft come from either,,, the other ramps on the island i wouldn't recommend only due to the easy access and number of people walking by,,,

donnybrook has a good ramp also,, and its directly (nearly) opposite the venue,,,

if your planning on staying overnite ,,,, yell,,, you can drop the boat in and park in front of my place if any concerns,,,, mrs choppa can then chauffuer if needed,,, this invite is also open to any others that are leaving cars/trailers behind

not long to go,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
    can it get any better??????????????,,,,,,,,,,,,,,http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hgG_TxEPaQE

Have we decided on whats happening for the saturday night cook up ? are we chiping in cash or byo ?
    Cheers Grant

Quote Originally Posted by Col_s View Post
    Hey Scotty........ if nofrills got into the prawns there must be heaps up there !!
    He's good at catching timber. Better not say too much or i might loose my bunk for the night. He did mention getting you to help him out with his style (or lack of ).
    Have a camp oven if you need another one for Sat night Col.
    Wood arrives tomorrow and scotty is going to come pick up.

Cheers Scott.

Quote Originally Posted by nofrills View Post
    I spoke to col today and he has very kindly offered to put on a feed for us on saturday night.
    To give us an idea of what we will be needing we will have to keep an eye on numbers .Ive gone thru the thread until now and this is My count of definates so far.Of course this will vary a fair bit by the final date but this looks how we are going so far.

Scotty {reel scream} 1
    Scotty GC + child 1
    Scotty (nofrills) 1
    Dazza +child 1
    Col n crew 4
    Crazy n richard 2
    Tailortaker n child 4
    Snappershane 1
    MTE 1
    Choppa 1
    Ronnie n Bill 2
    Tassie jr 1

20 adults 3 little ones

As i say this is to give us an idea to start from.
    Ronnie we havent talked tucker yet but im guessing it will involve campovens so i guess we will sort it out in the next week so we are organised and i will be sure to keep you posted.
    stay tuned.
    scotty.

So im just getting the count organised as best as possible for saturday night feed.the only definate changes to the above list are.

Tassie goes from 1 to 5 people so thats + 4

And snappershane is in TTs count so -1

So we are at 23 adults 3 kiddies and im sending off some PM's for confirmations.Also if you could read back thru this thread some of the earlier post with regard to saturday night.cheers scotty

Better add another to that list. I just booked site 8 for Fri and Sat night. One person at this stage.

Sounds as though things are progressing nicely.
    Just thought I would post and let everyone know that my nan passed away last night and I am flying to Melbourne Wednesday for her funeral. As far as I know plans for the weekend have not changed unless I get caught up in Victoria.

You can still be assured of the menu as my stepson will be camped on site 11 for the weekend so eats will arrive even if I don't.

See you all there (hopefully) and hope this wind improves?????

Incidentally there will be four of us now. Site 10 has been booked by yours truly and will be available if anyone needs to use it. Stepson wanted site 11 for TWO NIGHTS instead.

Ronnie

Sorry to hear about your Nan Ronnie. Have a safe trip and hopefully we will see you on the weekend.

Cheers Scott.

ditto from the choppa clan ronnie,,,,,

chopjr and his dad """"may""" be on board for saturday nite,,, but not 100%,,, either way,,, no additional organising needs to be done,,,,

drove across the bridge this morning and the water was like glass,,,, tonite coming home was okay,,, a bit of wind was helping the run up but was still fairly good,,,,

wish i could report something exciting on the fishing front,,, but all is average at the moment,,,, heaps of squire (small),,, bream and normal bities about,,, a quick stop over and ""refreshment"" to catch up on gossip with norm at spinnaker park concluded with the creeks producing,,,, tony's gutter area had a few lizards earlier in the week,,,,along with the stockyards on the drift,,, a nice queenie was caught on wednesday at lime pocket,,,, albeit in a cast net,,,, and the jew hole at lime pocket has the norm as well,,,,

me,,,, i'm working on the boat tomorrow,,, adding a few final touches,,,, if i don't show friday night,,,, you'll see me early sat morn,,,,

can it get any better??????????????,,,,,,,,,,,,,,http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hgG_TxEPaQE

Quote Originally Posted by nofrills View Post
    So im just getting the count organised as best as possible for saturday night feed.the only definate changes to the above list are.

Tassie goes from 1 to 5 people so thats + 4

And snappershane is in TTs count so -1

So we are at 23 adults 3 kiddies and im sending off some PM's for confirmations.Also if you could read back thru this thread some of the earlier post with regard to saturday night.cheers scotty

Ronnie is now 4 people
    Gunna 1
    Robers 1

27 Big kids and 3 little ones

Ronnie

Sorry to hear that.Keep the chin up.

scotty

As for fishing

It looks like the wind will still be a bit strong for outside at this stage but the passage will be fine up where we are.The camp and the water in front of it is protected from a southerly so we will be sweet .

The prawns are nice and big and there are plenty of bream and lizards around ATM.We will be having an oyster pig out at some stage so bring something to open them.I use a hammer and a small screwdriver and bring whatever you like to eat them with,Lemon ect.

Prawns Oysters Mudcrabs its a hard life but someones got to do it.

cheers scotty