3 m punt outboard choice

Thread: 3 m punt outboard choice

3 m punt outboard choice

looking for advice on best motor size/brand for 3m punt, had a 3.5 tohatsu on it but clamp has snapped on and motor is pretty old thinking of getting something new. 2 or 4 stroke? Boat probably to be cartopped with motor in back of ute,boat to carry 2adults and 1 kid just putting up river etc cheers Yamp

Re: 3 m punt outboard choice

Yamp,

I recently grabbed a new 4hp 4 stroke from Yamaha. The stock prop at 7.5"d x 8"p would only turn around 3000rpm. Way over-propped for my situation. It would plane with me (88kg) in it (Zodiac2.6m) but would not unload past 3000-3300, meant to rev around 4500-5000. Once on the plane it would unload around 400 rpm more ....

I have just grabbed a 7.5"d x 7"p ... and a 7.25"d x 6.5"p to trial.

I will GPS the speeds as well as "tach" the engine for the final choice to run. Not so much interested in eventual speed but want to unload the motor a bit more for better fuel consumption and longer life.

The 4 stroke portables come with a small tank (1.1 litre in my case) and I'm not sure thats enough for safety. Once the right prop is determined I can do a fuel figure but I dont expect it to be above 1.5 hrs, maybe a tad less ???

I'm grabbing a small remote tank as a fuel source for the motor on longish runs. The tap turns to the middle to use motor tank and to the right to use remote tank. I think most have this feature, would pay to check though. I'd love a 5 litre remote tank but the smallest I can find is 12 litre ... might make one yet. Get it thrown in "in the deal" for a reduced price if you dont have one already. Or just carry spare fuel in a 5 litre jerry.

I'm happy with the engine so far ... kids mainly use it in large 6 knot zone for crabbing or a run to local resort for an ice-cream.

Cost was $1544 ... which was lowest I could find in Bris for cash ....

Follow the run-in procedure in the manual for 4 strokes, it is as good a way as any to seat the rings (oil control) and to not glaze the bore. The first 2 hrs are very rev restrictive and then anything ok bar lots of Wide Open Throttle (WOT). If possible ... for the first hr vary from idle to recommended limit ..try not to sit engine on same rev for first hour. (Obviously follow 2 stroke procedure as set down by manufacturer, if you go that way).

I almost went Tohatsu portable 4 stroke ... but I like my Yams in the end.

Any of the modern portables would be fine really ..2 or 4 stroke ....

PWCDad
    Last edited by PWCDad; 08-11-2007 at 09:31 AM.

I guess first off we need to know if the old HP was enough, if so then I guess any known brand will be fine, just get one from a good dealer nearby.

thanks for responses,the old tohatsu was ok with 2 average adults,slow and didn't plane but got you from a to b. Just checking out what would be safe and a good setup eg weight to lift,transporting(do the 4strokes have to be carried upright?cheers Yamp

Ok then if power is OK, then I guess it is just a matter of getting a good price, and a 4 stroke does not need to be carried upright, but I guess there may be a "right way up" not too sure there is any advantage gained by going 4 stroke in a small engine, but I guess it is a personal thing, no real reason NOT to buy one, might even be worth while to find out how heavy your old motor was and see if there is something with a bit more HP but little weight increase, never know!

Ausfish Gold Member

if your carting it around on top a ute i would go for the basic two stroke doesn't matter how u carry it even upside down no worries also if you don't use it often you can just turn it upside down to drain out any old stale fuel also lighter . its not as if your ever going to burn enough fuel to warrant a four stroke. those little 15 or 9hp hp two strokes are light and pretty hard to beat.

Quote Originally Posted by PWCDad View Post

The 4 stroke portables come with a small tank (1.1 litre in my case) and I'm not sure thats enough for safety. Once the right prop is determined I can do a fuel figure but I dont expect it to be above 1.5 hrs, maybe a tad less ???
    PWCDad
    I had the same thought about tank size when I got my Honda.
    15hp motor and 11 litre tank. Mmmm I thought.
    I was used to the 2S Tohatsu and it used usually about 17-18 litres on a normal day.
    Well bugger me if the Honda used 4-5 litres for roughly the same day.
    I intend on living for-ever....so far so good

Noelm is spot on regarding the not having to "transport upright" for the baby 4 strokes !

You can transport the "splash fed" crankshaft engines i.e. no oil pump, laying down but the motor must be a certain way up.

And the way for the Yamaha is ... where the crankcase breather hose joins the carby airbox ... that area must face up.

If down ... engine oil will come forth and run everywhere via the airbox.

PWCDad

If not registered, stay under 6 hp, pretty sure you need rego over 6 hp

My boys use a 5 hp Honda does a great job on a 310 dart even planes with me in it runs on the smell of petrol

Retired Honda Master Tech

thanks for replies the boat isnt registed so I will stick below the 6hp.garry did you buy honda new or second hand cheers Yamp

I just went through this exercise with Qld Transport and MSQ (registration) for the Zodiac ....

Legislation ...

All boats fitted with a motor or auxiliary OF MORE THAN 3KW (4hp) REQUIRE REGISTRATION when on the water in QLD.

A valid RMDL (Licence) is required to operate all recreational boats powered by a motor of more than 4.5KW (6hp)

The Yamaha I used is plated as 2.9KW .... so no rego needed and as its under 4.5KW the kids can legally operate it ...

PWCDad

Bought the engine new and have registered the boat as it is over 4hp

Retired Honda Master Tech