Thread: Guide To Maroochy River - Part Two

Re: Guide To Maroochy River - Part Two

Not the point at all. That is still a word of mouth type of thing. Different to posting maps of google earth on the web. And taken from a book as well. Poor form. Tssk Tssk Booo!! Hiss!!
    It's all just information that anyone posts on here. Bait/Lure, line class, time, location, tide, moon phase etc. I would say this info would be helpful for beginners in the area, as has been indicated by some.

Internet is one form of communication. Books like Hooked in Paradise are another. Bait and tackle shops another.

I know of heaps of spots in SEQ, but if you're not there at the right time with the right bait, you'll miss out.

As I've said, if you think he's spoilt your secret location, you've got your hand on it, or you are young and haven't had a chance to explore the area, which I think may be the case hence he's spoilt your "beginner's locations". I know 4 better producing spots on map 2 that he hasn't touched.

Next time someone posts a report from the cod hole though, you get up them hey. It'll be our secret where that is........

I don't mind upsetting two people to help many. I recommend everyone reads Hooked on Paradise. A very good magazine. Also by making fishing spots available to everyone it means that when the fishermen from brisbane or GC or Cairns comes to the Sunny Coast they have a productive fishing session instead of missing out. It's only fair that this information is shared. I'm working on GUIDE TO MAROOCHY RIVER- PART THREE so stay tuned for it.

Keenfisha

Quote Originally Posted by sandbankmagnet View Post
    they would probably get the same advice when they bought their bait.
    True words sbm, any bait shop on the coast would do the same thing they are all on the net or have print outs and simply do the same thing. nothing wrong with this post at all.

Secret Spots are the ones you never share with anyone and if these are your secret spots well hey they are very popular secrets that have not been kept well so get another.

thanks keenfisha,great job i hardly ever get to sunshine coast but great refrence when we get up there for a weekend or so,cheers.

I`m not inexpierenced or a beginner I`ve spent hours and plenty of time over the last 15yrs finding my spots.The thing that worries me is some of the best spots may be revealed to those who don`t know how to go about finding the quality fish in the river.As for magazines naming spots just take a leaf out of the surfing fraternity on how they handle the issue!!!!

Stack

C'mon guys it's one thing to know a location but another to know the times they fire or techniques used to extract the fish.

Avast ye matey!

How long will spots stay productive for if posted- and people are going straight to these locations, without doing some leg work and finding there own spots.

I know i would rather explore and find somewhere that would hold fish. we need to think how long it took us to discover our own patch of fish.

Dan.

Good on ya Keen Fisher. I thought one of the key reasons for setting up this website was sharing information. If anyone else prefers to access information by using this website (why else would they use it) but not share anything (except info so general it is useless), that is up to them. They have their reasons.

But they should not criticise others for doing so, who, in my view are simply following the principles of this website.

The sooner we fishos pull together in support the better, otherwise the greens and anti-fishing lobby will ensure all spots are off limits in the future.

So I say thanks, although I won't be using them, as I know what joy sharing good spots can be, especially to beginners/kiddies.
    Last edited by ontourf; 10-11-2007 at 10:20 PM.

gday keenfisha,thanks for good info mate, been in the area for about 2 years and are always lookin for new spots to wet a line,i haven't got meself a boat as yet but enjoy fishin from the bank. we love catching whiting and am gonna grab meself a yabbie pump shortly,and was just wonderin if ya could steer me towards some good whiting spots,although i know they should be pretty much everwhere. any info will be appreciated thankyou, n tight lines! lookin forward to part 3!!!