Thread: Differences? - Haines V163C & V17C

Re: Differences? - Haines V163C & V17C

Quote Originally Posted by death_ship View Post
    Hi bill
    never seen one like scotts but i am no expert, checked out the second hand boat secrets mag a while ago and i gives a full rundown on the two models, never mentioned a different transom but, i notice scotts has a different style of dashboard to mine as well so maybe they could of done some of the older 16's different, say pre 78 or so? hull shape looks very similair though
    Mine looked pretty much the same as Scotts, same dash ( had to go through some old pics, though!)

The transom etc, cannot remember, to many beers ago, and I don't have any clear pics that can jolt my memory.

Anyway, to answer the original question from boatboy, virtually the same boats

Bill

Can't find info on the 163C but here are the stats from a mag on the 16C and the 17C

16C LOA 4.88m
    Beam 1.93m
    max HP 115
    Weight 390KG

17C LOA 5.2m
    Beam 2m
    max HP 170
    Weight 441KG

Hope this helps

hey bill you are partying hard for a wednesday. i got breathalysed on the way to work today. got the trifecta yesterday...hello new fishing gear. i reckon the 163c is a different transom and cabin setup to the 16/17c so i cant help you with it because i know nothing about them...sorry boatboy but it looks the same hull which is a ripper, a little tender at rest but a real performer under way, happy restoring and good luck.
    DS

they certainly were tender at rest. Me and a mate (230kg combo) on one side almost rolled her....and not much freeboard at the transom (in fact on rough nights inside the pin bar fishing for tailor downright scary) but under the hammer she would kick up and fly and didnt mind being airborne. Nice deep V right back to the transom.

PS...I dont think mine was as wide as 1.93 in the beam

Thanks for the replies guys,

Mine is definately a V163C (It still has the original stickers, factory plate ect).

It has an original factory full width transom like the VC. The transom is rotten and will be replaced, maybe add some bait tanks in there as well. The floor is gone, as is some of the cabin bunk area. God only knows how the stringers are! I've got some work ahead.

Maybe the 163c was changed to a V16C at some stage with front cabin windows and transom rear quarter seats and engine well set up?

At work now, but I will get some pics and add them soon. The dash is a bit odd also, so i'll get some shots of that. I hope they don't scare you guys, cos it's not pretty!

Quote Originally Posted by ozscott View Post
    they certainly were tender at rest. Me and a mate (230kg combo) on one side almost rolled her....and not much freeboard at the transom (in fact on rough nights inside the pin bar fishing for tailor downright scary) but under the hammer she would kick up and fly and didnt mind being airborne. Nice deep V right back to the transom.

PS...I dont think mine was as wide as 1.93 in the beam
    Totally agree about being tender at rest, one of the reasons I stepped up to the 19.

But, as you and DS have said, great little boat underway, point her in the direction you want and away you go.

Went out in some average conditions in mine, especially at South West Rocks, never a problem, even on that crappy bar.

Bill

mate - the V163 became a V16, and the model up is a V17.

my understanding is that the v163 was originally released in the late 60's, followed by the v16 in 1972. The V163 was in production for a number of years, apparently, so the V16 and the V163 must have been in production concurrently.

V163 specs-

length - 4.8
    beam - 1.9
    deadrise - 22deg
    hull weight - 360kgs
    weight on trailer - 750kgs
    max power - 120hp

Mik - mine just snuck in under the 750kg limit in theory for rego - no brakes. It must have been 1.9 beam, just didnt feel like it in hindsight. 22 degrees would be spot on also. Max power of 120 - phew! Mine didnt have a transom badge (dont think they had them back then) but it would be like riding a hydroplane with a 120! Having said that 120hp would have been a flywheel rating not a prop rating, so max HP in today's ratings would be about 100hp. My 2000 model 60 merc (light weight too) certainly made her fly out of the hole nicely. It only swung a little alloy prop too but it got going.

Cheers mate.

still cant beat narrow beam and very deep v when pointing into the rough with the hammer down....I dont give a rats about CAD etc because even though there safer at rest and more predictable in following stuff (because of modern design), the fact is that the new boats are too wide and too shallow in the V for such a great ride into a rough headsea compared to the V163/16C etc. Also, the design of the hull meant that she turned hard and flat. I had to get used to my Seafarer Vagabond's banking plane style turn when I first got it - it doesnt have the keel that the 163 has. Allround a family is probably going to have more fun and safety in a new 16footer, but for a fisho and his mate the 163 was a weapon.. it just could do with a built up transom for the rough stuff from behind.

Ozscott, Do you have photos of the trailer setup as I am going to change mine, it seems to lean to one side it has wobblers and rollers only, I see your's had slide's also any cabin shots?

Mate - i will go back through the photos - I will have some shots somewhere - mine must have been a 72 boat because it had a 72 650 Merc with the clam sheel cowl before I got the 2000 model.

Boat: Seafarer Vagabond
    Live: Great South East....love Moreton Bay fishing