Thread: A funny report from today @ Noosa

A funny report from today @ Noosa

I made a quick decision this afternoon to go for a spin off the rocks and it turned out to be a bit of a dud... .....Quite a bit of N/E swell hanging around and the ocean looked lifeless with no birds anywhere and no bait... .

Anyway after a reasonably long walk back to the car I decided to drive past a spot where I knew some of the boys were having a fish for trevally.
    Sure enough when I got there Nick (Abbott_86) and mate Kimble were both fishing there.I jumped out the car and went to have a chat and saw Nick had just landed a nice Big eye Trevally...but they said it had been dead.
    I chatted on for a while and I then I said 'arrrrggghh bugger it I will get my rock out fit out of the car and have a flick'.......The rock outfit is a 9ft rod rated up to 6kg matched up with a 6000 size reel and 12lb braid.
    They both laughed at me using it in the river and I must admit it felt pretty funny but hey its all I had.
    I put on a Halco roosta popper and the boys continued to laugh saying 'yeah you will knock the fish out with that'.......I cast out and with this outfit nearly reached the other side of the river....
    No sooner as the popper hit the surface when it got slammed... and I said 'Yeah Im on'........The boys both said at the same time something like....'Youre F*&#@^! kidding me'.......The looks on their faces was very funny.....They went a little quiet too....
    The fish...Well...It was only a smelly old Barracuda but a good size one for the river....

Untill tomorrow.......

Re: A funny report from today @ Noosa

Nice cuda but you fish too much Pete. glad you dont live near me you would pin all the fish before i got to them on the weekends.

Cheers Whytey
    If you wish to learn more about reading and getting the most from your Lowrance units or learning more about fishing with artificial baits I will come out in the comfort of your own boat for one on one coaching. Please call for more information.

Bloody pickhandles!!!!

haha nice work pete not a bad sized cuda for the estuaries
    would have loved to have seen the look on there faces when you hooked up priceless no doubt

Cheers Shane

good stuff pete,nice size cuda,would have been a nice little fight still
    If i could get paid the same to fish, sorry boss but i ......!

AHAHAA i bet you put a smile on their faces ahhahaha,well done pete thats a cracker.

Ha! Good one Pete. Take down your 24kg gear and float a live slimey out, see what turns up.

You sure get some variety up there. I cut my lure fishing teeth on the Noosa River and loved the place. I will have to get back up there soon to revisit my old stomping grounds. It all looks a lot different to what I knew in the 70's
    Your tale reminds me of the day I found that Noosa River Trevs were around in good numbers and would eat metal .
    As a kid, the Munna Point Caravan Park was our home away from home. Our targets were the usual estuary species. Very occasionally a Trev would hit the tinny or bank. Back in the Summer of 1976 I had the luck to land a great holiday job so, flush with funds I had relieved Mossops of one of their ABU 10000CA's and matched it to a MT7144 . Never having used a large overhead before I decided to have a practice session in the river before hitting the stones . I wandered up Weyba Ck past where the bridge is now, tied on a large Iron and started tentatively casting across the river. The line came tight on about the third cast and I landed a couple of kg (5 pounds in those days) of GT. I went on to land more than twenty that session and never made it to the rocks for the rest of the holiday .
    After that session I found I could drop back to my ABU5000C and little baitcaster with a Wonder Wobbler and still get among them. I fished that area from the Woods to Weyba Ck regularly for years before meeting another lure fisho. By that time I had moved onto poppers and bibless minnows while they were using the trusty Wonder Wobbler. Funny to think now days lures are the norm
    Always love to hear that the fish are still up there even after all of the development that has taken place

Last edited by Horse; 06-11-2007 at 07:07 AM.

Your a braver man than me posing for that shot with your fingers so close to his gob.

Nice fish.

Kev

Pete, U da Man, Love ya work ! Hope to see you up that way soon!

Shane

well done pete,
    always fun catching something out of the ordinary, and that is a ripper cuda.

Lol great story and Nice Cuda Pete!! I think i know where you are up there too Might have to give it a go next time as i am yet to get any sorta trevally in the Noosa

Quote Originally Posted by BrandonH View Post
    Lol great story and Nice Cuda Pete!! I think i know where you are up there too Might have to give it a go next time as i am yet to get any sorta trevally in the Noosa
    Brandon give me a yell when you are up this way next.

Horse.....What size trevally did they get in the river back in the 70's.....?
    Any 10kg fish that got in the river then...?

I don't think they were much bigger, just more plentiful. My best would have gone 13lb but it was on a livie meant for a Jack. Usual size 3-4lbs. I did pick up a 25lb Jewie on a little bibless minnow and some good Tailor, Lizards etc. I wish I could fish the area with the current crop of gear. The poppers especially would have been a lot better than the broomstick jobs we used

Quote Originally Posted by Horse View Post
    I don't think they were much bigger, just more plentiful. My best would have gone 13lb but it was on a livie meant for a Jack. Usual size 3-4lbs. I did pick up a 25lb Jewie on a little bibless minnow and some good Tailor, Lizards etc. I wish I could fish the area with the current crop of gear. The poppers especially would have been a lot better than the broomstick jobs we used
    Yeah...there have been some good size trevally caught here recently and I managed one at 4kg....There have been some others around the same size caught too.....They have been the biggest I have seen here in the river since I have lived here (last 3 years).
    I reckon there would be the occasional 10kg fish cruise in the river.
    Gotta find him....