-
Ausfish New Member
Fishing Weipa
Two mate and i are heading up to Weipa in early april, think we are more interested in blue water fishing, any advice of the lures i should be taking with me? Any help here would be great!
-
Ausfish New Member
Re: Fishing Weipa
any lure you can find will be fine.
-
Too true - any lure will be okay. But the water is more your dirty brown colour rather than blue
Haven't fished Weipa since 1974/75 but the best results were from hot pink coloured lures. Back then they cost $2 each and a couple of fish could be caught before they were smashed to bits. The worst result was from the first cast of a new lure and it came back looking as though it had been crushed in a vice and then put through a shredder.
Hope you have fun and great results.
-
Mate, I went to Weipa last month and I can tell you what lures you need and where to fish.
As you go out of the boat ramp from the Town to the shipping channel. look left to a little creek. Anchor there for the night. You will get barra on the sandy side and Magrove Jack on the rocky side. Use Barra classics here that dive to about 4ft and also gold bomber works a treat. The different colours will work at different times. just keep working them until you find out what works. Also live poddys are excellent with long trace.Throw silver spoons at the mouth of this river for Trevs and Queenies. Awesome on light gear. You will see what I mean. Also Try the pilons under the bridge again with live poddys. Night is best here for Jew.
Lastly go to the Pine River North. There is a rock bar up there that goes off. Troll lures that dive to 6ft. (barra classics again). Look around the main channel with you Gps for the Rock Bar. You will get up to 4 kilos Finger mark on this spot & coral trout. The Barra fishing in this river up the streams off the main channel is excellent. Look for snags in the water and cast your lure as close as you can.
Mate I wish I was going with you as this area is awesome and worth the trip to get there.
Hope this helps. If you have any other queries ask Steve at the boat shed in Weipa. He has excellent local knowledge and is a good bloke too. Tell him James from Brad Jacksons trip said gidday.
-
g'day spiero, by any chance did or do u do archery at moonterra archery club??
just throwing it out ehre cause iuse to know a guy from there named spiro,